Ok So we haven't won Sam since 51 and our shortcomings on all ireland final days have been very well documented u only have to look at these forums and citicise an another county and the defeats to Kerry are rolling off their tounge but..... there has been some excellent days in search of the HOLY GRAIL. So what day made you so pround and happy to be a mayo supporter that you could brust was it maybe the great semi final wins over Kerry and Dublin tyrone 89, the quarter final win over tyrone, finally breaking the tuam hoodoo!! one of those games where much fancied galway teams made their way to castlebar only to be brought to ground by the mighty green and red, or maybe not even a senior moment the victory over Cork in the U-21 final or maybe the minor voctory of 85 whatever the reason or whenever it was share!!!!!! Maybe it was the people you met and other supprters that made it extra sepcial???Or even your first mayo match or visit to Croke Park On the other side what was the most crushing moment where u thought God was punishing you and were thinking why us??? Any one of the all ireland defeats?? The big defeats by kerry, the ball hopping over the bar or reillys last point for meath 96 that 97 all ireland when u just knew with all the huffing and puffing that kerry could just up a gear and put u out of your misery. The famous 89 final!!! The bad days visiting Tuam stadium to be on the end of another defeat or another connaught defeat or maybe some of our really bad displays in the qualifiers?? Maybe the people u met those days made that experience even worse wheather it personal or purely football What was the best and worst........ For me The worst - 1993 All ireland Semi final Cork 5-15 Mayo 10 Never forget this day as long as i live the trip up was awful then goals started to rain in on mayo and i thought it would never be over the arrogance of the Cork Supporters is something i have never experienced in GAA before that or since and the trip home god almighty don't think i spoke one word was so deflated and the old road where the trip to mayo seemed to take 10 hours the giving out and analysing of the game in the car, really bad experience never want to revisit it again. The Best Mayo v Dublin 2006 - What a game!!! the character shown in that second half amazing the feeling at full time was brillant was meant to be going back to england that night but headed west. Never forget it What a game What a day What a night!!!!! yides (Mayo) - Posts: 15 - 26/06/2008 13:11:25 38474 Link 0 |
Worst: 10 minutes into the 2006 final. My God not again!! Semis V Cork in 95 & 99 also a disaster unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1223 - 26/06/2008 16:11:46 38677 Link 0 |
Totally agree with last comment :) Beatin Galway by 4 points in Tuam. James Horan kicked four that day :) Stood in a foot of water behind the goal, well worth it though :) TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 26/06/2008 16:40:29 38721 Link 0 |
Beating all ireland champions Tyrone in '04 has to be up there with the best. After Fermanagh beat Armagh, I thought there couldnt be another shock like that...... made it even better. essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 26/06/2008 16:58:22 38747 Link 0 |
I cried my eyes out on the pitch in Croke Park in 1996 at the canal end goal watching Meath lift the Sam McGuire. AbbeyCider (Mayo) - Posts: 16 - 27/06/2008 09:38:46 38959 Link 0 |
Where do ya begin. mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 27/06/2008 10:16:18 38978 Link 0 |
every moment as a mayo supporter is a devine priviledge there are no bad moments ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 27/06/2008 10:52:14 39021 Link 0 |
mayonews, essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 27/06/2008 11:02:00 39040 Link 0 |
Spot on essex thought it might have been alright i think peter ford was captain that day. a rossie player just pulled down the goalpost for no reason...priceless. mayonews (Mayo) - Posts: 254 - 27/06/2008 11:45:30 39078 Link 0 |
Ya it was the 92'. A horrible match. The Rossie player(cant remember who) just jumped up to swing off it as you see regulary and down it came. Was sitting right behind it. Was only 10-11 and thought it was the funniest thing I had ever seen. It actually made the "what happened next" part on Question of Sport one night too. JamesMayo (Mayo) - Posts: 126 - 27/06/2008 12:50:17 39138 Link 0 |
