How can Kilkenny be that bad at minor level

Meath 6-26
Kilkenny 0-0

Seriously, that result is sickening. And what I'm saying is that KK must be putting absolutely no effort in to football at all at underage level.
For a start if they aren't going to bother I think they should just pull the young lads out of the football and forget about it.
Beatings like that will do nothing for football and the young lads that play it in the county.
I'll guarantee you they could probably put 3 or 4 of their minor hurling teams out on the pitch (as football teams) and they'd probably beat the KK football team by a similar score. Like lets face it most hurlers who are strong and fit (and at the top of their games) wouldn't be bad footballers either.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 18/04/2010 10:09:37    620686

We get slated for putting teams in. We get slated for not putting teams in. There is no satisfying some people. I bet if Kilkenny minor hurlers played Meath minor hurlers, the result would be the same in reverse.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 18/04/2010 10:21:41    620692

fair play to them for putting a team in at least

nok02 (USA) - Posts: 534 - 18/04/2010 10:32:39    620698

Puddersthecat, putting in a team is one thing. But you have got to take minor football seriously also. Otherwise it defeats the whole point of entering a team in the first place. I know a lad that was on the kk minor team last year and from what I heard off of him, its a disgraceful set up.

Billy_The_Kid (Limerick) - Posts: 63 - 18/04/2010 10:39:00    620702

The problem is that the best footballers in the county won't play therefore its average players (no offence) that are playing for Kilkenny.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1863 - 18/04/2010 10:43:08    620704

Maybe they just couldn't get the players on the day or something like that as it was only a couple of years ago the Kilkenny Minors beat the Louth Minors in Drogheda in the Championship so they must have been doing something right.

Laytown Legend (None) - Posts: 424 - 18/04/2010 11:00:28    620713

But at least the Meath minor hurlers would register a scrore, lol.

Goatsucker (Offaly) - Posts: 265 - 18/04/2010 11:09:04    620716

Hurling county. Simple as that.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/04/2010 11:18:53    620723

It does no one any good to see a beating like this for any team. Kilkenny need to take more of an interest in improving standards in football within the county only competing in the League is not good enough , I think they should be taking advice from hurling counties around them who have been known to be weak football counties but now because of time and investment are starting to improve i.e. Wexford, Waterford, Tipp etc . Wexford have been in Div 1 and are now a strong side that the bigger counties dont like to play, they got to the semi's a few years ago only to be beating by a very good Tyrone side, in the past they were regarded as a hurling county. Kilkenny county board should be putting more time and effort into football in the county if they want to stop beatings like this occuring. as a Meath man I have no doubt Kilkenny minor hurlers would beat a Meath hurling team well but I think they would beat most minor teams well too. We have invested in hurling in the county not to the extent it should be but at least the Nicky Rackard cup and the near misse of getting out of Div 3 shows we are improving slightly

jokerofthelane (Meath) - Posts: 48 - 18/04/2010 11:38:58    620731

I feel sorry for the Kilkenny Minor Football team. The lads probably did go out and try their hardest but they just weren't up to standard at all. It must be horrible for them to have to see the result of that match in the media..

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 18/04/2010 11:52:31    620741

To be fair lads, it was a closer game than the scoreline suggests ;-P

RE: Pudders,

our hurlers wouldn't beat ye but we'd do alot better than your footballers. Hurling situation isn't ideal in Meath but we have at least some pride in ourselves.

LoyalRoyal (None) - Posts: 466 - 18/04/2010 12:08:26    620757

i would see Kilkenny more has a hurling county than a football county....Football in Kilkenny has reallly gone down in the last 10 yrs

Grattonboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 143 - 18/04/2010 12:24:51    620769

Actually I think you'll find a degree of work did go into this Killkenny team, I'd say the standard of club football in Killkenny is just woeful and I'd also question if this was the best 15 footballers in the county. Killkenny have a long, long way to go before they're even competing with other Division 4 teams.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 18/04/2010 12:31:49    620777

Look, if Kilkenny field a team and get a hiding, its a disgrace the neglect blah blah blah.
If we don't field a team, its a disgrace blah blah.

There is work being done on gaelic in the county. But there is very little interest in the sport. I played for my club in gaelic and even have a number of county medals. Can't remeber a single one. But i remember every hurling semi or quarter that i lost let alone final.

Kilkenny football will take years to get anywhere. And people knocking the gaelic footballers on here and in teh media are only setting the sport back in teh county years as why would you want to put the work in when others will just laugh at you.

And there is a lot more going on in gaelic football in teh county than people give credit. Every club has under age teams. And look at the feile results where a number of kilkenny clubs have done fairly well.

Anyway, we're a hulring and handball county. Handball is far bigger in Kilkenny than gaelic will ever be. But no one seems to mention what we do for hurling and handball. Its all football blah blah blah.

Look at Carlow hurling - their clubs play in our league.
Look at Kildare hurling - managed by Andy Comerford.

I could go on. I don't see anyone from a football county coming in to help us.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 18/04/2010 12:46:24    620788

puddersthecat!!! ur sounding a bit like kesha theire.ha

ScoobyDoo (Tipperary) - Posts: 96 - 18/04/2010 13:24:11    620824

Its an embarrassment to the GAA. Sanctions should be imposed on kilkenny for the blatent disregard of gaelic football.

And if their minor hurlers were to play meath, the difference would not be that great. They are the only county that focuses entirely on one of the sports (hurling and football)

Yours in Sport,
Joseff

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 18/04/2010 13:40:47    620848

Maybe the KK footballers could take lads from different counties who couldnt get on their own county team. Kildare hurlers took on lads from Tipp who were brilliant hurlers, but could not get on the Tipp senior team.

jimmy90 (Kildare) - Posts: 160 - 18/04/2010 13:52:40    620860

hurlingguru
County: Carlow

The problem is that the best footballers in the county won't play therefore its average players (no offence) that are playing for Kilkenny.

That was more or less the point I was trying to make. They no doubt could put a better team together. Maybe I didn't explain it aswell as i should.
My argument is that they obviously don't care because they definitely would have the resources to put together a better team.
Meath in hurling would be putting out the best team they could find and to be fair these counties are improving in underage hurling or at least trying it's obvious KK are not.

ColinWex (Wexford) - Posts: 901 - 18/04/2010 14:04:07    620873

Ulster Senior Final 1933:

Cavan 6-13 Tyrone 1-2.

You have to start somewhere.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 18/04/2010 14:33:41    620889

Who does anyone think they are to tell Kilkenny what to do with regards to football. Do people really want money being spent on football in Kilkenny when it could be spent promoting the games in counties where there is interest? There is no interest in football in Kilkenny, and any money spent on the game is money being wasted if there is nobody interested in it. At least in other counties in a similar vein where money is being spent on our games there is a nucleus of interest in the game. Other counties should get their own house in order before criticising Kilkenny and their attitude to the game, because it is absolutely no different to their attitude to hurling.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 18/04/2010 14:36:00    620892