The GAA getting rid of Under 12 grade!!

jafallon

630927 I think people are generalising U-12's into little kids. This kind of craic is grand at U-8 and U-10 level, but by U-12, many players are in secondary school, and starting to generate a competitive spirit. I remember the screaming our U-12 manager used to do at us. It seems bad that that sort of competition will turn into a playground exercise.

Really? They most be very smart to have skipped ahead that much!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 04/05/2010 21:17:06    637910

The Gaa probably realize that all the smart people have the cop on to get out of Ireland and bring their kids up in proper countries. Its cruel to bring kids up in Ireland but then again Ireland was never fond of kids, was it.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/05/2010 21:32:28    637933

I don't understand what the fuss is about
Won't they be able to play competitive football at u-13?
As Johnny Logan said, whats another year?

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 05/05/2010 09:05:35    637975

hurlingdub

630608 If 25 kids turn up for a game then they should all get a decent run. There are too many adults who think they are Brian Cody or Mickey Harte living their dreams through small children! Plenty of time for selection of the better players as they get older. Let them enjoy it.

Agree with this post totally. I think so many young players drift away from the GAA through lack of game time and being/feeling involved. The way things have been at under 14,12 & 10, young players who may not have developed skills as quickly or be physically as strong as some of their underage teammates don't get much or any game time. A five minute runout here and there is all they have to look forward to at best, I feel Gaelic Games at this young age should be more inclusive for everybody who turns up for their club. A young player no matter how bad, WILL become a better player if they get game time and are coached on learning basic skills and how to become a TEAM player. Sitting on the bench forever won't help in their development or encourage them to keep involved with their club, bench warming is hard at the best of times, but at under 12 grade it kills of many potential players interest.

Gaelic games at this age should be about enjoyment for ALL players, Competitive fixtures will come in other grades as these boys/girls get older.

RiceysBrother (Tyrone) - Posts: 125 - 05/05/2010 09:58:08    638010

AfricanGael... What is your problem??

PortL.abu (Waterford) - Posts: 28 - 05/05/2010 10:14:42    638018

Africangael,expand your point a bit further.I'm thinking you're just on this as a WUM.

Trenchman (Waterford) - Posts: 114 - 05/05/2010 10:19:29    638024

Agree with this move. I think in general, underage coaches, having been former players, have almost no understanding of how disappointing it is a child to not get picked on teams, particularly at that age.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12427 - 05/05/2010 10:23:27    638031

Trenchman
County: Waterford

638024 Africangael,expand your point a bit further.I'm thinking you're just on this as a WUM.

WUM! What a horrible Irish acronym. I notice it's always used as an excuse by people who have nothing constructive to say. A bit like the Irish saying "we are where we are" as if to say it's alright then. I have every intention of expanding Trenchman.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/05/2010 10:51:30    638066

The main purpose of Go Games is to get as many touches to the kids as possible at what ever age you play at. This will no dobut improve a players skill levels. I think this is a great idea but, be it 8's, 10's or 12's in my opinion the theory will only work to a reasonable standard if all the players are of a similar standard. Now often over here in England it is often tough enough just to get a team out never mind try to match like against like.

In large rugby or football clubs over here, a club may have a 1st/2nd/3rd team etc. With this you have the scope to find a place/level for your kids. Here a child will hopefully be able to play a game with/against a player of a similar standard. If a child progresses quickly they move up into the next tier. All sounds great doesn't it!!! But what happens when this isn't available???? The better kids get fed up and leave the game to play something where there is a challenge, or the weaker kids get fed up because the stronger kids will still dominate the games. Unless you have the numbers it just won't work!!!

I do believe you can play Go Games with a competitive edge, as we do here. The under 12's guidelines do in fact give you a structure you can follow, but you can adapt the games to your needs. Up to 11 a side, 1 hop, 1 solo, 20mins per half, scores are as normal. This is the guide in the manual, but then you can add or take out other bits to adapt the game to suit. We play a proper match basically using these rules.

I have got to say you still can not please everyone as the better kids still dominate the games and all kids want to win and will pass to the players who they think are more likely to create something for the team. If you take these players off and the team looses the kids get upset because they have lost when they could have won. A good player will not stay around for long if you keep taking him off and how is he going to develop if you keep taking him off?????

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 05/05/2010 17:04:22    638735

Terrible idea

Lads just ignore African Gael

DAMMON

PS What does WUM stand for. Ive wanted to know for ages

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 05/05/2010 17:18:17    638763

Wind Up Merchant.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 05/05/2010 17:28:48    638784

dammon, been reading your posts. You`re weird.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 05/05/2010 17:47:47    638812

MesAmis, most of the people going into first year dont turn thirteen till the year after, so are still under twelves for the first few months of secondary

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1686 - 05/05/2010 17:53:42    638825

It seems from the GAA website that leagues at Under 12 more or less can continue except for that they are a maximum of 11 a side and clubs filed multiple teams... The idea being to increase skill levels.. I find it hard to understand how anyone can argue with this tbh....

leftcorner (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 05/05/2010 19:26:44    638960

African Gael

Yeah I am. Still rather be weird than write stupid comments about Ireland being a bad place and the heroes of 1916 being terrorists though

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 05/05/2010 21:22:42    639097

27/04/2010 08:17
leftcorner I read the article and checked out the gaa website.. The artcile seems to be totally wrong.. competitions at Under 12 can continue as long as they are 11 a side.. I think this is a fantastic move as small sided games are crucial for skill development.. In fact yesterdays independent had a two page article from the new FAI techinical director saying that is the way he wants soccer to go!!!!
County: Wexford

Isn't soccer already an 11-aside game?

Cully (Laois) - Posts: 375 - 06/05/2010 10:51:57    639250

he wants soccer to go to 7-9 a side which is the way it is in most countries... I suppose it`s n coincidence we have very few technically gifted players..

leftcorner (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 06/05/2010 16:40:34    639817