Sean Og needs to do his talking on the pitch

Culchie:

I think I have produced a balance arguement you failed to state that i said that he is a fantastic hurler and has done a lot for hurling and also that i do think that he has the ability to still prove himself on the pitch. I have also admired what he has done in the past but is that grounds for not being able to criticize him not when he dose something i don't agree with.

Look at other past players I'll babs keating as an example great hurler did his bit for the game and respect him for what he's done in the game but i understand when people are critical of his points of view I for one would say a bad word against him but understand peoples point of view.

Another example John Mullane also a high profile player one i didn't like in his early career becuase of off pitch and on pitch antics but now I've grow to respect his gives his all and will never big up himself in interview humble responses yet still command a media profile other include joe canning, henry shefflin, eoin kelly.

But for ye to disregard people criticism on current issue's due to a players past is a bit arrogant. I know this is no parallel but a lot of germans thought hitler was dead on think yer lacking a bit of perspective, people criticize tipperary as well you know and with the critic has a foundation it is valid, I don't know call me arrogant if you want but my critique of sean og's at the moment holds merit.

Tj09: He has proved it in the past granted but the question was posed about his current form on the pitch and if he's still playing he dose have to prove it which i think he can do that's has nothing got to do with my arguement. My argue is with the way he is now carrying himself in the media.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 16:32:42    659119

PROC_Hurler come here the cork posters here present an arguement well----leave it to those lads to argue the point and don't make things worse with you comments that have no foundation in reality what so ever.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 16:36:02    659127

re: Culchie

You've been on this forum for a while you may remember years before I always stated i was a fan and respected cork even went as far to say cork would be my second team so I don't believe that my criticm is founded in a mentality of not being biased against cork. It's founded in not liking what i've seen and heard over the last few years... and after all that gone on it's time for cork to quitely prove themselves. You may say they've nothing to prove but I don't agree ever if they won 5 in a row before what went on in the last few years i still think on the basis of their arguement and the matter in which they fought it in the media they do have a lot to prove.... so how's about they start doing this on the pitch now seen as they got what they wanted off it, and they likes of sean og in what he says still takes that emphasis off on pitch matters to a degree.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 16:47:00    659154

You have to admit Culchie they are unexciting as a team, very good hurlers, but missing that swagger, maybe the way I put it was a bit strong. But anyway its pudders who usually draws on this type of slagging match he has a real fixation with Cork, and Cody, he seems to know what he is having breakfast!

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2010 16:48:51    659157

re: tj09

What the hell is swagger define it.... they've enihilated all competition around them for years scoring for fun! If you gave me the choice of a team with "swagger" and a team thats probably again the greatest ever i'll take the greatest team ever 10 times out of 10.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 16:52:38    659168

Brian Cody has weetabix soaked with Smithwick. Unlike the Cork lads, he is not bitter.

And this Kilkenny team play an attacking exciting brand of hurling as far as I can see. No swagger....JJ Delaney..... Henry Shefflin..... Tommy Walsh....and this year TJ Reid. Wait until you see.

Oh so jealous.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 26/05/2010 16:57:19    659181

Hag, I take it from your last few posts that you do not feel any of your comments on Sean Og were overly personal or over the top in any way. If so, then that's fine. You have every right to express your views in any manner which you feel is proper, provided you do not step outside the boudaries of the law. You have most certainly not stepped anywhere remotely close to those boundaries, and consequently it is not for me to decide what is 'proper' for you. I can only do that for myself. I do feel that some of your comments were a little personal and I would seek to avoid (mind you I wouldn't always be successful) making similar comments about any GAA player. Alas the world does not revolve around me and I cannot insist that my way is the only way!

