Walking up the hilly streets of Clones.......

A day in Clones at the Ulster final is an atmosphere to savour, standing outside the Creighton with pint in hand soaking up the craic and the banter. A dander up the hill hearing the noise get louder and louder, I'm there already (in spirit that is) Pity about the drive home, it truly is a bugger no matter what road you take.

caughtredhanded (Tyrone) - Posts: 602 - 21/05/2010 14:30:00    654593

Nothing but bad memories of the place

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 550 - 21/05/2010 14:41:51    654608

Nothing but bad memories of the place

trimmer (Meath) - Posts: 550 - 21/05/2010 14:41:55    654611

Had more downs than ups in Clones but it is still my Mecca !! Have great memories and can still remember the old names of some of the pubs from years back. Have rarely seen a row there and this says much about the G.A.A. family who know how to behave and can mix together and give the banter the way it should be given. Over the years i have sat beside lads from every county in Ulster and beyond and have slagged and taken a slagging before shaking hands and wishing the victor or losers the best of luck in the future. We have an organisation and a G.A.A. family to be proud of. It is unique and long may it last !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 21/05/2010 14:41:55    654612

Well now joseff, for the amounts of days out Louth gave their supporters you will not have to worry about it

MUINEACHAN ABU

Wouldnt i be correct in saying the last time Louth were in Clones, they wiped the floor with Monaghan in the qualifiers.

Yours In Sport,
Joseff

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 21/05/2010 14:48:45    654630

ochonlir

I did state before i wouldnt reply to you before, i stand by my word.

Yours In Sport,
Joseff

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 21/05/2010 14:50:07    654635

Don't agree, the place is too far away and simply isn't up to the task. Ulster finals should be held in Tyrone, the spiritual home of Ulster GAA. Plunkett Park is ready to open it's doors to you all

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 21/05/2010 14:53:52    654649

joseff it's the former

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/05/2010 15:04:39    654679

your're the same pomeroy who wouldn't know a good footballer if you fell into a bucket full of gooches

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 21/05/2010 15:07:30    654684

the same atmosphere counld be said for caslebar,thurlas or back in the days when tuam was the home of galway football

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11656 - 21/05/2010 16:04:58    654771

The smell of red hot fat.. Rubbish all over the streets, the smell of spilt beer on the street... stickyness as you step on some Tomato sauce that fell out of a burger... No I dont want to buy some gone off mars bars thank you... no I dont want a Cowboy hat!

Ah yes this filth of match day!

Oh feck.. there goes my bi-polar alarm!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/05/2010 16:30:28    654810

The smell of red hot fat.. Rubbish all over the streets, the smell of spilt beer on the street... stickyness as you step on some Tomato sauce that fell out of a burger... No I dont want to buy some gone off mars bars thank you... no I dont want a Cowboy hat!

you forgot about that not to be missed accessory that every supporter needs for match day the two colour in twinned wool neck scarf or wrist strap special match day offer 2 for 1 euro bargain lol.

DynamoDooher (Tyrone) - Posts: 423 - 21/05/2010 16:56:46    654837

Indeed its a brilliant spot. Playing on it is also super

Lofty (Monaghan) - Posts: 727 - 21/05/2010 17:18:30    654874

DynamoDooher

654837 jimbodub

you forgot about that not to be missed accessory that every supporter needs for match day the two colour in twinned wool neck scarf or wrist strap special match day offer 2 for 1 euro bargain lol.

Oh yeah! :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 21/05/2010 17:28:52    654886

When it's not always raining there'll be days like this
When there's no one complaining there'll be days like this
When everything falls into place like the flick of a switch
Well my mama told me there'll be days like this

When you don't need to worry there'll be days like this
When no one's in a hurry there'll be days like this
When you don't get betrayed by that old Judas kiss
Oh my mama told me there'll be days like this

When you don't need an answer there'll be days like this
When you don't meet a chancer there'll be days like this
When all the parts of the puzzle start to look like they fit
Then I must remember there'll be days like this

When everyone is up front and they're not playing tricks
When you don't have no freeloaders out to get their kicks
When it's nobody's business the way that you wanna live
I just have to remember there'll be days like this

When no one steps on my dreams there'll be days like this
When people understand what I mean there'll be days like this
When you ring out the changes of how everything is
Well my mama told me there'll be days like this

Oh my mama told me
There'll be days like this
Oh my mama told me

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/05/2010 18:23:05    654949

MuineachanAbu
County: Monaghan

I can remember as a young gason being taken to clones for Monaghan s games.

They used to be quite intelligent in Monaghan and played the games in castleblaney and elsewhere.

I suppose the Ulster council forced them to go to Clones.

So if you live in Monaghan town it would now take about three hours to get home.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/05/2010 20:24:42    655033

MuineachanAbu
County: Monaghan

I can remember as a young gason being taken to clones for Monaghan s games.

They used to be quite intelligent in Monaghan and played the games in Castleblaney and elsewhere.

I suppose the Ulster council forced them to go to Clones.

So if you live in Monaghan town it would now take about three hours to get home.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/05/2010 20:24:51    655034

Sorry but duno how yas found so many good things to say about that place, no good memories from there

conor12 (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 21/05/2010 20:50:34    655048

conor12

Sorry but duno how yas found so many good things to say about that place, no good memories from there

Maybe you got to be an Ulsterman/woman to enjoy the Ulster Championship in clones, I do

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/05/2010 21:05:21    655059

I prefer the walk in I hope that changes for me and my fellow Cavanmen this year!

ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 22/05/2010 16:41:00    655395