Sean Og needs to do his talking on the pitch

Right I've great respect for him as a hurler, granted he has a high profile but why doos he always go to the media, he's having a bad run of form how's about shuting his mouth and do the talking on the pitch.

"But if anyone knows my history, I've been written off since I was a kid, when I got 'What the hell is this half-Fijian doing playing hurling?' I've been used to it for the last 20 years."

That's a ridiculous statement in my opinion, it's not like he moved over here as a 20 something year old and just picked up a hurley he's been playing since he was nee height of a grasshopper, and anyone that know's anything about hurling never wrote him off, he's lining himself up for a slating if he dosen't perform seems like attention seeking to me at this stage, you don't see the likes of henry shefflin waxing lyrical when they have dip in form.

Sean do what you do best.... HURLING!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 25/05/2010 12:26:38    657636

I agree with you Hag, he seems to be always shouting in the media about something or other. Seen the article but didnt even bother reading, I have heard enough from him at this stage. Great hurler but dont particularly like him to be honest.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 25/05/2010 13:10:25    657715

Bad form when you're talking about yourself in the third person.

Benandonner (Antrim) - Posts: 459 - 25/05/2010 13:14:53    657718

I'm with you both on this one. Him and Donal Og crave the media so much. About time both them did something on the pitch.

Give me the Stepford wives anyday. They go out and do the job on the pitch.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 13:18:33    657726

While i dont agree with many of his views, the mans character is beyond reproach. He is regularly in the media because journalists want to interview him and fair play he gives his time generously, having guys like him giving interviews to national papaers is only good in promoting the game and getting interest in the championship going. The GAA has absolutely no marketing of its games, and people wonder why there have been tiny crowds at the championship games so far

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 25/05/2010 13:20:23    657727

Hag

I think you will find that Sean came to Ireland when he was 11, and then he started playing GAA.

But agree, let him do his talking on the pitch, but if the media come to him asking questions,
do you expect him to tell them to f-off?

bogger from meath (Meath) - Posts: 226 - 25/05/2010 13:22:43    657731

All the criticism of the Cork hurlers appearances in the media remind me a lot of the criticism of the 'media hype' surrounding the Dublin footballers. These interviews and quotes appear in newspapers because the editors feel that their readership (not exclusively the GAA hardcore) is interested in them. I could court the media all I liked, but I don't think they'd ever bother quoting me.

For whatever reason, the media is more interested in Sean Og than in Henry Shefflin. O'hAlpin has a tendancy to speak his mind/make provocative statements, by contrast Shefflin is more reserved (until he retires at least). Niether one is 'right' or 'wrong,' merely different. I can tolerate that. It is not for me to say what either one 'should' or 'shouldn't' do.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 25/05/2010 13:25:36    657737

I think you're spot on Hag... Sean Og has always been badly let down by his gob!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 25/05/2010 13:27:47    657744

Totally agree HAG, Sean is turning into the Gary Neville of Hurling!!

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 25/05/2010 13:36:56    657756

same old same old by him

kerryhurling (Kerry) - Posts: 274 - 25/05/2010 13:38:01    657759

Great hurler, but agreed he is to mouthy got. He seems to think he is bigger than the game and the whole Gaa should revolve around him and what he has to say.

In his defence though his agent is probably trying to keep his picture in the paper so to keep his profile to the max but there is such thing as over exposure.....people get sick of it fairly fast.

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 25/05/2010 13:38:59    657761

Is this not becoming the norm with Cork players? A lot seem to have plenty to say & like the limelight.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 25/05/2010 14:08:09    657819

Could you imagine if THEY had been going for 5 in a row? Holy God!

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 25/05/2010 14:20:02    657832

Pudders to be fair to Cork when they were going for 3 in a row in 2006 the media made far more of it than Cork did themselves. I remember John Allen being interviewed and for about a minute he tried to fend off questions about 3 in a row with 'it's just another game', 'we'll see at the final whistle' but Marty Morrissey would not let it go & eventually Allen said it would be great to emulate the 76-78 side and there & then the headline was written for Cork's fall.

I've great respect for any side that can come back & defend their title, so respect to Cork for their 04/05 wins. And massive respect to Kilkenny of course!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 25/05/2010 14:36:34    657854

I don't think he should be criticised for giving his opinion. In an age where most GAA players are sending their mothers to the phone to speak to journalists I don't think we should criticise someone for giving an interview during the season. You'll watch interview after interview this season and roll your eyes to heaven when you hear another manager/player answer a question from the usual list of cliches and ask why he couldn't give his honest opinion. Sean Og has done that and your criticising him for it.

That said, there is no excuse to refer to yourself in the third person!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 25/05/2010 14:36:38    657855

Its Sean Og this week it was Donal Og last week..Great player and has been down through the years..But I do feel his pace is gone..and hopefully sun Lar will expose it!!!

PremierView (Tipperary) - Posts: 110 - 25/05/2010 14:44:49    657873

Sean og has a personality, I know the idea of a hurler having a personality may be a shock to people. In this day and age where the popularity of hurling is suffering because of the current champions and their utter dryness, theyre resemblance to robots fresh from the production line.

Most people even hurling people would struggle to recognise any of the kilkenny players except Sheflin. Yet Sean og is a household name even to those with no interest in hurling. Competition from other sports is increasing, and that battle won't be won on the pitch, it will be won by ambassadors of the game like Sean og.

Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 25/05/2010 14:58:10    657898

dont worry, both sean og and donal og will soon be retired and gone out of our lives for good. I cant wait

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 25/05/2010 15:03:45    657905

I don't see the harm to be honest, he is more appealing to the media than most other hurlers out there at the moment and to be fair the excitement and appeal that the O'Hailpin family brought to the game has only done it good! You will always have the people that will knock him mostly due to his success and the fact that he is playing for Cork! I still think there was more excitement about that Cork team in 03/04/05 than there is now with this KK team despite the fact that the KK team is more successful, and id put it down to the shear dullness(they could be the most interesting people on earth, but we don't know!) or maybe lack of interaction with the media that this KK team seem to have, basically I don't really care what Tommy Walsh has to say for himself as I bet its textbook stuff which offers little insight to anything. So maybe Sean Og's interview's should be looked at as a positive as they can increase the overall interest in a team. The great Clare team also seemed to have a greater level of appeal associated with them as they had more characters on the team, i think these players are very important for the promotion of the game. I for one like this sort of interaction and think it does little harm, its up to him now to back himself up and fight for his place.
Cork have overdone it in the past few years but I don't think these latest remarks are anything unwanted or unneeded. It will be interesting to see how he goes this year though, it seems he has a lot of work to do.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 25/05/2010 15:08:24    657912

He should only conduct his interviews in Irish I reckon. Some of the begrudgers wouldn't be able to pass comment on him then as they wouldn't have a clue what he's said.

Though he does seem to have a lot to say.

Dun do bheal agus na bi ag caint.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 25/05/2010 15:23:07    657950