Here's hoping for a cracker on Sunday!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 26/05/2010 17:03:28    659196

Culchie:

I respect that but i do stand by my comments and i can understand if you don't agree with them. But a lot of these comment are born of of fustration of the when GAA as a whole is potrayed in the media now adays there too much emphasis on the negative points in the gaa in the media of late I don't think gaa should be making the front pages of newspapers for negative reasons and a lot of what players say fuels this.
Call me a purist if you want but i'd like gaa to go back to the way it was and the focus should be on field and enjoying the game, but they way it's been potrayed in the last few year is more negative than positive, maybe this could be in the wider scheme of things be the way irish society has developed in the last few years. I'm not saying there was never negitive things in the gaa before but not to this extent. I just want people to shut up and play the game. It starting to feel like the gaa is going down the soccer route with players brandishing themselves all over the media at the drop of a hat. But in saying that stories like what donal og has done in his personal life i think has a lot of positives in society as a whole. But what sean og has to say for himself late dose nothing positive in my opinion.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 17:18:49    659216

corkcelt

658633 I have absolutely no doubt that most if not all of the posters who have criticised Sean Og have never met or spoke to the guy and are basing all their opinions on "what he said" in newspaper articles. The printed word looks a lot different then when its spoken, you can say something with a smile on your face and noone will take exception but print it on paper and it looks a lot different. For those who don't know him I can assure ye that Sean Og is an absolute gem of a lad. Fiercely patriotic, Fluent Irish Speaker, non drinker, gives all the time in the world to kids. Not unusual to see his team-mates showered and dressed and Sean Og still out on the field talking to kids and signing autographs. A Tipperary pal of mine who has a reasonably good grasp of Irish tells a story of how he passed Sean Og on a street in Dublin and for fun saluted him in Irish. Sean Og was so pleased to meet a fellow Irish Speaker he stopped in his tracks and began a major conversation. My pal was soon struggling to keep up as his Irish was not that good and was sorry for dropping himself into it. Anyhow he is one Tipp lad who doesn't have a bad word to say about Sean Og.

Add me to that list of Tipp people with nothing against Sean Og.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 26/05/2010 17:27:46    659223

I suppose one way to describe it would be: if you were to ask a few 12 year old hurlers around the country to name a few senior players from the AI winning team: in 2009 you will get Sheflin .. I don't think many others would come into it and sheflin is there because he is an absolute class hurler, not really for personality or character. Now if you were to do the same in 03/04 for example when this Cork team(the majority of it anyway) was on its way and ask the young fellas of that time, then i think a lot more names, Joe Deane, O'Hailpins, the rock etc.. would be given out, they were in my opinion much more engaging and interesting. I put this down to healthy interaction between players and their fans, As you said John Mullane is a very good example, after hearing his genuine taught's in some of his interviews I also respected him much more, and am now a greater fan of his than before, thus maybe proving my point as to why I want players such as Sean Og to speak their mind (even if it does not go down well with some). It builds up a better and more interesting spectacle for all involved. In fact that Waterford team also had a good few characters as did the great Clare and many Tipp teams. In my opinion this KK team lack that aspect, which is fine and for the out and out purists of hurling maybe such as yourself then that is absolutely fine. I prefer a bit more realism. Im not sure if im making the point very well but I think you should be able to get what im on about! This is not to diminish this current KK team achievements but more to point out that maybe a KK 5 in a row is not so good for the games promotion

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2010 17:29:33    659225

TJ09:

You mention joe deane one of the players that shy away from the media attention and built up his profile on the pitch the respect for this man i have and what he went threw can relly be put into words here. And I've no problem with characters as you put it as long as they are doing something positive but when these players who choose to put themselves in the glare of the media must them endure the double edged sword of getting criticsm i therefore do not any problem with this critiscm.

It was the media the helped sean og to build up his profile so when they then question his form he stats
"But if anyone knows my history, I've been written off since I was a kid, when I got 'What the hell is this half-Fijian doing playing hurling?' I've been used to it for the last 20 years."
don't bite the hand that feeds you the media and the public has stoked the fire that is the persona that is sean og also fueled by his on pitch performances and now when they question his form he turns to say that he's always been written off that not true!!!

He was happy to take the plaudents so now he should be able to take the negative comment too in a less arrogant way.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 17:47:54    659255

TJ...so you are using hearsay that 12 year old kids form 03/04 can name more Cork players than Kilkenny players from the present era.

