Sean Og needs to do his talking on the pitch

"The strikes are ancient history at this stage"

Try telling Gerald McCarthy and his family that I reckon!!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 26/05/2010 12:49:07    658758

Slayer-"That's strange because I was at the 2007 final and I would estimate 60% of the crowd was still there to see Kilkenny get the trophy because it was a great occasion and also given the tragedy that struck Kilkenny in the run up to the game I think most Limerick people had respect for them receiving the cup.

Also, you say it was one of the worst finals in living memory and did nothing to entice people towards the game. Were you at the 1989 final then?"

Ha, I was at both games and they were disappointing. I won't stoop to cheap point scoring, excuse the pun! Lets just say we both ran into exceptional teams.

I would add that 1989 is a long time ago. In the current era the game is dwindling, indeed some counties would like to see the back of hurling. My point is that dominance by 1 team does nothing to attract people to the game. Kilkenny have their own style in going about things. Thats fine. We should not be critical of other individuals, like Sean Og, who have a view. He is well respected and attracts publicity where it is badly needed.

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 26/05/2010 12:58:50    658775

Redfoot i'm not sure what your point is?You give out about everything Kilkenny do from the media work to the promotion of the game of hurling,yet the current team is the most successful ever! Surely that means they are doing everything right?

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 26/05/2010 13:00:43    658777

"both in promoting Cork as a brand name and in getting themselves special attention."

I'm not sure I'd like that that sort of promotion people say there no such thing as bad publicity I don't agree.

Also lads people who put themselves in front of the media as much as that means that people have the right to critise them and as a gaa fan I'm exercising my right to critise just as they have a right to say what they want.

Also it seems people think sean og is untouchable becuase he promotes the game and is a recognisable face, well lads he's not alone there plenty of other players that travel up and down the country promotion the game too, to be honest he states his origins as something that people latched onto to critise him well my arguement is that these origions are one of the reasons why he's such a high profile in the game. Also look at it this way the range of advertising he has done has dried up too you don't see him in as many ads anymore would this be associated with the public opionion of him in the last few years. Lads I've said he's a greta hurler and indeed he can still in my view produce on the pitch but my issue is that he should be doing that instead of being stuck all over the media....

On another point note I've noticed that cork posters will hardly ever take critism of their team or players..... immediately go on the defensive not the way i remember cork people used to be but i suppose all that to do with what's gone on in the last few years, I think most counties can admit the bad points cork can't really... there a kinda them against the world mentality. But that's just my point of view here's hoping all the stupid stuff over the last few years ends and they start doing their taking on the pitch where they'll earn the respect they wonce had again.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 13:12:19    658800

Slayer I'm in no way writing him off, my point is that he should be doing his talking on the pitch.

Also lads think it's better strikes aren't brought into it again... why not let that ship sail.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 13:14:43    658806

"I would add that 1989 is a long time ago. In the current era the game is dwindling, indeed some counties would like to see the back of hurling."

I wouldn't agree totally with you there hurling in antrim may be be what it used to be but at the moment you have one of the best teams ever and 3 or 4 teams capable of beating them. Also there are counties making positive moves in hurlig also (and the dubs will love to hear this) a couty with a massive gaa base starting to play the game more and more.... hurling isn't dwindling.

Sorry that was a bit off point but had to point it out.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 13:26:48    658821

Glensman are you comparing a seven point win to an 18 point one & saying both were one sides finals?

Kilkenny don't do second gear I'm afraid. We saw that in the 2008 final and the 2009 NHL game V's Cork.

We conceded 2-3 without reply at the start of the 2007 final, we battled back to within 5 points of them but they had too much for us. Absolutely no comparison to the finals of 2008 or 1989.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/05/2010 13:49:24    658850

If I was Sean Og I would not be too pleased about what Hag and pudders are saying about him on this national forum! The man has probably done more for the game of hurling than 90% of their hurlers and possibly even cody! A dual player, represented Ireland in compromised rules, plenty of medals, I certainly want to hear what a legend such as sean og has to say, and if anyone deserves to speak their mind than it is him. Can I suggest that Hag and pudders, if ye dislike him so much than don't read his interviews, Im sure ye can have another look over Cody's dull book.
Lately, because of pudders and his relentless abuse of anything cork, I am really hoping that any other team than KK wins the AI this year, If the rebels don't beat the pussy's this year then I will take great pleasure in seeing Tipp, Galway or any county beating the boring b******s.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2010 13:56:06    658862

Slayer- Both well beaten, off the field!

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 26/05/2010 14:27:19    658893

re: tj09

Dose that mean that i have no right to critise him.... he puts himself in the public eye as he dose he must except critism..... I never questioned what he has done for the game, but there plenty of other players that promote the game too they also deserve credit. My arguement is that he needs to do his talking on the pitch interms of hurling instead of all over the papers and directing the focus to himself.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 14:50:51    658940

also tj09 it's seems that people are not allowed criticize cork or anything cork at this stage one of the reasons I've lost time for them off the field!! Can you disagree that they way things have gone in the last few year cork do deserve some criticim.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 14:55:28    658952

4 pages and 70 odd posts so far to a thread on Sean Og O'Halpin.....

Dunno what he's doing making talking to the media, OBVIOUSLY there's no interest in what he has to say.....

QED methinks...

