Sean Og needs to do his talking on the pitch

Pudders wrote:
"As for the cork lad saying that the Cork team going for the 3-in-a-row were more popular than this Kilkenny team, let me tell you that that Cork team are hated and will always be hated by a very large percentage of the hurling family".

I would agree 100% with that.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/05/2010 19:45:01    658319

It seems sean og is just trying to be outspoken for the sake of it at this stage.... could a career in politics be in his future!! He'll have a greater role in the GPA when he hangs up his boots that's for sure.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2010 20:23:04    658351

Pudders"I meant the whole championship not just the finals. And actually Kilkenny Waterford was the greatest ever exhibition of a team performance 1 through to 15. What was it 37 shots, 34 scores, two wides and the post hit for good measure. Kilkenny have raised the bar. Look at Galway and Tipp the last few years. Not our fault that this team at its peak were head and shoulders ahead of everyone. And this Kilkenny panel have done more for hurling than the Cork striking panel combined. Just they don't go round looking for the publicity and the plaudits. Brain Cody was in Sligo giving out hurling medals. He didn't get paid for it. He didn't get in the papers for it. Brian Cody helps with the under 12 school team and does more for his club than Sean Og will ever do for his. And that is a fact. Give me Cody and the robots anyday."

No question of Kilkenny's class or Cody's ability as a manager or GAA man. With few exceptions, Kilkenny walk overs do nothing for the excitement of fans. Some of your Leinster c'ship games have been nothing other than puck arounds, not Kilkenny's fault.

At our peril do we criticise others because they have a different view or persona. Hurling needs all the oxygen that publicity provides.

I also understand why you worship Cody and you have particluar knowledge about all that he does for the game. Fair play and big respect here. I can also tell you tha Sean Og has tread the long track to The Glens on umpteen occasions to present medals and attend functions. He spoke well and represented his Club, County and the GAA with great distinction and dignity.

TheGlensman (Antrim) - Posts: 123 - 25/05/2010 20:28:58    658354

tj09:

Are you for real that kilkenny team gets media attention for the right reasons they are probably the greatest team ever... cork have been getting media attention for the wrong reasons maybe they should take a page from kilkenny book in that respect.

Granted there have been critics of their play but do you think you'd have the players or manager giving statements like sean og using the word "I" so much. Brain cody commands respect love him or hate him look at his interviewed he refuses to be drawn on critism and will use the word "we" instead of "I" for the most part. Success demands respect cork used to have it I'm afraid they way conduct themselves now will make people forget what a great team they are or where (still too early to say that yet).

The whole strike fiasco has died down but still they parade themselves in front of the media at every chance they get.... ACTIONS SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS!

If they get back to doing what they do best maybe they'll gain the respect they wonce had again.

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2010 20:34:45    658360

In fairness to you Hag, it shows great respect for a Tipp man to type a message like that. You are right though, Kilkenny carry themselves with such dignity on and off the field. You could never see a situation like Cork developing in Kilkenny because as a county of people, both supporters and players, they have no time for attitudes or big ego's - if you dont want to hurl the door is that way. Just ask Charlie Carter/Brian McEvoy or the countless others who have walked that way!

I reckon if the likes of Sean Og etc were shown the door the rest of them would go on strike. And we'd hear about it for 6 months.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/05/2010 21:51:01    658464

The Glensman, just cos you heard all those good things that Cody does behind the scenes doesn't mean Sean Og doesn't do similar or more. This thread was supposed to be about him being too eager to talk to the media not what he does in his spare time.

These hurling threads generally turn into an opportunity for Pudders and Pinkie to declare how much they dislike Cork. at the end of day the Cork strike did no harm to anyone except Cork hurling itself.

As a general rule, you set yourself up for a fall by giving the media a big interview in the build up to a big match. James Woodlock gave an interview to an newspaper that would listen before one of the Tipp matches last year and didn't cover himself in glory on the pitch.

