corkcelt County: Cork Posts: 1573
659471 We are now well into this thread and I am still wondering what did Sean Og say that was so arrogant and stupid.
There is a large section of the GAA membership that will never forgive this Cork team and in particular O hAilpin, Donal Og and John Gardiner for the strikes and their involvement with the GPA. Sad really, this Cork team did a lot for the GAA, they were brave enough to stick their heads above the parapet. Any sporting organisation amateur or professional, needs outspoken, opinionated and articulate players to promote the games.
There are a legion of Frank Murphy clones out there who would rather the players ran off to save the hay and catch evening mass after matches rather than give "the meeja" their opinions. Enigmas like Ciaran McDonald, Graham Gerahty etc. and rebels like Sean Og, Donal Og, Farrell and McGeeney, scare the living daylights out of them because they don't know what they are going to d next.
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 27/05/2010 10:37:35
Not really sure how people can say I'm bitter about Cork.
One of my all time favourite hurlers was Jimmy Barry Murphy and outside Kilkenny, that Cork team of the 1970s were fabulous. Gerard McCarthy, Jimmy Barry, Ray Cummins. And I have said on here what a fine hurler Sean og was and a fine gael. And I have no problem saying the Cork team of 2003 and 2004 were a fine team. However, there is a huge amount of nonsense spoken about this Kilkenny hurling team and an awful lot of it is from cork people. People say the current cats are boring and lack swagger are either bitter themselves or have never seen this team play. I'll be one to admit they don't go for the press and the big statements but boy do they swagger on the pitch.
Some facts: The inconvenient truth: kilkenny's four-in-a-row
Games played 18
Games won 18
Average number of goals per game 1.88
Average number of points per game 22.27
Average winning margin 10.16 points
Average winning margin v Munster opposition 8.57 points
Biggest win 2008 All Ireland final v Waterford, 3-30 to 1-13
Narrowest win 2006 All Ireland final v Cork, 1-16 to 1-13
Number of times they broke the 20-point barrier 15
Number of times outpointed 1 (2009 All Ireland final v Tipperary)
Now if that is boring and lacks swagger, give me boring anyday. And PROC (what a silly concept the peoples republic of cork) there is very little difference between the average winning margin between Leinster and Munster teams so maybe Leinster isn't as weak as you think.
Us cats, we're not like the Murphy's. We're not bitter.
Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 27/05/2010 10:47:06
re: corkcelt
"We are now well into this thread and I am still wondering what did Sean Og say that was so arrogant and stupid." Well this is what i took issue with "But if anyone knows my history, I've been written off since I was a kid, when I got 'What the hell is this half-Fijian doing playing hurling?' I've been used to it for the last 20 years.
"Something like this is normal when you're Séan Óg O hAilpín."
Corkcelt in terms of his hurling this is the first time i can remember the media questioning his form and hurling I can't comment on how he was treated in cork before senior hurling but if anything in senior hurling the media and the qaa ferternity have built him up and praised him in term of his on field play and his ethnic background is one of the factors which gives him such a high profile and rightly so. So when these same people that were praising him for years now question his form he moans that he been written off for 20 years its simply not so. He took the praise but lacks the humility in his response to the critics
I know he got some critism in terms of the strikes but that has nothing got to do with his hurling.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/05/2010 12:19:07
whiterbannnas County: Mayo Posts: 1738
658052 D'yknow like!
Ha! He usually goes down that road alright... most of his TV interviews he throws in a few D'yknow likes!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/05/2010 13:03:46
roundball:
The criticsm is directed at his form on the field and has nothing to do with the strikes!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/05/2010 13:28:04
HAG_AND_CHEESE County: Tipperary Posts: 2762
659859 roundball:
The criticsm is directed at his form on the field and has nothing to do with the strikes!!
That wasn't really directed at you Hag. Your opening comments were fair enough, was roasted by Damien Hayes in the League Final but I think people are lining up to jump on his grave. He has a right to answer his critics in the press and more importantly on the field. Just hope he doesn't decide to do it V us on Sunday!
roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 27/05/2010 15:00:43
Pudders those of us who don't question or begrudge how good Kilkenny have been over the past 10 years don't need reminding just cos a few Cork lads do. Just thinking about Sean og's comments after Reading the article in full. I think he's scared he'll be dropped and wants to let the manager know that if he picks him he won't let him down.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 27/05/2010 15:28:38
PudderstheCat
Never mind PROC. He is a ..... Fill in what ever you want. Admit it, however, what you said on your last post was the first anyway half positive thing you have ever said about Cork. A lot of your posts that you start are well thought out and you seem to be a very knowledgable person about the game. I respect that and it is good to have a sprinkling of people on here from different counties. The more hurling people the better I say. However, when you speak about anything related to Cork you seem to have an irrational fixation with them. You actually do come across to be bitter (something you level at Cork people).
