I just read in the paper that this is the last year of U12 league and championships.Its being replaced by them go-games.Go-games is where every child gets a game and completely takes the competitiveness (if thats a word) out of it! Its not the GAA winning here its the other sports!! omahonys_man (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 26/04/2010 21:42:03 630523 Link 0 |
Terrible idea be nice for young players to get something for there hard work like medals. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/04/2010 21:54:12 630552 Link 0 |
Disagree. While there are no cups and medals it is still competitive. Just look at lads playin at breaktime in school or on the park during the summer - its still v competitive, they get stuck in and kno when they're winning. It opens the game s to to the so called 'lesser' players who never get a chance. Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 26/04/2010 21:58:02 630557 Link 0 |
I read the article and checked out the gaa website.. The artcile seems to be totally wrong.. competitions at Under 12 can continue as long as they are 11 a side.. I think this is a fantastic move as small sided games are crucial for skill development.. In fact yesterdays independent had a two page article from the new FAI techinical director saying that is the way he wants soccer to go!!!! leftcorner (Wexford) - Posts: 302 - 27/04/2010 08:17:39 630576 Link 0 |
I agree with Brolly, this would definitely increase participation in the sport. Giving game time to children that went to all the trainings and never got a chance to play will undoubtly encourage them to come back and play again the next year. It would also increase the skill level of the "weaker" kids. I can't see how the gaa would lose out to other sports in this one. Billy_The_Kid (Limerick) - Posts: 63 - 27/04/2010 08:22:09 630579 Link 0 |
If 25 kids turn up for a game then they should all get a decent run. There are too many adults who think they are Brian Cody or Mickey Harte living their dreams through small children! Plenty of time for selection of the better players as they get older. Let them enjoy it. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 27/04/2010 09:20:45 630608 Link 0 |
There's a lot of misinformation out there: the Under 12 grade will NOT be abolished. It's just that its being revamped to provide maximum participation. There can still be under 12 leagues, but there won't be a knockout championship. Children will be competitive no matter what; we don't need to impose adult versions of sport on them at a young age. Internationally that has been shown to be a major cause for dropping out. football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 27/04/2010 10:11:09 630658 Link 0 |
Well said hurlingdub, lets not suck the pleasure out of participation in the games at an early level in favour of those parents with big ambitions and delusions of grandeur. This can only lead to burn out. brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/04/2010 10:41:11 630700 Link 0 |
Tyrone have had Go Games now for a right few years. Two touch football and a non -competitive league. Larger teams are split into an A and B team to make sure everyone gets a game and its all about fun and talking part. Watching our u/12's last year, I would say that it is very competitive despite the status it's given. redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 27/04/2010 11:07:54 630736 Link 0 |
Its a positive step for the young players involved. It's some adult team managers that are not giving kids a fair chance and there are some of these in all clubs. In my own role for the last 5 years as a juvenile coach I have always given every player a fair chance no matter what standard they are. I would have no problem in leaving the strongest player off at the start. I see that it teaches players a certain amount of humility that they are not guaranteed to start or play all of a match. I also believe that the juvenile boards need to bring in rules restricting for example u10 players from playing u12 as I see u10's being selected for u12 games ahead of those who are overage for u10. I do understand that this scenario may not suit the small clubs and I believe that there should be a range of players allowed say 7 to 13 in any game rather than a set number which does happen in some area's in the fair play summer leagues. Diego (Meath) - Posts: 1205 - 27/04/2010 11:08:59 630737 Link 0 |
Armagh Hurling applies the following principle to their games and i feel this is the way to go: armagh_chc (Armagh) - Posts: 6 - 27/04/2010 11:39:30 630779 Link 0 |
I thought it was about improving the skill end of it and keeping every young player interested and for them to make more friends. laflour (Cavan) - Posts: 528 - 27/04/2010 11:44:04 630791 Link 0 |
Oh my God every time we have a debate on underage, some bore comes on with the burnout chant. it dosent apply to every situation and dosen't show that you are a caring gaa man just because you think that this is an issue. it certainly dosen't apply in this case. ochonlir (Cavan) - Posts: 4343 - 27/04/2010 12:25:50 630863 Link 0 |
Fantastic move. It will prevent egotistical coaches from ignoring players who's skill levels haven't quite developed as much as others yet. JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 27/04/2010 12:58:03 630914 Link 0 |
I think people are generalising U-12's into little kids. This kind of craic is grand at U-8 and U-10 level, but by U-12, many players are in secondary school, and starting to generate a competitive spirit. I remember the screaming our U-12 manager used to do at us. It seems bad that that sort of competition will turn into a playground exercise. jafallon (Galway) - Posts: 489 - 27/04/2010 13:07:01 630927 Link 0 |
11 a side on a tiny pitch is stupid, once they get to U 14 they wont be able to handle the full pitch. PRDY (Mayo) - Posts: 141 - 27/04/2010 13:19:38 630946 Link 0 |
There are good arguments on both sides here. The problem with competitive games at too young an age is with the parents who are trying to re-live their lives though their kids. The weaker kids don't get a game and are turned off the sport and potentially fine players who may develop later are lost to the sport. On the other hand the lack of competitive games means that you lose a lot of the stronger kids to other sports. Wheither we like it or not, they will go and play a competitve soccer or rugby game rather than a Go Game if there is a clash. Go Games will work very well in areas like Kilkenny, Kerry, Tryone who have managed to kill off all other sports other than the one they focus on but for other counties there is a risk with Go Games. In the countries where Go Game type model are used for team sports (e.g soccer in Holland, rugby in NZ) they don't really have many competing team sports. onlyhurling (Galway) - Posts: 800 - 02/05/2010 12:10:11 635709 Link 0 |
Under 12 is important, won 2 of my 3 medals at that grade. learned how to wait till its your last year before ya get a game, oh and the most important 'kick'em in the shins!' Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 04/05/2010 19:17:02 637780 Link 0 |
if every player is going to get a run it's a good thing because if they weren't getting a run then they might go off and play soccer or rugby. rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 04/05/2010 19:38:16 637803 Link 0 |
Its a great idea and long overdue as well. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13830 - 04/05/2010 21:16:03 637909 Link 0 |