Another favourite memory was the great Jimmy Burke "heading" the ball into the net against Roscommon. Not sure what year it was. Was a bit young. Could have been 89' actually. From what I can remember there was a scramble around the goal. Jimmy was on the ground and someone kicked the ball. It hit his head and went into the net. In those few years Roscommon were the big treat in Connacht. Funny moment. If Jimmy hadnt swallowed his tounge in that 89' final it could have been a different story. He was having a great game against Cork. JamesMayo (Mayo) - Posts: 126 - 27/06/2008 12:58:06 39143 Link 0 |
Proudest moment as a Mayo man was ; prior to the 96 All Ireland Mary Robinson the " Mayo President "being introduced to the Mayo team by Captain Noel Connelly. The roar of the crowd the flags waving the anticapition we were bursting with pride. albany (Mayo) - Posts: 45 - 27/06/2008 13:01:29 39149 Link 0 |
Good topic-being a mayo supporter is a rollercoaster all the time. my favourite moment would have to be 04 when we beat galway in castlebar. there was a galway supporter behind us with a straw hat on. Galway were well on top for the first 15 minutes and mayo kicked some bad wides in that period, but to each wide and galway score he kept shouting "this is the mayo wave" while he was waving his hands over head mimicking a wide call. when galway were 3 points up he shouted this again to which my brother responded quick as a flash "this is ur galway wave" while gesturing a sign with his hand. the whole section of the stand heard it and started busting with laughter (it was unusually quiet at that point in the game) but it really seemed to perk up the mayo supporters. mayo went on to win the the match by 5 points. it was a turnaround almost as good as the dublin 06 match. and the galway supporter had his hat taken off his head and lads were beating him with it-but it was all great banter and craic as it usually is with galway (especially) + GAA supporters. the worst moment (besides the obvious 96, 97, 04 and 06) was seeing the face of my best mate when he + the team lost the 99 minor AI final to Down. he was destroyed. will never forget it-all that effort he put in. after that 04 and 06 were not that bad to swallow. also any moment where the players are being abused makes me sick more than the lost AI's TylerDurden (Mayo) - Posts: 155 - 27/06/2008 13:53:32 39184 Link 0 |
Best moment at to be in '96 when we kicked Meaths ass in that all-in brawl...I never seen men stand their ground and win so comprehensively....especially considering Meath started it. I was never as proud to be a Mayo man..Pat McEananey left a sour taste by sending off our best player and Meaths worst. Shocking decision which realistically cost us Sam. End of Rickyknowsbest (Mayo) - Posts: 54 - 27/06/2008 13:58:24 39192 Link 0 |
Crossbar Cross-Examine (Mayo) - Posts: 17 - 27/06/2008 14:27:49 39225 Link 0 |
Re: Crossbar essexile (Mayo) - Posts: 429 - 27/06/2008 15:22:12 39282 Link 0 |
Undobtedly, mayo football has had many a bad memory, unfortunately and for so many people regretably so. i must say that i have three personal horrible memories of mayo games as a supporter and loyal follower. the first one being in hyde park and beaten by Roscommonwith that last minute goal in '03 i think... it was absolutely sickening feeling driving all the way home in the car. i dont want to have sour grapes, but, we were robbed that day i felt. the other being the all-ireland final of '06. standing in the hill and going to the game with such excitement and honest to god belief we had a great chance of turning kerry over that day... my heart dropped heavy in croker that afternoon. the final and most heart wrenching moment of football was eventually losing to meath after a replay in'96. another day we were robbed but let meath back into the game. when that ball hopped in front of john madden and over the bar i felt physically sick. so close but yet so far. i still remember going outside the house and crying for about 10 minutes after. so close but yet so far... The Ultimate Story of Mayo Football. ja_mayo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 28/06/2008 01:20:48 39426 Link 0 |
Was actually talking about that Ross game yesterday to a mate. After getting what seemed to be a last minute winning goal... Heart breaking. I think the ref played a little over the limit that day. We were, infact, robbed. TheRevolution (Mayo) - Posts: 487 - 28/06/2008 14:55:55 39498 Link 0 |
Best: MaighEo Forever (Kildare) - Posts: 2 - 29/06/2008 22:04:38 39676 Link 0 |
The Revolution - Bloody forgot that horrible memory of losing to Ros in Connaught final. Robbed maybe but if so by our own man David Nestor, all he had to do was catch the ball that came to him chest high and we would have won but he tried to be smart and punch it over the defenders head and then run onto to it - who in the hell did he think he was????? I still find it hard to forgive...:O( yides (Mayo) - Posts: 15 - 03/07/2008 09:28:47 42125 Link 0 |