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 27/05/2010 16:39:10
Puddersthecat County: Kilkenny Posts: 1062
Now if that is boring and lacks swagger, give me boring anyday. And PROC (what a silly concept the peoples republic of cork) there is very little difference between the average winning margin between Leinster and Munster teams so maybe Leinster isn't as weak as you think.
Hahaha - that's what his name means! Ah bless.
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 27/05/2010 18:15:09
Pudders "Not really sure how people can say I'm bitter about Cork"
Are you Serious?
tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 27/05/2010 20:05:47
My last word on this thread before the match as I'm heading off to Cork first thing in the morning and wont be going near a computer until I return after the match. Hag you are a brave man to start a thread like this before a big Tipp/Cork game, it could come back to bite you on the ass. Pudders I acknowledge your love and knowledge of hurling but look back on your various posts, if you are not bitter against Cork then you are hiding your lack of bitterness extremely well. Anyhow Cadogan and Kenny playing and Cussen on the bench, we can have no excuses, roll on Sunday. p.s. I have a Tipp ticket so will be sitting amongst them in the open stand. So Hag if you are in the open stand just pull out your Ham and Cheese sandwich to identify yourself and I'll drop over and say hello.
corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 27/05/2010 21:27:51
Enjoy Sunday Corkcelt, I'll be soon going on the down low too.
Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 27/05/2010 21:51:39
Corkcelt:
My final word too this is nothing to do with the match or cork and I've said that I wouldn't be surprised if sean og does play well as he is a great hurler I don't think anything I've said on the thread will come back and bite me on the arse my problem was with the way he dealth with himself in the media.... I said that at least 7 or 8 times on this thread so far but ye seem to think I'm directing this at cork fair enough (if thats what cork people need to motivate themselves misquote what you feel you want to)....... but if you can manage to get a told you so out of my posts fair play work away.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/05/2010 21:55:03
corkcelt:
I'll wear a tinfoil hat and be in with the season ticket crew!!
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 27/05/2010 21:57:25
Culchie, of course it's Sean Og's choice as to how much he wants to play the media game. At the end of the day, were it just for his achievements on the pitch (towards winning silverware anyway) over the last few years he would be pretty much yesterday's news. However, I would seriously question how positive the bulk of his media inputs have been for the game of hurling. Tj09, that's some amount of rubbish you've been spewing. This Kilkenny outfit (and I am talking about the entire panels of players and management set-up of the last five or six years) have been phenomenal ambassadors for the game of hurling. In all fairness, how can anybody say the antics and guff of SOME of the striking Cork panel (including the bould Sean Og) towards a Cork legend that Sean Og could never hope to emulate has been in any way positive for the game? As a player on the pitch, Sean Og has been a very exciting and inspirational exponent of hurling, and his physical commitment to the game is serious, but on that evidence alone the lad does not attain the level of immortality he so desperately craves. I ask the question, particularly thinking of O Hailpin, Cusack, and the highly mediocre Niall McCarthy, would those Cork hurlers trade their mouths of late for the level of success of the Kilkenny legends have enjoyed? Well, they blamed their manager of a lack of success. Now that safety-net is gone, it's up to the likes of Sean Og to prove himself once more on the pitch, and with all the nonsense of last year only All Ireland success this year could redeem themselves (from a sporting context, anyway - morally is another story). I think Cork probably have it in them to win on Sunday, with Sean Og to have a decent enough game (maybe one of his last). Contary of what some might say, I think the Tipp team are still on a learning curve and this game, in Cork's backyard, might be worth more to Cork and Tipp. After all, there is a relatively cheap Munster title up for grabs this year, while Tipp are more focused on the ultimate prize.
MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 324 - 28/05/2010 12:11:29
MiAmiga, Hag and I have already agreed to differ on this point, however I will very briefly try to sumarise what I was saying.
The Cork panel work just as hard as any other hurling panel. They do just as much to promote the game. They contribute as much to our enjoyment of the game. In those regards they are no better or worse than any other GAA panel from any of the 32 counties. In my view that entitles them to the same respect that I would try to give to ANY player from any county.
In my view, accusing them of 'antics and guff', 'nonsense,' 'craving immortality' and being mouthy, assumes that you understand their motivations when you probably don't know them that well. It is my opinion that such ill-conceived assumptions do not extend them the degree of respect to which all of our players are entitled.
You may feel that they are not entitled to the same degree of respect as other players, the level of repect which you afford to all players may be different to that which I attempt to extend, or you may feel that a players behaviour off the field can be so greiviously harmful that it overides all of the years of service he has given us and allows you to hold him to different standards. If those are your choices, I cannot disagree with you. You make your own decisions as regards what is right and decent for you, and I have absolutely no right to assume that I would somehow know better.
