Best and Worst Moments as a Mayo Supporter

96 Final. I was standing in the canal end and it was level with a couple of minutes to go. Casey was about 12 yards out and one on one with a defender with Tom Collins inside him, all he had to do was fist it over the bar but he bottled it and passed inside to Collins who was smoothered. Cost us the All-Ireland that day, never so gutted

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 03/07/2008 10:13:21    42157

Sadaam, who the hell was Tom Collins? and what was he doing playing for Mayo in the 1996 All Ireland final.

ontheroad (None) - Posts: 530 - 03/07/2008 11:54:10    42272

i may have the name wrong, he was brought on in the last few minutes, blondie hair, the first thing he done when he came on was to flatten the meath back. Can anyone help with the name?

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 03/07/2008 12:28:37    42308

Rickyknowsbest

39192 Best moment at to be in '96 when we kicked Meaths ass in that all-in brawl...I never seen men stand their ground and win so comprehensively....especially considering Meath started it. I was never as proud to be a Mayo man..Pat McEananey left a sour taste by sending off our best player and Meaths worst. Shocking decision which realistically cost us Sam. End of
.................................................................................................
Watch this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uNUhsUOVIpU

At 47 seconds it shows two mayo men on the ground. No one from Meath stayed on the deck.
At 1 minute 28 it shows Tommy Dowd lifting Sam.
Im glad you can stack this All on Bad refereeing, after all it was the referee who told Liam Mc Hale to run 3/4 of the pitch to get involved.
Moral victories and coming second arent part of the physche of Meath.
If were rubbish at least we accept it.

The Bullockman (None) - Posts: 55 - 03/07/2008 12:55:50    42337

tom reilly

the deel rover (None) - Posts: 23 - 03/07/2008 12:56:18    42339

Tom Reilly who used to play for castlebar

the deel rover (None) - Posts: 23 - 03/07/2008 13:08:13    42356

It was Tom Reilly.

Best moment was beating Tyrone in '89 to reach our first final in 38 years. Worst was losing to the Rossies in the Hyde in 2001 Connaught Final.

Maigh Eo Abú!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7959 - 03/07/2008 13:33:37    42369

saddam,

He was a Tommy Reilly I think... Cant remember what club he was from tho...

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 03/07/2008 13:54:38    42378

Tom Reilly was the man in question i think. Shockin to think he was there ahead of kevin O'Neil but such is life. How he didnt get sent off for clockin mark o'reilly straight away i'll never know.
Definitely the worst day as a mayo supporter for me was the replay and seeing kenny mort slip and brendan reilly tap the ball over; cried my eyes out on the way out of the canal end. A close second was seeing that ball hop over the bar in the drawn game- almost happened in slow-motion. Third would have been losing '04.
Best day is a 3-way tie with days already listed; that rather damp day in tuam when we did a minor-senior double in '99, beating tyrone in '04, beating dublin in '06 in a thriller.

don_juan (Mayo) - Posts: 26 - 03/07/2008 14:16:36    42390

96, that kick from reilly is still in my mind, 97 was a tactical disaster, beaten by one man, and 06 was pretty raw, i was expecting more of a fight from the lads.
Best moments were tyrone in 04 and dublin in 06,galway in 99 was very special too. Also delighted when jom came back, think we will all have some very happy memories of his reign.

mayolight (Mayo) - Posts: 79 - 03/07/2008 17:58:38    42588

Best Moments : 2006 Semi v Dublin and any win v Galway, watching C Mc score at will in Tuam,

Funniest Moment: Reading programme years ago before Rossie match and noting Jimmy Burke was out with injury to his back sustained "Pulling a Calf" priceless !!

Worst Moment , 89, 96, 97, 2004 and humiliation of 2006 and wondering afterwards were Mayo that bad !!

SentOff (Mayo) - Posts: 3 - 04/07/2008 11:45:18    42879

Cop on to your self "yides".You find it hard to forgive David Nestor!!That man gave his all everytime he put on the Mayo jersy. He can look back with pride in the way he served his county ,by the way he was just after scoring the goal that put us two points up.

footballcountry (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 04/07/2008 13:40:12    42980

footballcountry
Cop on to your self "yides".You find it hard to forgive David Nestor!!That man gave his all everytime he put on the Mayo jersy. He can look back with pride in the way he served his county ,by the way he was just after scoring the goal that put us two points up.

Your right there footballcountry but what i realaise here is that people have short memories allways quick to put the boot into players who have given their all for playing for their county sometimes you would wonder why they bother at all

the deel rover (None) - Posts: 23 - 04/07/2008 14:39:46    43028

Worst moment: 2006 Best moment: Brady putting whelan on his behind

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 04/07/2008 16:30:44    43148

To Bulluckman

Maughan had warned every player not to get into a fight. He said if anything kicked off everyone was to get involved but no slaps. Obviously it was a huge miscalculation as was our Mayo friend commenting that we hammered yee in the fight. Also the youtube clip is restricted and doesnt involve all the players but your point is taken and backed up fair play. The point is McHale did run half the pitch to get involved, how the hell did everybody else get there apart from the three Mayo forwards and 3 Meath backs and goaly??? Was not by bus!Its fair to say McHale was unlucky to get sent off (jsus how many times has this been said) but the Meath boy had dropped three Mayo lads infront of the Umpire and was def going!

Mayo89 (None) - Posts: 159 - 04/07/2008 16:40:22    43160

best ............................ the week before the finals of 89,96,97,04 & 06

full house days in mchale park beating galway

the support that mayo bring to matches

worst ................................. type of defeat in 04,,and 06 and the bad language abuse some 'fans' shout in front of kids (these guys think they're funny but ya know they would'nt kick snow of a rope themselves)

voiceofreason (Mayo) - Posts: 588 - 08/07/2008 14:02:21    44773

all moments as a mayo supporter are a honor, there are no good monments no bad moments just great monements, what a priveledge to be froma county that epitomised the dreams of those great men in thurles all those years ago

ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 08/07/2008 14:16:33    44794

I am a ``blow in ``from the ``Eastlands``,although Mayo is a long time waiting for Sam.the time will come make no mistake.Cant say when,but with O Mahoney at the helm the next chance will be taken convincingly and comprehensively with no regrets or ``post mortems.Meanwhile Mayo has made a great contribution to ``proper``football and the long suffering fans are a credit.

Brinsley Swartz (Mayo) - Posts: 2225 - 08/07/2008 14:41:30    44837

The Rossies 2001.Painful day,very painful day.

AdamG (Mayo) - Posts: 309 - 09/07/2008 22:35:42    46004

Surely you dont remember that Adam, after all you were only 6... You did say on the main page that you are 13, no?

essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 10/07/2008 11:02:59    46159