Kilkenny are probably right to avoid the media interviews as much as they can.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 25/05/2010 21:59:13    658477

Ah lads its not that big a deal with him getting air time and waxing lyrical about whatever is on his mind. I'd only have a problem if he started believing what journalists say about him as well as some of the hype he throws out every now and again. Sean Og and a number of the Cork panel are the first set of GAA players that know how to use the media and over the last few years, they've done it really well, both in promoting Cork as a brand name and in getting themselves special attention. Sean Og's good mate Tom Humphries proved a powerful ally in the Cork strike struggle last year
I'm not surprised that after a few years, Sean Og will start talking about himself as some sort of martyr or have some sort of persecution complex. He's getting older, his time is getting shorter in the game and he's not playing as well as he has done in the past - if he can get someone to listen to him when no one really should, he must be doing something right

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 26/05/2010 09:12:45    658501

LISTEN UP LISTEN UP..THESE ARE THE FACTS
That Cork team was very good but I dont think many people have much time for them as they are the leaders in the "player power" problem..Sean Og, Donal Og are 2 of the main boys involved. I think that Cork team looked like right eijits last year when they lost to Galway and lost by more this year in the league final. they beat Galway in 08 with 14 men having been down at half time and playing against the breeze 2nd half..this was one of the best team performances I have ever seen..they gave it everything when Donal Og got sent off......despite a beating aginst KK in the semi, I thought Cork played well for a lot of that game...KK were just brilliant but Cork played up to there standard aswell. BUT...BUT they wanted to get rid of Gerald McCarthy which basically stated to me anyway that: "we, the cork players are not far away after performances against Gal & KK so if we get new management....we can win the all-ireland" BUT unfortunately this was far from the case..like did Cork really think that same old enough team was good enough to win another all-ireland. Anyway, what goes around comes around..the treatment of Gerald Mc was appauling but it was turned big time on the players last year....with 15 men for 70mins and supposedly a superior Mgt set-up. ye were beaten 4 or 5 pts by Galway and well beaten by the same team this year and no doubt Gal will beat ye again if ye meet later on.
Mmmm..though ye'll never admit...its fairly obvious that ye were a much better outfit under Gerald McCarthy but for whatever reason..maybe the fact that he was a hugely popular player himself and now been manager...he took away some of the spotlight from the likes of Sean Og, gardiner etc.
It's not really up for argument..there is no doubt that the carry on of the Cork players in recent years has been absolutely disgraceful and has had a knock on effect on other counties that have had "player power" issues. the Cork boys have caused havoc.
Im not sure about the stats on that Cork teams popularity but we can be sure that they were very popular around 2005 but they have probably lost 60-70% of their admirers outside the county since they have been trying to ruin the game with "player power"... Sean Og-fair play if he puts in a big performance sunday..talking on the field will always be respected but he and lots of other players shut keep it shut off the field because believe me, that is the quickest way to lose the respect you have gained on the pitch.

JGiles (Limerick) - Posts: 88 - 26/05/2010 10:15:04    658542

Sean Og,Donal Og,John Gardiner,they sure do love to talk!God love them when they retire, although i have no doubt they will all become tv analysts,unfortunately.

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 26/05/2010 10:15:31    658543

Sean og on many occasions went to junior clubs in antrim and Down, to help out with training sessions, Something kilkenny players don't seem to care about. Kilkennys success benefited kilkenny only, to the detriment of hurling as a whole.

And the begrudgers don't know what theyre on about, as usual. Sean og was our best back in 08 and 09. So he had a few bad league games, Cork never take the league seriously anyway. I have a feeling if Tipp think he's a weak link then theyre in for shock.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 26/05/2010 10:17:02    658546

Hag, You asked whether the Cork hurling team had done anything on the field to gain respect. The answer is yes. They work as hard as any other inter-county side and deserve just as much respect as the hurlers of Tipperary, Kilkenny or Wicklow. They do not deserve public (and it seems that sometimes people forget that this forum is in the public domain) and negative commentary on their character by anybody, much less people who don't even know them.

Now Sean Og puts himself out there. Therefore, he must realise that people will often disagree with him. That's fine, just do it respectfully, do not assume the worst of him, and don't bother commenting on his character.

In the midst of all the difficulties down here, Ray Ryan came in for some media attention. He made a number of public comments that I considered unhelpful. I was in complete and total disagreement with Ryan and felt that he should not have agreed to captain, or even play on, the development squad. However, I did not assume the worst of his character. I did not accuse him of attention seeking. As far as I am concerned his stance was courageous, and he always had the good of Cork hurling at heart. I might have disagreed with him, but there was absolutely no need to slur what was, in many ways, an admirable character. I would also say that he is not even close to good enough for inter-county hurling - but that is not a personal remark.

I know none of us are perfect. I often make personal remarks about players in a private enviornment. But this is a more public place, and we do not write on the spur of the moment. Ideally, we should be able to calm down, and moderate our more personal remarks, somewhere between brain and keyboard.