CorkieInKerry (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 26/05/2010 15:10:32    658979

Also tj09:

This is not always the way sean og has gone on he used to humble in his ways and i respected him more for it not it seems his ego has taken over be it his involvement in the gpa or the strikes...... and to give an interveiw the way he did and the answers he gave stank!!! That's not the sean og i remember!! I've followed his career with interest and respected him as a player the program he and the o'halpins did on rte was really interesting but looks like another sean og is starting to take over!!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 26/05/2010 15:11:14    658982

TheGlensman wrote:

Slayer- Both well beaten, off the field!

legendary!

so in your mind 7, 18 & 20 are all the same??? What's being taught in those schools up there at all.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/05/2010 15:42:10    659025

To be honest hag I don't think he needs to prove anything to anybody! He is nearing the end of his career, he has achieved an awful lot and yes you are allowed to argue the point against him but I am also allowed to argue for him! And actually no i don't think these players should loose any respect as a result of what they have done, if you truly understood the situation and the absolute awkwardness and sheer stubbornness of our county board then you may also realize that they have done a great thing, (however you are entitled to think otherwise). Anyway your initial point was about doing his talking on the pitch, he has already proved his worth Hag so if the media want to interview him and obviously a lot of people want to hear about him then what is your reasoning for him not to give an interview? As I say if you are one of those that don't want to hear what he has to say, then turn the page! I want to hear what he has to say.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 26/05/2010 15:51:34    659036

Roy Keane, Sean Og,

Anybody notice a trend amongst Cork lads mouthing off!

Shur the country is well used of it by now and pays no attention to it anymore!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 26/05/2010 15:59:24    659052

Some of the Cork posters have got the red mist.

1. One of the Cork posters claimed that Sean Og has been slandered on here. That is not true. Could someone point out the slander (and also point out that slander is spoken libel is written)?
2. Redfoot and numerous other Cork posters have stated on here that Sean og has helped Antrim and Down junior hurlers unlike Kilkenny players. I am not denying Sean Og doesn't do a lot for hurling with young lads and never cast any aspersions on him re payment as that was one of the Cork posters who referred to those allegations. The Kilkenny players do huge amounts with under age hurlers. Did you know Jackie Tyrell & Eoin Larkin have held training sessions with two Dublin clubs, a club from Clare and shock horror Blackrock in Cork! Did you know Brian Cody has worked with under age teams in Sligo, Tyrone? How about Fan Larkin and Brian Cody ensuring that a couple of Belfast schools get to play in Kilkenny every year or we travel up? The under 12 and under 14 tournaments organised with other counties in every club as young lads from Vincents or Ennis want to travel to Kilkenny to play? And did you know Kilkenny county board have been big supporters of Carlow hurling allowing their clubs enter our league? I could go on. I could also mention some of the stuff I know Brendan Cummins has done. An absolute gentleman. It is not just the cork lads doing it. The top players from every county are doing it. Just a lot of the others don't go for the same level of publicity.
3. I have commented on Sean og being a fine player in the past. Maybe its in our dna, but in Kilkenny we believe you play hurling on the field. Off it, you're no better than your last game and the next lad to wear your jersey. We have superstar players without the superstar egos. How are Kilkenny people meant to react after Donal Og's comments in his book about Kilkenny? And also the way that Cork posters cast aspersions on Kilkenny because of Leinster (a lot stronger province than you lot will ever give credit for) and the strikes. Funnily enough I drink in a Cork pub in London. Watch all the GAA in there. And I am not afraid to tell the Cork lads to their faces these same truths. Taking money off them is like taking candy off a baby.

I was against the GPA but now that it is recognised I will support them as long as it is not just for the elite inter-county players. I was against the strikes. Gerald McCarthy was a fine hurler. I saw it at first hand. His treatment at the hands of the cork panel was terrible. And the cork panel and strike did affect other counties. Look at Wexford.

Sean og starts to talk in the third person about himself. Now tell me that doesn't sound odd. He also wants pay for play (but realises he will never see it). Now i am against that. And I try not to read too much of their hyperbole but when its on the front here, given a love of hurling you can't fail not to read it.

And yes he is a fine hurler, a fine gael and probably a fine man, but he's not my cup of tea.

And by the way, lads, 2006, 2007, 2008 and 2009. No asterixs. A true 4 in a row.

Up the Cats!

And on Sunday,

TIPP TIPP TIPP!

There I said it again.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 26/05/2010 15:59:42    659055

Sean Og is a legend. Cork would have won at least 4 if not 5 in a row only for the strike. We are better than this Kilkenny team of faceless robots. Kilkenny does nothing for hurling except for Kilkenny's benefit. Sure they would have only about 10 all irelands at most if they had to play in Munster. And if Sean og gets a few quid for opening a shop, good on him. Fair play.

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 26/05/2010 16:03:16    659063

A legend.

PROC_Hurler (Cork) - Posts: 203 - 26/05/2010 16:04:13    659066

Hag, You have every right to criticise players in almost any way you chose. I don't think anybody could accuse you of doing anything other than exercising your right to freedom of expression. However, having the right to write something, and writing what is decent and right can be two seperate things. It really depends on the standards you hold yourself to, and the values you hold dear.

So far, on this thread alone, you have implied that Sean Og was 'waxing lyrical.' You have accused him of making a 'ridiculous statement' in terms of being written off all his life. You have stated that his interview 'stank of arrogance' and implied that it was classless. You accuse him of being 'outspoken for the sake of it' and suggested that his ego is taking over. In addition you have called into question the way that the entire Cork panel 'conduct themselves' now and accused them of parading themselves in front of the media at every opportunity.

Do any of these staements strike you as a little bit too personal or over the top? If you can genuinely say that they don't, and you can write things like that with a clear conscience and do not feel that you are wronging anybody, then good luck to you. However you will probably find that many people (not just Cork people) will strongly disagree with such statements. You may also find that non-personal criticism of the Cork hurlers may be much better recieved by Cork people, and people generally.

Likewise, TJ, do you not feel that dismissing the greatest ever hurling team as 'boring b.....s' is just a tad OTT. There is nothing boring about the way they play hurling. Any of us who love the game surely enjoy watching such wonderful exponants of it.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 26/05/2010 16:07:02    659074