Seventies Dubs had wow factor

bad.monkey - your right I stand corrected, it was Mickey Ned not Pat that the Dubs tried to hospitalise. That said the points made are a valid counter argument to some of the earlier posts that make 70's Dubs sound like the Gaelic Football equivalent of the Harlem Globetrotters. There was little free flowing flowing football in them - they were more likely to make records for the number of frees conceded in a game.

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 30/04/2010 14:17:13    634707

hurlingdub - as I said in that era the Kerrymen were the only ones fit enough to give ya a dose of your own medicine. Whilst we are on history, it was of course Dublin who took out John Tobin within the first two minutes of the '74 final. But then again, the Dubs of that time were great ones for getting their retaliation in first! Just accept it for those of us (from outside Dublin) who witnessed that team, their legacy is tainted.

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 30/04/2010 14:25:45    634715

I saw that team many times and Dublin/Kerry games were relatively tame. Roughest games I saw involved yourselves, Offaly, Laois and Wexford. Dublin were well able to look after themselves and they had to be because certain teams thought they could do to Dublin what they thought they had done to the teams Heffo had played on in the 50s when Dublin were literally beaten out of games by inferior teams of thugs. Oh, and if you want an example of a really dirty game have a look at Offaly and Galway in 1972!!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/04/2010 14:36:29    634731

hurlingdub, I was at the 72 Final and it was tame fare when compared to the apostles performance in '83 - I don't recall anyone getting lamped and his jaw broken as he walked through the tunnel at half-time.

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 30/04/2010 14:42:45    634741

It's utter nonsense to suggest that the 70's Dubs "saved Gaelic football" or to say that team had the "wow" factor - they certainly had the "pow" factor. They were a hard & physical (some might say dirty) team that sought to impose themselves on the opposition. My best memory of them is seeing their backs trying to decapitate Pat Spillane in a AI Final. They will always be in the shadow of that great Kerry team; who were beyond any doubt the best team that I had the privilege of seeing.

I will accept that the Dubs of that era had good footballers - David Hickey was a class act, but too many of them were more interested in inflicting pain than playing football. That Kerry team were the only ones able to stand up to them and if necessary give them a taste of their own medicine.

Very interesting statement coming from a galway man about the dubs being interested in inflicting pain. galway tried that in 1983 with brian talty and peter lee trying to single out mullins.they must have being on drugs because we know what happened talty and peter lee nearly got his jaw broke just before half time.however, getting back to the topic i actually dont think dublin saved gaelic football at all. i think if neither team was around then the other would have being looking at a 6 or 7 in a row which would have declined football. at that time they both had the "wow" factor. that was then and we enjoyed it.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 30/04/2010 14:48:07    634747

If you were there in '83 you will know who started the whole thing, picking on young fellas like McNally who you thought could be intimidated. Unfortunately for you, Heffo didn't pick cowards. If it had been football Dublin would have done to Galway what they did to Cork in the semi final. As it was we beat you with 12 men in one of the greatest display of balls ever seen in Croke Park. Best victory ever :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/04/2010 14:53:00    634753

hurlingdub- you know the truth and you just told it

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 30/04/2010 14:54:43    634759

hurlingdub - I was there in '83 and I don't accept your blue tinted version of events. The wasn't any fouling going on when Duff stamped on his opponent or when Mullins drew his elbow. Both rightly got their marching orders. That said Hazley & Tierney were unlucky to get sent off a bit of pushing & shoving. Let's be honest in that final both teams were poor and the outcome might have been different if Tobin hadn't missed an open goal near the end. If you and superdub want to to talk history that's fine with me but at least own up to source of the the bad feeling between the two counties (during the late 70's & early 80's) which stemmed from the battle of Parnell Park (an NFL game that took place in '76 or '77); when as was their want the Dubs decided to dish out a dose of their lovely free flowing football. For the one & only time in that era Galway made sure the cosmos left the field with something to remember them by!

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 30/04/2010 15:23:40    634803

Dublin didn't play league matches in Parnell Park in the 70s so I assume the game was in Croke Park. Remember seeing them playing Galway in league but nothing sticks out although all the games were dog rough! And was in Ballinasloe for league game after the '83 final when Galway didn't do the traditional guard of honour!

There was bad feelings alright Box, and some of what happened reflects well on nobody but it's all in the past now and I have actually found myself supporting Galway in recent years which at first was a bit disturbing! Key event was beating Kildare in the final. Jaysus you had to like any team that did that :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/04/2010 15:34:28    634820

hurlingdub - fair do's, you are a passionate supporter of your county's cause. Thanks for the comment on the 1998 final, Micko never got over that one. But didn't you enjoy our 2001 even more?

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 30/04/2010 15:59:38    634868

Fair enough box13. if you think me and hurlingdub are picking on you then we'll leave it at that. I do have to say when joyce hit the net in 1998 i was delighted as i was talking to kildare people and they thought they just had to show up to take sam. in 2001 when joyce was picking off points against meath it was pure magic!

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 03/05/2010 09:28:12    636112

No offence taken superdub - I'm an oul' fella who is well able to look after himself on this board. I don't post often but enjoy the craic when there is a good topic worth getting stuck into. Yourself and hurlingdub are good advocates of your county's cause. That's how it should be.

Appreciate your comments on 1998 & 2001. For Galway, 1998 was sweet after all the years in the wilderness, but for me 2001 was even better as we came through the "back door". Many of the Meath fellas before that Final felt that it was in the bag as the hard part had been done after hammering Kerry in the semi-final. One or two Meath guys have still to get to over that defeat!

Of that 70's team (and it was a good team - with some faults), Hanahoe, Hickey & Keaveney were class acts who would not be out of place in the modern game. The current Dublin team is work in progress, but for me Bernard Brogan has the potential to be the stand out forward of his generation.

Please don't get the impression that I'm anti-Dub - I've family who have been involved in the Dublin club scene and for the good of our national games it's vital that the Dubs do well in both codes. Over the years there have been some great Dublin posters on this board - Becaire Gorm is one who springs to mind. Therefore, gents I look forward to exchanging banter with you as the summer unfolds.

Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 03/05/2010 12:17:53    636226

Some very interesting comments. But as a young Dubs fanatic at the time I could see no weaknesses! The early casualties were Rooney and Larkin (for Brogan and Moran). Maybe some non-Dubs could comment on where they felt the Dubs of the Seventies were vulnerable. As a matter of interest, were all non-Dubs anti-Dublin or were we just pathetically paranoid? Who was better - Heffo or Micko? Mullins or Jacko?

Brick_Wall (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 03/05/2010 16:16:31    636454

No, would take the Royals over the Lilies anyday Box 13. 1 can't remember who I was supporting in 2001 but don't have any dislike of Meath to be honest. Or any county really at this stage. Have to say I really enjoyed the hurling final last night and very impressed with Galway. Going to be a serious threat this year if they keep that up. And it proves that GAA were shooting themselves in the foot rearranging that game to suit a rugby match that had about as much attraction as watching a wall dry!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 03/05/2010 19:22:33    636605

good man box13. may the banter continue.

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 04/05/2010 08:49:09    636835