Did you know that in a survey of Feile na nGael hurlers in the last 3 years, Kilkenny players were the most recognised with a 97% recognition of Henry, 95% of Tommy Walsh, 93% of Sean Og, 91% of Eoin Larkin and 87% of Eddie Brennan?

At least back-up your stories like I can with mine:

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 26/05/2010 17:50:32    659260

Personally I cant wait to see how he get on, on sunday. A fter getting a wake up call in the league final, i reckon he will steal the show come sunday

iamgod (Meath) - Posts: 86 - 26/05/2010 18:04:08    659290

That was simply used to portray a certain point pudders, I clearly stated it as descriptive!

I don't think he took it badly Hag, you seemed to have interpreted differently to me, I felt it was an honest answer to a question he was asked and I would well believe he had a good few doubters as a young fella so I doubt he is lying! Maybe you think that is arrogant but I don't.
Id put Joe in there for similar reasons to why I put sheflin in 2009.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2010 18:07:26    659293

That was simply used to portray a certain point pudders, I clearly stated it as descriptive!

I don't think he took it badly Hag, you seemed to have interpreted differently to me, I felt it was an honest answer to a question he was asked and I would well believe he had a good few doubters as a young fella so I doubt he is lying! Maybe you think that is arrogant but I don't.
Id put Joe in there for similar reasons to why I put sheflin in 2009.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2010 18:27:44    659315

I dispute the fact he stated he's been wrote off for the last 20 years if anything his profile has been built up!!! This the first time i think especially in intercounty his form has been questioned! His woe is me attitude is not justified.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 19:53:43    659399

Sean og has done his talking on the pitch for years. He's done it all in hurling, and does not owe anyone a thing. As a triple All Ireland winner he's entitle to his opinion.

oricelt (USA) - Posts: 207 - 26/05/2010 20:04:15    659408

Seán Óg has done an awful lot for hurling and was/is a fantastic hurler. I've always had the utost respect for him and the way he plays the game. His speech as Gaeilge after winning the All-Ireland will always stick out in my mind "Is fada an turas ó Fiji go gCorcaigh agus is fada an turas ó Chorcaigh go bPáirc an Crochaigh!"

Of late he has perhaps bigged himself up but sure there's no real harm in that either in my opionion.

As for the comments re Kilkenny being a boring team. Have you ever watched them play? Pure class and boring is not the word that I think of!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13802 - 26/05/2010 20:25:56    659437

We are now well into this thread and I am still wondering what did Sean Og say that was so arrogant and stupid. He freely admitted that he might not get his place next Sunday. He also stated that based on the League Final that Walsh would be sticking his neck out, if he did select him. All he said was don't write me off, every sportsman in any code that I ever heard interviewed coming off a bad run of form has said the same thing. If Sean Og has a problem, its that he can't say no to anyone. He does not run after reporters, they run after him and basically he is too much of a nice guy to tell them to feck off.

Pudders, I totally agree that Cody is not bitter (unlike yourself). I have huge time for the guy and think without doubt that he is the top Hurling Manager of all times. I am in possession of a private video shot in the Cork dressing room in the aftermath of the 99 Final. Jimmy Barry is just about to give a speech when Cody walks in to offer his congratulations. He expresses his disappointment at the loss and then says " having said that, being in a winning Cork Dressing room after an All-Ireland Final is not the worst place in the world to be" he goes on to praise Cork, speaking eloquently and sincerely. From the moment I watched that Video I put the man on a pedestal. He is indeed a true hurling man and a true Sportsman. I wish there were more like him.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 26/05/2010 20:45:48    659471

I don't think Pudders is bitter, just flexing his paws & reminding us that they are still the kings of the sport.

As for Sean Og I think he's a good player, saw him make his debut in May 1996 when he played V Limerick when we annihilated cork in Pairc Ui Chaoimh by 16 points. That seems like a lifetime ago now, but 14 years on he's still playing and has a nice collection of medals. You have to respect that in fairness. He's an outspoken lad, but it's fashionable to be like that in Cork since Roy Keane made it fashionable :-)

Sunday will tell a lot for Sean Og ......

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 27/05/2010 09:53:45    659609