The bad experience on Booze thread

Xmas party in College,
DIT and St. Pats!
Temple Theatre (the big church on the way to Croker from O'Connell St 1996).
Went off with a young wan but ended up with a peck on the cheek if you see what I mean, so there I was, twisted, without a bean in my pocket! Was supposed to be staying in a flat beside Phibsboro church but of course had lost the lads earlier in the night chasin yer wan, walked to the flat but got no answer!
Right, will walk down NCR and see if I recognise another mates house on that road. No luck but succeeded in waking half the street up!

Nothing for it but either:
1. Call home and get someone to collect me.
2. Jump in taxi and pay when get home.
3. Go to Garda station and tell them I am stuck for getting home.
4. Walk the streets until first bus the following morning.
5. Walk down to the Dublin Simon community on the quays and tell them I am homeless and need a bed for the night!

Of course I chose option number '5' and off I went down to the Simon and asked for a bed!
They took one look at me and said: "Have you just run out of money and cant get home after a night out?" "Yes Maam!" "Get out of here and stop wasting our time!"
I did!

Story didnt end there though!
I walked back up to Phibsboro (nearly had the soles worn out on my shoes from all the walking, but when the bear compass takes over ya dont notice it!) started throwing pebbles up at the window but got no answer still.
This is where It begins to sound like Im telling porkys but I swear I aint.
Outside the house was some rubbish including a broken door that I then proceeded to fashion into a hut by leaning it against the wall of the house and spread out some bits of old carpet and rug that was along with the rubbish so I could climb in and go to sleep.
Before I did I threw a few more pebbles up at the window and lo and behold oscail an doras and one of the lads says "what are you doing?"
In I go and end up getting a cosy bed for the night!....Class!!
To think I could have ended up sleeping in that 'lean-too' for the night like Bear Grylls in an urban environment!!

On that note, I have ever since regretted taking the Dublin Simon community for granted that night and vowed to repent for being an idiot so now any 10k or event I do, the Simon Community is my chosen charity ever since!!.....KARMA!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/04/2010 19:20:18    628786

Gas story Snuff.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 25/04/2010 19:33:58    628838

Htaem

627185 Couple of years ago i made my bike vanish without a trace after drinking stupid amounts of Absinthe and JD. All i remember is getting on the bike at my mates house (in the middle of nowhere), starting off on a 2 mile journey to mine and waking up 6 hours later absolutely buried in a big dirty ditch only about 200m from my house. I never found the bloody bike either and i only got the damn thing a month earlier, ah well lessen learned, should have put the bike on autopilot.

"I woke up and there was the bike...and it gone"

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 26/04/2010 10:44:27    629287

23/04/2010 15:04:49
miketyson
County: Limerick

626968 Too many to mention...

Said before on here i chugged a litre bottle of vodka for a bet in a few seconds (needless to say that wasnt nice)..

and thus preveting any metabolic absorbtion would result in a blood alchohol content of approx. 0.6% in a 75 kg male (11.5 stone)
This is 1.5 times the level at which death becomes a high risk

madasbutter (Mayo) - Posts: 872 - 26/04/2010 16:35:38    629991

After being horsed out of a well known Dublin City Centre Nightclub at a end of exams party after attempting to rubgy tackle one of the girls in my class, I was refused by taxi driver after taxi driver because of the shape I was. Instead of going in to a nearby eatary to try and sober up I decided to walk it home at two o clock in the morning..... to STILLORGAN!!! Landed at the end of my street about 6 when a taxi driver picked me up, drove me a whole 100 yards to the house and charged me 30 euros for it (of course being in the hape I was I never thought to question his exuberant taxi fare). Woke up the next evening absolutley plastered in bruises and sporting a black eye fr good measure. How I made it home that night without being lifted by the cops I'll never know. Of course when the parents queried where I had acquired the black eye I'll told them the usual yarn.... 'football'.

Break_er (Donegal) - Posts: 798 - 26/04/2010 17:18:17    630085

i was nursing a beer last night and my nipple got sogey

thegreatone (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 26/04/2010 21:48:10    630539

Just had a 3 day weekend. Back to work this morning and I am in "THE FEAR's" deathly grip! :-(

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 27/04/2010 10:42:34    630704

Good man Lockjaw, the monday club is still alive and kicking in Ireland

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 27/04/2010 11:04:03    630731

Break_er

630085 After being horsed out of a well known Dublin City Centre Nightclub at a end of exams party after attempting to rubgy tackle one of the girls in my class, I was refused by taxi driver after taxi driver because of the shape I was. Instead of going in to a nearby eatary to try and sober up I decided to walk it home at two o clock in the morning..... to STILLORGAN!!! Landed at the end of my street about 6 when a taxi driver picked me up, drove me a whole 100 yards to the house and charged me 30 euros for it (of course being in the hape I was I never thought to question his exuberant taxi fare). Woke up the next evening absolutley plastered in bruises and sporting a black eye fr good measure. How I made it home that night without being lifted by the cops I'll never know. Of course when the parents queried where I had acquired the black eye I'll told them the usual yarn.... 'football'.

