How can Kilkenny be that bad at minor level

irlande
County: Fermanagh

I think the hammering Longford got at the hands of Offaly was more shocking than the KK result.

Don't judge our minors to harshly yet. We were hammered 2-18 to 3 points by a strong offally team. We didnt play and fell apart. Wexford up next in pearse park should be difficult but we cud put in a big performance. Weve definitely the talent.

Hanley2 (Longford) - Posts: 420 - 20/04/2010 13:14:05    623252

Kilkenny minors beat Longford in the league.

In all likelihood they would have been playing Dublin. assuming they beat Louth and another tonking would have ensued.

Why do the football championship not have preliminary rounds like the hurling?

In the hurling minor Kilkenny play after a number of rounds.

Anyway, it works out for all the anti-KK people on here. KK will never support football if they get knocked like on here. The game will die off. Maybe come up with something constructuve to help us rather than pointing out how shite we are. We know we are shite but at least we are trying.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 20/04/2010 14:13:17    623373

I have to say I think it's a sad day to see this happen with any county. Surely in this day and age of play stations etc we should be encouraging people to participate in sports especially our own home grown sports. The Kilkenny board should hang their heads in shame over this. These are young lads that want to play football and most likely both codes given their county of birth.

Is the work been done at school levels in the county?. Should a programme be put in place to improve football in the county?. I have seen posts on this thread stating that if had been the minor hurlers it would have been a different result. This might be a fact but at least we take part. That should be the ethos on which kids play GAA.

Encourage, Encourage Encourage should be the message to these lads.

This as aforementioned is a sad day for GAA to see any team pull out of a competition for what can only be lack of background work at the highest levels.

rickboy1975 (Meath) - Posts: 8 - 20/04/2010 14:56:59    623459

I agree 100% Rick, it is disgraceful. I think the worst of it is the average Kilkenny person couldn't care less which is genuinely sad

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 20/04/2010 17:46:29    623747

leave kk alone..fair play to them for fielding a team.i hate them.more than i can put into words.but when they are as dominant as they are in hurling and have been for so ong how is anyone supposed to arouse any interest in football.if they don't like the game then don't make them play it.typical fascism in the gaa

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 4575 - 20/04/2010 18:35:35    623822

Why do we expect counties of varying population sizes, urban densities and ethnic make-ups to be mutually competitive in both hurling and football, (leaving hand-ball aside for the moment)? It's one thing to look at large counties like Cork and Dublin and expect them to consistently compete in both codes but why do we expect the same standards of Kilkenny, Carlow or Longford to name but some of the smaller counties in Leinster.

These counties were drawn up to facilitate land management and tax the Irish peasantry. They have sweet F.A. to do with the development or administration of gaelic games. There is nothing sacred about them.

Wouldn't football clubs from Kilkenny, Carlow and even Laois be better off competing in a regional south Leinster championship? It would guarantee a much more competitive senior championship at least, no problem organising games at under-age levels and Kilkenny clubs who took their football seriously would not be isolated in a hurling region.

Ollie99 (Meath) - Posts: 442 - 20/04/2010 19:01:17    623849

Pinkie
County: Wexford

Their full back line were supposed to have been very very poor....

-------------

Sounds like more than the full back line was a problem!!!

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/04/2010 19:37:51    623890

A junior minor club from Meath would have done better..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 20/04/2010 20:10:31    623922

fair play to the young KK lads who were out there respresenting their county.

young people in kilkenny want to play hurling, its that simple the vast vast majority have no interest in football. Do people want the schools and kk cb to force kids to play football even when they dont want to? would seem a pointless exercise

if their was a demand to play football that would be one thing but there just isnt the demand...its a hurling county

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4678 - 20/04/2010 21:23:54    624041

PomeroyPlunkett
I agree 100% Rick, it is disgraceful. I think the worst of it is the average Kilkenny person couldn't care less which is genuinely sad

thats a bit rich coming from a tyrone man. kilkenny is a traditional HURLING county, thats the way its always been. i doubt too many people in tyrone wouls know the result of yer minor hurlers game or when they are playing next for that matter.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12138 - 20/04/2010 21:29:56    624046

The problem is that too many GAA people are too narrowminded to realise that a GAA club is not a real GAA club unless it's a dual club (& why not promote handball too?). To be pro-football shouldn't mean you're anti-hurling & vice versa. Wouldn't it be an idea if every (non-dual) senior football club had to field a junior hurling team & every senior hurling club did the same for football? Maybe do the same at underage too?

I was at a meeting recently where Brian Cody was a guest speaker. Of course instead of asking for his thoughts on promoting hurling in Longford he was asked what they do in Kilkenny to be so successful at hurling so that perhaps we can do the same in Longford for football. He actually said that football is played in nearly all Kilkenny primary schools & they play their schools championship in February & March before concentrating on hurling from April to June.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4105 - 21/04/2010 16:39:59    624816