bennybunny:
Also i don't mind reading about hurling even from sean og if it concentrates on hurling when it whinging and whatever because people aren't bigging him up for a change take the criticm and do the talking on the pitch. ONE LAST TIME HE HASN'T BEEN WRITTEN OFF FOR 20 YEARS quite the opposite.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/05/2010 16:48:28
Culchie, just to clarify. I agree 100% that the Cork hurlers deserve at a minimum the same level of respect as any other panel of players, especially for all that they do on the pitch, as well as presentations, personal attendences, etc. Cork as a hurling county deserves huge recognition for its service to this great game down through the years. And the level of dedication required by intercounty players nowadays is immense to bring us moments of sheer bliss during the hurling championship - the result being that players demand more and more from those around them. And, Culchie, I am fully aware that the problem essentially was with the county board. Nonetheless, as the whole debacle raged out of control some of the statements issued by certain members of the panel towards Ger Mac were highly disgusting and humiliating for an icon who has dedicated his whole life to the game. At the end of the day Sean Og, Gardiner, etc, are back in the position where they want to be, once more entering the fray of championship battle to challenge for honours, and with what they feel is a more suitable backroom set-up to support them. With all that has gone before it is on the pitch that they have to prove themselves - otherwise a lot of what they said last year will ring hollow. Bennybunny, the beauty of Hoganstand is that it is an interactive forum, and through it one can respond to nonsensical statements such as that of tj09 about this Cork team having "swagger", while the masters from Kilkenny are somehow lacking in the promotion of the game because they just quietly go about their business.
MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 324 - 28/05/2010 17:00:52
Hag and Cheese
You will find that most threads on this site are between a small number of posters. I did not do in depth statistical analysis right enough, I just put forward one statistic. Therefore, I feel that I do not need to re-evaluate my statistic. However, you are open to question them. To say that Sean Og does do not his hurling on the pitch is absolutely ridiculous. He hurls in every single game. He trains for every single game just like everybody else. He has given his all for his county for years and he has excelled. He has never drank or smoked (like many players), has put lot back into the game. However, because he is Sean Og, because he has become a celebrity in the GAA people just can't handle it. He has played one or two bad games and that provides the perfect opportunity for every Tom, Dick and Harry of hurler on a ditch to come out and vent their spleen. Pathetic really.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/05/2010 17:46:46
O my god Heuston the ego has landed
Seriously what is with the cork posters can't take the slightest bit of criticism.
Do me a favour before you spout on again please read my post I never wonce questioned sean og's ability as a hurler and I believe he will silence these critics on the field. But what makes him so bloody special every other inter county will put in equal effort what makes him different is it because he's from cork. All the top players have had critics even people questioned the great henry sheffling's form saying he was not the player he used to be did he go whining about everyone always writing him off all his career no he took it on board and proved it on the pitch hitting something like 1-14 in a match. Eoin kelly peole have questioned his pace due to his back injuries did he go whinging no bang 13 points in an all-ireland final.
AGAIN I'M NOT QUESTIONING HIS ABILITY I'M SAYING HE SHOULD SILENCE THE CRITICS ON THE FIELD INSTEAD OF SAYING PEOPLE ARE WRITING HIM OFF HIS WHOLE CAREER WHICH ISN'T TRUE!!!
Its sean og choice to have his media profile yet when their not praising him he makes out they have always been against him….. Seems like I'm writing the same thing in each post yet it not getting throught.
NOT ABOUT HIS ABILITY, MORE ABOUT SILENCING CRITICS ON THE FIELD!!!!
Ok That's about 3 times I've repeated it on this post hopefully it'll sink in… or am I just being pathethic!!!
Also statistic is defined as followed: The mathematics of the collection, organization, and interpretation of numerical data, especially the analysis of population characteristics by inference from sampling.
What you've done is had a quick look and drawn your own conclusion, use the word observation instead of statistic.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/05/2010 09:11:37
MiAmigaVERONICA:
I must say some very well constructed and articulate posts there.... Looks like a good addition to HS welcome.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/05/2010 09:15:20
I don't think Sean Og was saying that people heve been writing him off his whole career. He's talking about when he was younger, and when he was breaking onto the Cork team, and he's correct. I played with and against him at that stage and there was a bit of that going on, 'who does this fella think he is lads, all he is is a mullocker' etc. People thought it was his size and athleticism that made him successful and that when he got to adult level he'd be exposed. He proved them wrong then. Hopefully he'll prove them wrong again in the last years of his career.
dowchabiy (UK) - Posts: 204 - 29/05/2010 13:02:52
again I quote.
"But if anyone knows my history, I've been written off since I was a kid, when I got 'What the hell is this half-Fijian doing playing hurling?' I've been used to it for the last 20 years."
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 29/05/2010 13:47:25
Hag
I would appreciate it if you were not so patronising. I am well aware what a statistic is, I do not need a dictionary definition. Maybe the next time, I "collect and interpret" a statistic on here, I will run it through STATA or SAS or some other software.
