I think Gaelic football is the greatest ball game in the world bar none. The game, at times challenged by modernity, has evolved elegantly into an exciting code with current fitness/tactics and demeanour while remaining faithful to its heritage. I know some will disagree, but I believe this to be the unique legacy of the great Dublin teams of the Seventies. Yes Kerry were great too but that was nothing unusual. It was the Herrernan/Hannahoe teams that changed the guard, introduced new methods, professionalism, prodded the sacred cows and emerged with a fabulous, free-flowing game that continues to this day. They, in simple terms, had the wow factor. I could mention some of the great players but it was as a unit that Dublin defined a new era and truly marked 1974-80 (with great respect to the Kingdom) as a watershed in the history of Gaelic Games. Brick_Wall (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 28/04/2010 13:53:26 632255 Link 0 |
Brick_Wall jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/04/2010 13:59:41 632267 Link 0 |
Jack O'Shea said on TG4 over the spring that had the Dubs of the 70's not come along, GAA as a whole was in serious danger and in his opinion, Dublin saved the GAA as they made it "cool" Hillstreetblue (Dublin) - Posts: 163 - 28/04/2010 14:35:03 632336 Link 0 |
And the cool song of '74 witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 28/04/2010 15:28:20 632428 Link 0 |
MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13837 - 28/04/2010 15:30:16 632438 Link 0 |
delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 28/04/2010 15:43:23 632453 Link 0 |
Dublin did have a great team 76/77 likes of P. Cullen ,R. Kelleher , the great K. Moran, B. Mullins, B. Brogan,J. Keaveney, but like all great things they come to an end. fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 28/04/2010 16:18:00 632514 Link 0 |
Hillstreetblue: That Dublin made GAA cool was exactly what I was struggling to say. Thanks. Brick_Wall (Dublin) - Posts: 13 - 28/04/2010 16:24:06 632526 Link 0 |
I'm not sure that they saved Gaelic football nationwide. The games had just come off a glorious decade when both Galway and Down fielded outstanding football teams. Kerry as usual were always there or thereabouts. The seventies opened up iwth two more exciting teams in Offaly and Cork. The games nationwide were in good health and the championships were competitive. What that Dublin team did was rescue the games in Dublin.All of a sudden in Dublin, Gaelic Games were the big thing. The excitement and hype was huge.The media got in on the act and very quickly the coverage of Gaelic Games exploded. Dublin revolutionised how teams trained.Their fitness levels were way above what had gone before. They also revolutionised how the game was played, moving the ball very quickly through the hands and introducing support play the likes of which had never been seen before. Kerry as always when a new challenger appeared reacted to, adapted to, matched and finally mastered the challenge. The Dubs of the 70's had that WOW factor moreso than any other team I remember in football. I couldn't agree more with brickwalls assertion that their appearance on the national stage represents a watershed in footballs history and that what we have today has evolved from what they introduced. A truly great team Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6193 - 28/04/2010 16:35:59 632545 Link 0 |
Wait while I wipe the tear from my eye! Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 28/04/2010 16:39:30 632557 Link 0 |
Sure we're only quoting the likes of Jack O'Shea and Mick O'Dwyer lads.... jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/04/2010 16:54:50 632582 Link 0 |
There was definitely less emphasis on fitness in those days , and individual skill was I believe celebrated over and above the team. Look at Jimmy Keaveney. He wouldnt last 10 minites in modern training but he knew how to handle a football. gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 28/04/2010 17:08:47 632608 Link 0 |
Jimmy Keaveney would make mince meat of out most of the ultra fit defenders today, you cant defend against this kind of skill bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 28/04/2010 18:39:50 632769 Link 0 |
I suppose a similar thing to Limerick Wexford and Clare in hurling 90's castlemaine (Kerry) - Posts: 546 - 28/04/2010 19:20:09 632826 Link 0 |
you know antrim looks can be decieving, keaveney was no slouch,he gave no less a man than johnno keefe who was a fitness fanatic the runaround a few times.Won three all irelands, not bad for a man that came out of retirement. chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 28/04/2010 20:54:34 632931 Link 0 |
i have great memories of brian mullins . a great great footballer . a legend . ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/04/2010 21:50:01 632995 Link 0 |
bad.monkey jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/04/2010 21:53:17 633003 Link 0 |
It's utter nonsense to suggest that the 70's Dubs "saved Gaelic football" or to say that team had the "wow" factor - they certainly had the "pow" factor. They were a hard & physical (some might say dirty) team that sought to impose themselves on the opposition. My best memory of them is seeing their backs trying to decapitate Pat Spillane in a AI Final. They will always be in the shadow of that great Kerry team; who were beyond any doubt the best team that I had the privilege of seeing. Box13 (Galway) - Posts: 56 - 30/04/2010 13:03:01 634618 Link 0 |
They were a hard & physical (some might say dirty) team that sought to impose themselves on the opposition. My best memory of them is seeing their backs trying to decapitate Pat Spillane in a AI Final. bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4663 - 30/04/2010 13:48:45 634679 Link 0 |
Box, a Galway man accusing Dublin of being dirty!! Galway tried several times to 'sort out' Dublin and by jaysus they were sorry for it :-) hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/04/2010 14:04:26 634692 Link 0 |