Of course Pudders has explained that some of what he wrote was written in jest. That's fine. Nothing wrong with a joke, until someone as serious as me fails to get it!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 26/05/2010 10:35:02    658562

Redfoot, what a bitter and stupid post!

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 26/05/2010 10:38:29    658568

He's able to play both codes to a high standard, and is fluent in the language despite not being originally from these shores.

In some counties there'd be statues of him up by now!

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 26/05/2010 10:57:55    658590

I wonder how many of you have been at the end of sick racist remarks? (many of them from within Cork, I should add) and have continued with the game despite provocation? and not only that, have become a true legend in the game? (and also remember he is a dual star). Fair enough to disagree with him, he does not deserve deference. However, to sit behind a computer screen and attack him is cowardly. This is an open forum in the public domain where responsible adults are open to debate and open to disagree. Using it to slander somebody is infantile. Some of you should ask why you come on these forums. Is there something in your own lives that is deficient that you need to make sick remarks about others?

Sean Og is a real man. He is a human being above all, with flaws, like all of us.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 26/05/2010 11:05:04    658597

I have absolutely no doubt that most if not all of the posters who have criticised Sean Og have never met or spoke to the guy and are basing all their opinions on "what he said" in newspaper articles. The printed word looks a lot different then when its spoken, you can say something with a smile on your face and noone will take exception but print it on paper and it looks a lot different. For those who don't know him I can assure ye that Sean Og is an absolute gem of a lad. Fiercely patriotic, Fluent Irish Speaker, non drinker, gives all the time in the world to kids. Not unusual to see his team-mates showered and dressed and Sean Og still out on the field talking to kids and signing autographs. A Tipperary pal of mine who has a reasonably good grasp of Irish tells a story of how he passed Sean Og on a street in Dublin and for fun saluted him in Irish. Sean Og was so pleased to meet a fellow Irish Speaker he stopped in his tracks and began a major conversation. My pal was soon struggling to keep up as his Irish was not that good and was sorry for dropping himself into it. Anyhow he is one Tipp lad who doesn't have a bad word to say about Sean Og.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 26/05/2010 11:36:12    658633

Its easy to keep your head down and say nothing controversial, which kilkenny have made an art form of. No interaction with the press, no effort made. They might as well dig a moat around their county and pull up the drawbridge.

Brian Cody released a book , he should've called it "300 pages on how to say nothing" and then he charges extra for autographed copies.
It will be a tonic to the game of hurling when this KK team are finally beaten.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 26/05/2010 11:57:37    658665

CorkCelt

The printed word looks a lot different then when its spoken, you can say something with a smile on your face and noone will take exception but print it on paper and it looks a lot different

I completely agree. I would have a lot of time and respect for Sean Og but by now I'm sure he knows exactly how the printed word works. He's used it in his previous arguments just as he knows how it translates to the public eye. I wouldn't have any problem with the man himself but being out in the media as much as he has been over the last few years, he's got to be ready for the criticsm both constructive or otherwise that comes with it.
I don't think anyone can ask for more from the man for what he has contributed to the GAA over the last number of years but there are always people to have some sort of go at anyone who comes across at times as 'holier than thou'.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 26/05/2010 12:03:47    658676

TheGlensman wrote:

Dont disagree with last bit, great game. However 07 and o8 were 2 of the worst finals in living memory and did nothing to entice people towards the game, droves left long before the final whistle.

That's strange because I was at the 2007 final and I would estimate 60% of the crowd was still there to see Kilkenny get the trophy because it was a great occasion and also given the tragedy that struck Kilkenny in the run up to the game I think most Limerick people had respect for them receiving the cup.

Also, you say it was one of the worst finals in living memory and did nothing to entice people towards the game. Were you at the 1989 final then?

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/05/2010 12:15:27    658695

The strikes are ancient history at this stage. We should all be talking about the great match in store on Sunday. I can't wait. Actions speak louder than words so let Sean og, Liam sheedy or whoever talk all they like. Any play player who is not up to it come 4pm on Sunday will only find a hiding places I'm the stands and not on the field of play.

Hopefully the two mathces this weekend will be the first of many high quality and high intensity hurling matches this summer!!!

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 26/05/2010 12:21:30    658707

I have to say I think O'Hailpin has been a great servant to the game. Like many of the cork hurlers of the last few years he believed in something & stood up for it. Ya we didn't like their methods, but as a hurler he deserves respect.

And who knows HAG he might do his talking on the pitch on Sunday ........... I do think he might be a season or two past his best, but like he says lets not write him off, at least until after Sunday.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 26/05/2010 12:22:27    658712