Is that why you were dropped off the senior football panel ;)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 27/04/2010 11:16:42    630747

Yeah the Monday club was in full swing in McGraths Drumcondra yesterday. Hard to beat! Feel like a burst bag of ***** today though.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 27/04/2010 11:19:51    630752

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b1GUC-aXn-g

Lockjaw... here's one for you! It might mellow you out....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/04/2010 11:21:03    630756

After reading the catalogue of horror stories on this thread, I have just sent a letter to the daily mail informing them of the hellish experiences many young Irish people are being exposed to from buying stuff called "alcohol" in various guises in these "pubs" and "off-licences". I will also plan to inform Joe Duffy.

However I'm not convinced this is an appropriate knee-jerk reaction and I am considering some form of vigilante actions. Please advise on how to do this? Should I attempt to petrol-bomb an off-licence? I am compelled to do something as heaven forbid some childwen will be exposed to this demon drug "alcohol". Somebody, please think of the childwen!!!!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12440 - 27/04/2010 11:58:11    630818

Breffni39

Good stuff Breff.... Some of us fought a similar battle on the Drugs thread!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 27/04/2010 12:30:50    630872

Right, this sounds ridiculous and it was. Was in college in Dublin & living in Portobello, and went for a few drinks with one of the other lads on the rugby team. It was a Sunday night and I just got dropped off there by the sisters best friend who was up for the week doing exams, so there was me with my bag for the week, including the auld ones home made soup. So went down to The Barge where another one of the teammates was barman, there happened to be a Vodka Promotion on there, all flavoured Vodka. So Jonny, being a good friend, start throwing out the free flavoured Vodka 6 flavours all well and truly tested, retested and enjoyed by the 2 of us. So closing time comes and myself and himself decide food is the way to go so bag on shoulders start walking towards Ranelagh village (5 minute walk0 lengthened significantly by meeting a runner (at 3 in the morning) so myself and the other fella start running, yer man starts running faster so we decide lets power off in front. So we go right, left, every direction. We realise we are lost in the middle of a massive housing estate so rather than walk or ring a taxi we have wheelie bin wars, and races. Long story short we walked another hour or so (never can tell with drink) and I woke up (or was woken up) by this man asking me to get out of his utility room, or he'll have to take out his 3 iron and wrap it around my "culchie neck". Got home and went to bed, woke up about 2 o clock opened the bag and all you could see was soup and brown bread all over the place and no clean clothes for the week for little KKid!!

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 30/04/2010 10:13:52    634351

And you wonder why Dubs have this thing about culchies KKid ;)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 30/04/2010 10:25:19    634364

KKid
County: Kilkenny

Love it. Used to hate that on the way to college on a sunday night, you'd pack all the food and clothes in the bag and have great expectations of what i was going to eat/wear all week..... get down there then and straight out on the lash and not get up till wednesday

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 30/04/2010 10:36:28    634378

Oh yeah its a real country mammy thing, clean clothes and a bag of food! and by the time you get the food out of the bag most of the stuff is gone off! Ah the good old days of drinking all day and night and eating dry bread rolls!

KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 30/04/2010 10:41:49    634382

Classic KKid!

Was in McGowan's Phibsboro last night. I'm an unbelievably slow learner.... :-(

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 30/04/2010 11:42:22    634465

Lockjaw

634465 Classic KKid!

Was in McGowan's Phibsboro last night. I'm an unbelievably slow learner.... :-(

Monday club and thursday night club in the one week?? any chance of a start ?!!! Mcgowns still got the 3euro a pint ?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 30/04/2010 12:54:28    634603

Pink Aftershock - horrible stuff, took away my ability to walk and talk, made me think I could swim in a puddle, and made me think going to bed meant stripping naked and vomiting on the bathroom floor where I fell asleep only for my da to find me the next morning!!

jimmyjoebob (Armagh) - Posts: 137 - 30/04/2010 13:42:04    634673