Armagh and Derry- Worst Game Ever

Even the most biased Brolly couldnt put any shine on that nonsense- lads if that was the first round of the McKenna Cup it would still be disgraceful- there isnt an average team between Derry and Armagh- if its not puke what is it? It was hillarious Brolly could only talk about Tyrone cause he had nothing to say about these two non existent teams- imagine to think that these supposed footballers are training all year- what a total embarassment and this is supposed to be championship football, typical off the ball assaults, free for alls, goading im at the stage now where im asking is there one honest to god hardman in Ulster football- alas their isnt Sean Cavanagh would be the nearest and we all know what he makes of Mickey Hartes portfolios on opposition players and their personal circumstances

liathroidboy (Mayo) - Posts: 4921 - 16/05/2010 20:08:30    648889

One of the Worst ive seen worser...

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 16/05/2010 20:20:30    648908

Maybe you can ridicule other matches when Mayo actually come close to beating a decent team.

Armaghgeddon (Armagh) - Posts: 539 - 16/05/2010 20:27:34    648926

ah catch yourselves on...free for alls?...one skirmish on the sideline...goading?..where?...not armaghs fault they came up against a limited derry team...an excellent defensive performance by armagh especially in the last 15 mins..limiting derry to a last minute point...a joy to watch such excellent defending and good tackling and turnovers...not like the insipid defending in thurles...and what about the card fest in wicklow-carlow game..why no comment on that?..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/05/2010 20:31:34    648932

Is there one hardman in ulster football????????????one things for sure ,youll not find any hardmen in the 15 mayo men that took the field in croke park a fortnight ago!mayo????????bottlers..slither on back to that irrelevant province that you come from!

orchardman (Armagh) - Posts: 158 - 16/05/2010 20:33:28    648937

good man orchardman...i've been to a few connacht finals where both teams stand back and don't even tackle..the art of defending is non-existent in connacht...witness mayo's display against cork

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/05/2010 20:36:07    648944

Ball-boy

As we all know a first round of the championship masterclass with a thumping of the opposition whilst playing the beautiful game as an art form
is the only way to take a first step towards September glory.

In reality probably any one of the last 20 odd winners of the all Ireland scraped through a dour affair in the early days of the championship.

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 16/05/2010 20:44:26    648956

I see the anti Ulster football has raised it's head again. As Joe Brolly put it to Pat Spillane there is two teams in Munster Kerry n Cork and the rest are no where near competin. Connacht you have Galway n Mayo albeit possibly Sligo, Leinster you have the Dubs, Kildare n Meath. Now in Ulster at the start of the season you have Derry, Armagh, Donegal, Tyrone, Down and Monaghan all realistic Ulster Championship contenders. Now you explain to me how you are going to get opena and attractive championship matches in Ulster. It's a dog eat dog scenario and believe me it frustrates the hell out of me aswell. I've stuck by Derrry through the good times and the bad and I will continue to do so as I take pride in following my county and believe me it hurts like hell sitting here listening and reading through the post match analysis and there is nothing constructive or positive being said about your county.

The way forward is an open draw and you get whoever comes your away. In Ulster the teams are getting too familiar with each other and it destroying the championship.

OakGael (Derry) - Posts: 293 - 16/05/2010 20:44:48    648957

Armaghs a decent enuf side, Paddy O'Rourke has got them playing well, fair play to paddy, Armagh needed someone with a bit of county experience, you could see where they were coming from.

Atticalllegends (Down) - Posts: 96 - 16/05/2010 20:47:54    648967

Tyrone v Dublin 2008 was terrible Dublin used the excuse that the rain was to blame but we all know it was the same for both teams!

DynamoDooher (Tyrone) - Posts: 423 - 16/05/2010 20:49:24    648971

It was not the the greatest of games to watch.Armagh defensively smoothered a bad derry team referee was poor bad decisions and new rules dont help.Lets not forget it was just the 1st game of the championship lets not get carried away an hope things spice up abit...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 16/05/2010 20:52:11    648975

very very very bad game. poison to the eyes

london4sam (UK) - Posts: 63 - 16/05/2010 20:53:28    648976

oak gael...you are in the open draw now, so you've got what you want...what type of open draw do you want...sure we alrady have one...starting in july...i can't understand this whinging about an open draw...well damien cassidy has got what he wished for

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/05/2010 20:57:59    648987

ah come on, it was horrible to watch, as the face of the television opening round championship, It was horrible. If I was in from another country watching that today I would wondering if its a new form of rugby.

As for the anti north debate, seriously, ye have to admit that it was abysmal

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 16/05/2010 20:58:10    648989

It was o poor enough game npt helped by one of the big whistlers in the game far to many soft frees for my liking.Derry were very poor and when Eoin Bradley was sent of there was no way back for them.As for Armagh they are the perfect example for any gaa team,they keep battling away till the final whistle.

ruthless (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 16/05/2010 20:59:35    648993

Mayo v Roscommon last year was even worse

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 16/05/2010 21:05:19    649005

it was a classic one of the best games ever

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/05/2010 21:13:56    649015

What were you kids expecting? armagh vs derry first round of the USFC. That display was always gonna be the case. ps. im a doire man.

RandyDupree (USA) - Posts: 38 - 16/05/2010 21:17:52    649023

A poor quality game but Armagh won't care about that. Paddy O'Rourke said at the end of the game today was all about winning and that's what they did - fair play to them. Should be a tasty encounter with Monaghan next

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 16/05/2010 21:18:55    649025

Mayo v Roscommon last year was even worse

I agree, Mayo were awful that day.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 16/05/2010 21:19:55    649026