Fashion Trends with Young Players

Royal_Girl2k9

652892 A lot of it is because there's girls around.

Getting all that attention from the chicks is a hassle, let me tell you :-(

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 20/05/2010 09:13:35    652938

I wear cycling shorts cause there comfortable and I had a bit of trouble with my groin at the start of the year, they definately help me

weered92 (Derry) - Posts: 296 - 20/05/2010 09:25:54    652950

KerryKerry - believe you me the guy I'm talking about would have put the nonsense out of Galvin very quickly on the field... ;-)

Dr Shephard - its not the Body vests I'm referring to. Its the full body suits that make it look like the guy is wearing tights! Jaysus, I know we're not the hottest climate in the world but I saw two of our guys lining out two weeks ago with them on and I was actually embarrassed. Maybe I'm getting old!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/05/2010 09:42:20    652974

pass_it
County: Longford

652614 I was at a juvenile game recently . I was shocked at the number of 'posers' as they are called that were playing . It seems to me that these days players are more worried about how they look and not how they play . White socks over their club socks,jersey sleeves taped up,white tape around their wrists etc. I also saw some of them fold over the top of their shorts to make them smaller...what is the benefit of this? Also alot of players wear under shorts now? is there any advantage to wearing them or is it to look good like most other things? Back in my day you were lucky to be wearing togs and socks and didnt care how you looked... Whats happenned since then?

You enjoyed watching them, didnt you.................

Mikeynora (Limerick) - Posts: 888 - 20/05/2010 09:43:45    652976

some people love to complain about everything. so what if their good footballers who cares. how boring it would be if we all dressed and looked the same

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11566 - 20/05/2010 09:45:53    652977

Sure whats the harm in wearing them, sounds like you boys think were gay! Some boys do go over the top though I'll admit

weered92 (Derry) - Posts: 296 - 20/05/2010 09:59:22    652980

Forget bicycle shorts or jocks. Commando all the way every game for me. I take to the field feeling way more dynamic with a natural body cooling system in place.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9765 - 20/05/2010 10:15:48    652995

Some lads go over the top, theres no doubt about that...i suppose u get over it when they are good footballers but some of em aren't and are way more interested in lookin well rather than playing well. I know a guy that used to put (probably still does!) oil on the back of his legs before matches...like come on that's unbelieveable!i remember one time when a few girls he met at Irish College visited him..we had a match...u should have seen the amount of oil and hair gel he put on that evenin..sickening stuff!dont know what he's at now but wouldnt be surprised if he retired long ago and he's no more than 27/28...and the worst thing is he was a very good player when he wanted to be!and slightly related to this matter regarding youngfellas and their interest in football/hurling:

Would ye agree that you have fair idea around U16 what players will quit at 20/21 and who will stay at it??

JGiles (Limerick) - Posts: 88 - 20/05/2010 10:33:55    653005

Black boots for me.
Some of the lads wear those body suits, they say it helps with the hamstrings, personally i think they look ridiculous.
Id tape my left wrist the odd time for hurling as it gives me a bit more support. No white tape though, just that skin coloured elastoplast stuff.

bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 20/05/2010 11:03:46    653036

Lockjaw

652995 Forget bicycle shorts or jocks. Commando all the way every game for me. I take to the field feeling way more dynamic with a natural body cooling system in place.

Ha - good man lockjaw. At least nowadays you could probably get away with it due to the longer shorts. Remember playing in the old short shorts and running up the field soloing the ball when the lad popped out and started swinging around. Talk about a Catch-22 - do you try and get it back in or keep on going. Needless to say I did the latter much to the delight of a couple of the ladies on the sideline.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/05/2010 11:16:57    653061

The likes of this thread is what is wrong with the GAA. What difference does it make what any player looks like going out on the pitch.Get on with the game and focus on yourself and let other people do what they want.Most of the issue here is that people are jealous of some of these players who wear white boots and are able to carry them off.For the record I don't take part in such flamboyance but niether do I have a problem with it. Grow up lads.

maigh_eo (Mayo) - Posts: 1346 - 20/05/2010 11:19:12    653065

If its fashion they're in to then let them find a catwalk....

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/05/2010 11:34:05    653087

20/05/2010 10:15:48
Lockjaw

652995 Forget bicycle shorts or jocks. Commando all the way every game for me. I take to the field feeling way more dynamic with a natural body cooling system in place.

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 20/05/2010 11:49:20    653111

I'm 37, still playing and couldn't give a toss if the 17 yr old half back is wearing spandex so long as he gives me the ball when and where I want it. Don't be such a grumpy old fart, sounds like your jealous of youth itself. Take a look at some of the old photos in your club house, we have a few going back to the 20s, 30s 40s etc. I can tell you one thing, there was a load more gloop going in the hair back then than there is now. If it helps to glamourize football and hurling in the eyes of young lads let them at it....next you'll be wanting to re-introduce the 'ban'.

RUBADUB (Dublin) - Posts: 477 - 20/05/2010 12:25:28    653178

Theres no need for that sort of chat men!

legend 44 (Cavan) - Posts: 154 - 20/05/2010 12:26:59    653180

Not at all madasbutter, sure why would I be nervous going on to the field???

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9765 - 20/05/2010 12:55:54    653227

What 'ban' you talking about RUBADUB?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 20/05/2010 12:59:50    653237

I at 16 was 6 foot and about 15 stone, mostly muscle especially my legs and shoulders. I used to wear shorter shorts and put Vaseline on them cause of lads holding them, I also used to turn off the sleeves and have the Jersey well tucked in so that if it was pulled it was more obvious! I used to wear the tape on my left wrist, and down over my thumb (to stop it dislocating used to happen quite often) so I would have been seen to be poncy but I was the type of hurler who was there to keep the ball moving and not let the centre back dominate. So in a word I was physical! Bearing that in mind in football I was the free taker and main forward and a bit more poncy in football! You can't always label people wearing similar items as the same!

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 20/05/2010 13:13:20    653264

Offside_Rule

What 'ban' you talking about RUBADUB?

Ban on playing or watching foreign sports

RUBADUB (Dublin) - Posts: 477 - 21/05/2010 12:47:32    654445

Will still never forget seeing a kid in an U-10 match (or possibly U-12, not sure) with a knee bandage!! Never laughed as hard to be honest!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/05/2010 13:28:54    654494