How can Kilkenny be that bad at minor level

There are teams who totally neglect one sport in preference for another. Wexford did it for a long time and I don't believe it's right.
The GAA is their to promote all our national sports not just one and each county should ensure that both are given the same resources and focus no matter how good or bad each team is.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 19/04/2010 13:02:09    621814

Their full back line were supposed to have been very very poor....

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 19/04/2010 13:21:44    621848

No team neglects a sport to the extent that Kilkenny do with football. It wouldn't be so bad if it was Hurling being neglected but to think so little of the most popular and most played sport in this country is a sin. The county board should hang their heads in shame

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 19/04/2010 13:41:17    621881

OK, pomeroy, I am VERY PROUD to come from "the weakest GAA county in Ireland".

By the way, Kilkenny have more Senior provincial football titles than the following counties:
Carlow, Leitrim, Clare, Longford, Westmeath, Limerick, Waterford, Fermanagh, and Wicklow.

And I'd rather be from Kilkenny where we realise that the GAA stands for more than just gaelic football and has a history which goes back further than the last 20 years.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 19/04/2010 14:04:07    621926

PomeroyPlunkett

621881 No team neglects a sport to the extent that Kilkenny do with football. It wouldn't be so bad if it was Hurling being neglected but to think so little of the most popular and most played sport in this country is a sin. The county board should hang their heads in shame.

Just like our county board should do aswell the way they neglect Hurling in Tyrone.

DUNGANNONABU (Tyrone) - Posts: 511 - 19/04/2010 14:23:01    621945

Kilkenny participated and fair play to them. Those players knew they were on going to get a hiding going out there yet they played. I take my hat off to them, fair play lads. And if the K'kenny board are not putting enough to the development of football in the county then this result might make them take note. BUT alas, these group of young lads tried so well done. I see it in Kerry, though we may not be up their in the top tier of hurling, there remains an effort to get there as recently proved by the Div 3 league win. I would love to see our boys at least challenge SOME of the top counties.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 19/04/2010 14:28:55    621952

'Just like our county board should do aswell the way they neglect Hurling in Tyrone'

Big difference between neglecting football and Hurling. One is immensely popular and played throughout Ireland, the other is popular in a handful of counties and people are losing interest in it and numbers are falling. Hurlings deserves the same amount of resources poured into it as ladies football and handball, and I'm sure the Tyrone county board is funding Hurling more than them two sports. You could make a case that Hurling is recieving too much funding in Tyrone in fact

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 19/04/2010 14:51:12    621991

PomeroyPlunkett

621991 'Just like our county board should do aswell the way they neglect Hurling in Tyrone'

Big difference between neglecting football and Hurling. One is immensely popular and played throughout Ireland, the other is popular in a handful of counties and people are losing interest in it and numbers are falling. Hurlings deserves the same amount of resources poured into it as ladies football and handball, and I'm sure the Tyrone county board is funding Hurling more than them two sports. You could make a case that Hurling is recieving too much funding in Tyrone in fact.

The fact here is that your like the the county board anti Hurling and full of the brown stuff.

DUNGANNONABU (Tyrone) - Posts: 511 - 19/04/2010 15:28:13    622051

PomeroyPlunkett, you've just proved how stupid your points are. If football is the most popular and most played then shouldn't the GAA be promoting hurling rather than having maybe 4 or 5 competing every year. Now that would make sence. Football is more popular because it's easier to play. Hurling is admired all over the world, nobody outside Ireland knows what Gaelic Football is, it's 100 times more skillful and Kilkenny are the masters of such a wonderful game, what other sport requires so much skill and speed with a small ball and a stick? If you couldn't catch and kick a football you may give up all sport. Kilkenny are doing enough raising the standard of hurling to new heights every year. Are you saying you want them to set the standard in football too. Now stop moaning and come back when it's taken ye less than a 100 years to a win a couple of all irelands.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 19/04/2010 15:43:19    622074

I strongly disagree with PomeroyPlunkett regarding Hurling and its funding etc. However I think its funny the attitudes of some on here.

Hurling fans with disdainful view on Gaelic Football: perfectly acceptable, in fact its something to be proud of
Gaelic Football fans with disdainful view on Hurling: disgusting, disgraceful, should be banned from the board, not as Irish as me

Some of ye need to get down off your high horse. Its amazing the double standards some of ye exist in!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12494 - 19/04/2010 15:44:46    622076

you on the beer breffini?
dont get ye!!!

the seal (Meath) - Posts: 583 - 19/04/2010 15:57:09    622112

I am a football man...but by god there's nothing like watching muster championship hurling during the summer to me, always some epic games.

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 19/04/2010 15:57:15    622113

Hs PP not enough to bother himself with at home after losing to Augher yesterday instead of worrying about Kilkenny minors.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 19/04/2010 16:10:28    622135

kilkenny is a hurling county simple as.

Birrgreat (Offaly) - Posts: 111 - 19/04/2010 16:25:21    622159

'If football is the most popular and most played then shouldn't the GAA be promoting hurling rather than having maybe 4 or 5 competing every year. Now that would make sence.'

Using your rationale Handball, camogie, women's football etc. should get the most funding as they are even less popular than Hurling. And I fail to see how Tyrone's wait for winning Sam has any bearing on my opinion of Hurling? Care to clarify that or is it a futile attempt to annoy me in some way? Strange comment to throw in at the end

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 19/04/2010 16:28:58    622168

'Hs PP not enough to bother himself with at home after losing to Augher yesterday instead of worrying about Kilkenny minors'

Sorry I must have missed that rule whereby you aren't allowed to post on the national board if your club loses in their county. One of the stupidest posts I've read here so well done. What club are you? Oh wait I don't actually care

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 19/04/2010 16:35:32    622178

I think the hammering Longford got at the hands of Offaly was more shocking than the KK result.

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 19/04/2010 17:07:56    622248

I remember a few years ago, when my brother was playing minor for Laois, they played kilkenny, not sure what it was in, could have been a friendly, anyway the kilkenny lads had came straight from a hurling match, half of them still togged out and the football manager was taking down the names of the lads and the names of their clubs. In fairness they gave it everything they had.

It would be no surprise to me if the minor team had none of the best footballers in the county on it, kilkenny want to play hurling, they dont want to bother with football and what better way to put pressure on the gaa to let them stop playing football, than a team getting beat 6-26 to no score.

MarineBiologist (Laois) - Posts: 7 - 19/04/2010 17:41:02    622315

Birrgreat
County: Offaly

kilkenny is a hurling county simple as.

I know of Kilkenny men with FIVE all Ireland senior FOOTBALL medals, whose brother won two.

And the last time they were in the semi final at football it took a mighty Antrim team to beat them. And only for a Tipperary objection they would have won a football title and who knows what direction they would have taken.

I fear it will be a long time before a large number of counties, including Tyrone, lose the hurling because of an objection.

Not a lot of people know that.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 19/04/2010 21:22:38    622770

I see that KK have taken me at my word and withdrawn the minor team from the Chamionship.
A better idea might be to take the competition seriously next year.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 20/04/2010 12:05:12    623140