Padraic Joyce continues on

I see Big Joe is confident that he will be fit to play against New York. Is it just me or does anyone else find it quite sad when players like Joyce keep on playing despite clearly being past it? It reminds me of Holyfield who's still boxing at the age of 47. Joyce should have retired years ago instead of ruining his reputation by playing on and not contributing anything. I don't subscribe to the belief that he was World-class, indeed I think he has been one of the most over-rated footballers of the past 40 years, but there's no doubt he had some talent. It's time for Joyce to hang up the boots, he has been lucky enough to win two Sam's which isn't something the current squad will ever experience.

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 28/04/2010 11:21:15    631984

Maybe Big Joe can see that PJ can offer some much needed experience to the younger players. Developing a winning team is about blending experience and youth.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 28/04/2010 12:34:01    632111

I think joyce still has a lot to offer. he is better than an average forward om most inter county teams. Dont write him off yet

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 28/04/2010 13:06:40    632181

Have just read Pomeroy, what you have to say about Padraic Joyce as a footballer . I disagree entirely with you in terms of his contribution to the Galway team specifically, and to football in general. He was an exceptional player. Whether or not he should retire is up to himself and Big Joe. If they feel he can make a contribution then so be it. Would say the same about Brian Dooher and retirement ?

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6178 - 28/04/2010 13:30:18    632213

Padraig Joyce past it years ago?? Are you for real, he beat Mayo on his own only in 08 in Castlebar, he had heaney puffing and panting because he couldn't run after the " old man". I find myself arguing in here all the time, i can barley get a word of sense out of anyone. I mean for christ sake how can anyone that understands football say joyce is the most overrated footballer in 40 years. I give up, ye haven/t a clue.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 28/04/2010 13:47:59    632244

What a ridiculous post and comment. Not that Joyce will give a crap what you think but why should anyone give up something they love. A manager will stop picking a player if he is not the best person for a job. This rubbish about keeping someone else off the panel is rubble too, makes no sense as if they are good enough they'll be on the panel!

I doubt Joyce cares about what you think of his reputation, he has the medals in his back pocket and is playing intercounty football ...even at his age. What are you doing with yourself PomeroyPlunkett??

LillyLandHurler (Kildare) - Posts: 2 - 28/04/2010 13:49:29    632248

i seen galway v cavan in mullingar last week, in a match which until Joyce came on had no direction in attack for Galway, nickey joyce played well, but padraig was very good, fielding 2 super catches on the FF line, if galway can do without him then they are in good shape!

milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 28/04/2010 13:56:13    632259

A baffling and completely ridiculous post. PJ has been one of the finest footballers in the country for over a decade.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9747 - 28/04/2010 13:57:45    632264

Pomeroy, the same criteria could apply to your beloved brian dooher and youd laugh it off, wake up please, Joyce is still a class act as he has always been and its a credit to his professionalism that he is still one of the top forwards in the game after a lenghty career to date

homer101 (Longford) - Posts: 53 - 28/04/2010 14:03:27    632274

Your statement is exposing your lack of comprehension of the game. PJ is one of the all time greats, and that is not a matter of opinion. Has he still got something to offer? maybe something like Peter Canavan in 05? Why not? Joe Kernan seems to think so, an AI winning manager....

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 28/04/2010 14:08:10    632280

Always thought Joyce could have been a truly great footballer... but he's a greedy fecker!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 28/04/2010 14:11:42    632286

Your statement is exposing your lack of comprehension of the game. PJ is one of the all time greats, and that is not a matter of opinion. Has he still got something to offer? maybe something like Peter Canavan in 05? Why not? Joe Kernan seems to think so, an AI winning manager....

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 28/04/2010 14:19:43    632302

Pomeroy you are the most over rated WUM on HS you are past your best and and have no tact in your approach to winding people up! You are totally over doing it, you can't have any creditibility at the rate your trying to retire players and mangers this week! Everyone on here is sick of your stupid threads.

Time for you to develop another alter ego....

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 28/04/2010 14:24:05    632308

With an ignorant comment like that, I can only assume one of two things about you PP. Either you don't really like football or you don't have the faintest idea about the sport.

Joyce's reputation speaks for itself, it doesn't need me to defend it. I suspect though that you're insecure and feel the need to say something outrageous. It gives you a misplaced sense of importance. At the end of the day, you're just shooting your mouth off on the internet, while Joyce plays the game he loves.

JackoDub (Dublin) - Posts: 458 - 28/04/2010 14:31:00    632330

PP just craves attention....

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 28/04/2010 14:48:56    632362

Ironic that coming from a Tyrone man with Dooher on the team.

Fr.Ted.Crilly (Derry) - Posts: 449 - 28/04/2010 15:06:24    632390

51longago

632244 Padraig Joyce past it years ago?? Are you for real, he beat Mayo on his own only in 08 in Castlebar, he had heaney puffing and panting because he couldn't run after the " old man". I find myself arguing in here all the time, i can barley get a word of sense out of anyone. I mean for christ sake how can anyone that understands football say joyce is the most overrated footballer in 40 years. I give up, ye haven/t a clue.

spot on mate, 100% agree with this post

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 28/04/2010 15:33:02    632441

I feel people are looking at Joyce's contribution to games in the past through rose-tinted glasses here. Joyce played in an era that can only be described as mediocre. Even then he didn't really stand out and a couple of cheap All-Ireland wins don't hide this. He's one of those players that everyone says is amongst the greatest of all time but when you actually look at his games you realise that he isn't what he is cracked up to be. It's just an honest opinion, have the confidence in your opinion to debate rather than resort to petty insults please

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 28/04/2010 16:26:03    632531

PP Keeps putting up silly threads and everyone keeps taking him on just instead of ignoring this wum because he has not a notion about the gaa .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/04/2010 16:27:05    632532

PJ is a class footballer and I would say that even if I was not from Galway. He may be past his peak but he still has a lot to offer to the younger players. He was always a very natural footballer and when he was on a solo run it looked so smooth and comfortable it was like the ball was part of his body. Good man PJ for still sticking with the game you love and never mind the begrudgers.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 28/04/2010 16:30:19    632539