On a final point, you ask if anybody could feel that the behaviour of the Cork team towards Ger Mac was in any way positive. Once again, for the umpteenth time, I have to remind a poster, that the essence of the dispute (as definied by the panel themselves) had ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WHATSOEVER to do with Gerald McCarthy or his management, but rather the method by which he was re-appointed. In my own club 73% of the membership agreed with the players and that was probably the lowest percentage of support they got from any club. EVERY SINGLE CLUB that voted on the issue voted in favour of the players. That would seem to imply that the GAA members closest to the situation viewed the players actions in a positive light.
Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 28/05/2010 13:48:52
Excellent post Culchie. Everything you said I agree with 100%.
If Cork lose on Sunday (I think we will as Tipp are a bit ahead of us) people will come back here next week and say that all the Cork lads do is talk. Cork, I believe, will give a spirited performance on Sunday but will ultimately come up short. There will be no shame in that. If the media focus on Cork players after the game, so be it. They will do so because people want to talk about Cork players. Here is an interesting statistic, this thread has now 116 separate posts in under a week. You have to go all the way back to page 18 and a thread entitled "The Greats of Hoganstand" to find a thread with more posts that was started in 2010 (there are other threads with more posts but they have all been started in 2009 and in some cases 2008). My point is, people say they hate Sean Og, this and that, he is too mouthy etc. Maybe they do, however, they feel compelled to let everyone else know their feelings. The media of course can generate statistics and see the volume of interest that people have in expressing their views on matters Sean Og. If people genuinely want to see the back of him, then, it sounds easy, but just ignore him. The media are not interested in Sean Og, they are interested in articles that people will read. If they discover that people are no longer interested in reading about him, they will stop printing. However, as long as all of you keep spreading your misinformed vitriol about him, you will see lots more of him.
People will claim they can't ignore Sean Og if he is on the front page of the website. That maybe true, however, unless you have serious problems with self discipline then you should surely be able to control what threads you respond to. If you want to talk about Sean Og, that is your right. What is silly, is people complaining him about the media yet using the media (Hoganstand) to complain about it. The logic is baffling.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/05/2010 14:14:55
bennybunny:
Granted if your happy with such attention in negative terms grand..... Look at other sports controversial characters always make to newspapers look at soccer stepen ireland craig bellamy for all the wrong reasons what your view on them.
Granted the good things in gaa sometimes don't generate as much hype as the bad things but I'd much perfer to be generation it for the good things like kilkenny are doing.
Can you honestly say that your happy with the media attention and negative coverage cork have got in the last few years (all their own doing I my add). I'm sorry the more media attention teams get might highten their profile but for the wrong reasons. I much perfer to fly under the radar and let the hurling do the talking, which again I sure cork are capable of doing.
The media has done enough damage to cork and yet don't shy away from the spotlight. More cork players should look at the great joe deane as an example. But saying that i suppose they make hurling get noticed off the pitch which i suppose isn't a bad thing but that then shouldn't stop people giving the opinion on them. I definately wouldn't want my team to be generating such negative press in my view there one place for hurling and that's on the pitch.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/05/2010 14:41:34
Hag and Cheese
I did not say I was happy with it. You made the point for me, certain people sell newspapers (ie Stephen Ireland, Craig Bellamy etc). That is just the way it is. People read it. Sean Og sells. Do not blame Sean Og, the media come to Sean Og NOT the other way around. Why dont you email the "star", "sun", "Irish Times" etc and tell them that you are sick of reading about Sean Og, you would much rather see and interview, with, say, the Antrim captain. An interview with the Antrim captain would, in hurling terms, be as, if not, more interesting. However, Sean Og generates more publicity (the statistics on this tthread suggest so at least) than the Antrim captain would. Newspapers are in business and in GAA terms, SEan Og is about the most lucrative property (in their eyes) that exists. I know, you do not like it, but the only way to change it, is to ignore it. If you cant, then it is simple, deal with it.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 28/05/2010 16:08:25
Do not blame Sean Og
Well its his choice to interact with the media, but again my point is his response in the article making out that he has been up against it and been written off his whole career, the media that has built him up are the same one's questioning his form!!!
The media came to joe deane too and he choose not to have that profile he even did not have much to do with the publicity of the strikes and thus remains a legend in my mind. I don't mind media attention but sean og has been doing a fair amout of moaning lately. But i suppose sean og can do no wrong in cork peoples eye's.... there no such thing i would say to them as constructive criticsm.
Also you'll see that the majority of the posts on this thread are over and back between a small no. of posters a lot of people just don't really care. So maybe re-evaluate your statistics.
Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 28/05/2010 16:42:21