You should also take some of your own advice and read my post before starting to "spout off".I never said that you questioned his ability. What you said, on numerous occasions, is that he should shut his mouth and hurl on the pitch. My response to that point and that point only, is I think, to suggest that he does not do his talking on the pitch is ridiculous. He does in every game he plays. Ok, so now his form maybe a little bit "speckled" (a fair point made by Vincent Hogan in the Indo) and this provides an opportunity to call him an attention seeker and just playing the media. You made the point that the O'Connors and Joe Deane never sought out the media or did not have a media profile. That is true. That, you may admit, is a fairly obvious point. It is rare that everyone gets equal media attention. Cristiano Ronaldo always got more attention than Paul Scholes. The media, as I have said on a number of my posts, seek out the people that sell stories. They did not seek out Joe Deane and the O'Connors because these guys are not "different". People like Sean Og (because he is half Fijian) and Donal Og (because of his sex), Jason Sherlock etc are people that are let's say, "different" to the GAA norm (well, what used to be the traditional "norm"-trying to be politically correct here). The media go to these people. Not the other way around. Sean Og does not tell them to go and take a run and jump. Is there any reason why he should?
Anyway, that is my point made.
Best of luck tomorrow by the way. The real thing starts now. The best rivalry in any sport, anywhere, in my opinion. Pity its not in Thurles but there you go. I hope it will be a good game to really start what hopefully will be a great championship. Denis Walsh might have been a little too conservative in his selection (another point made by Vincent Hogan). It is a big gamble and he, I think, will pay for it. I could see Tipp winning this one by about 7 or 8 points. Though, hopefully, I am wrong.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 29/05/2010 15:50:46
Sean og was a fantastic hurler and there is no doubt about that, I hope that this latest interview isn't just a ploy to keep himself in the media. But this is not the first time Sean ogs form has been brought into question and he has answered the critics before, I am sure he will up the ante for Tipp tomorrow and silence a few of his critics on the field again.
However I lost alot of respect for him when a couple of years ago I heard the money he was getting for presenting medals to an underage team, I can understand the money for teambuilding and positive thinking speeches to executives and what not but young lads getting medals!!! Thats not what hurling is about.
Should be a cracker, hopefully it will live up to its billing.
tipptothetop (Tipperary) - Posts: 531 - 29/05/2010 17:38:50
Thanks, HAG
Very best of luck to both teams tomorrow. It has the makings of a classic. I think Cork will emerge from this particular showdown - in their own patch, more experienced heads, and simply too much to lose... Tipp on the other hand look to more likely to be challenging at the business end of things in September.
MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 324 - 29/05/2010 17:56:18
Delighted for Sean Og did his talking on the hurling pitch and proved his critics over the past few weeks what he is made of excellent performance
dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 30/05/2010 18:04:08
He had a fantastic game, fair play to him
bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 30/05/2010 18:24:46
Boy did he do his talking on the pitch.
maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 30/05/2010 18:27:45
he showed them today!
rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 30/05/2010 18:29:54
to be honest I don't think he was fantastic today. He didn't do much wrong but looked nervous and overused the handpass. Without doubt the worst cork back on show but having said that the other 5 were 10 out of 10.
well done cork!!
hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 30/05/2010 18:33:00
hurlingspuds: he was a good bit better than he was in the league final though. cork's dertermination nearly scared me! they all looked so driven, saw aisake at national anthem holding the crest on his jersey and during the match there was a shot of eoin cadogan and he looked like he would do anything to win!
rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 30/05/2010 18:48:36
He did the talking on the pitch alright and that is the place for it fair play to him. If anyone wants to come out with an "I told you so" look back over the posts i said i expected sean og to do that. I even pointed this out to an obnouxious "supporter" at the game. I'll add here this "supporter" was not a cork man but surprisingly a man from the north I think Tyrone obiously there with a few cork mates. Goaded all the tipp people around him and every time sean og cleared the ball added "finished is he". Well at the end of the game i pointed out that not many tipp people or hurling people ever wrote him off and he's been reading too much papers proceed to sake hands and congratulate his cork mates and held a few seconds stare of disgust at him bypassed his hand shake!!!
That cork teams hunger was scary today....
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 30/05/2010 20:41:30
Sean Og did very well today, overall a first class performance by Cork but Tipp were inexplicably poor. They just seemed to freeze completely. They most certainly are not as bad as they looked today and no-one will want to face them in the qualifiers. People outside of Cork and Tipp don't realise how much this match means to both Counties. If we had lost today twould have been 4 in a row for Tipp. Cork were by far the hungrier more determined team today. In these games that is usually the difference between victory and defeat.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 30/05/2010 22:00:41
I said it earlier on this thread and now i'll say it again, Cork don't take the league seriously, the 30th of May has been on Cork minds since January.
Fair play to you Hag for putting your hands up after starting this thread, but I see pussythecat is a quiet boy today, maybe he'll think twice before writing off Cork again.
Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 31/05/2010 09:40:26
What a great tread title....and so good to write-Sean Og did his talking on the pitch.....good game for Cork...keep it up, concentrate on the hurling neighbours!
kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 31/05/2010 10:32:43