Who is better Rooney or Messi????????

RAM85
County: Westmeath

I mean look at Barcelona's defence. Puyol and Pique. And old man and a nice young fella who could
not get his place at United.

If this thread is about the stupidiest manager I agree.

Fergie.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 29/03/2010 20:38:05    603199

Oh, it is about players.

Well Tevez is better than Rooney, but only about the 3rd best Argentina player, so....................

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 29/03/2010 21:54:31    603423

tevez was so impressing in training and matches for united fergie never bothered trying to sign him untill the last minute. he's good when he gets to be the main man and he was never going to be uniteds main man. 100 grand a week and he wont learn english

speedy12 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 592 - 30/03/2010 13:13:49    603817

Haha this thread made me smile.

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 30/03/2010 15:04:44    604029

603099 Exactly the opposite 32, good football, and good footballers is what i rate. Attacking is one half of football, defending is the other. The game is still going on when you dont have the ball...
It is not the football tyrone play that I dislike, it is the diving, the trying to get others sent off and general level of cheating they, in my opinion, have harnessed as a tactic in their game. Chelsea werent breaking any rules when they got behind the ball and and closed barca down. If the rules had been applied correctly, they would have won...

Exactly right again speedy, if messi is as good as 32 would like us to believe then why cant he carry argentina like he 'carries' barca? If he is such a great dribbler and 'never loses the ball' then, as long as they have a reasonable defence, all they need to do is get him the ball and they should be winning all around them right? They have defenders playing for some of the top sides in the world, and i would argue they have better defensive options than barca, so what does that leave? The facts indicate that there must be something in the barca team that isnt in the argentina team. Maybe a good central midfielder or two to give the attacking options a platform? Wasnt it their central midfield pairing that were absolutely instrumental in spain winning the european championships? Messi isnt the best player in the world, he's not even the best player in barcelona. One of the most spectacular maybe but not the best

you talk some rubbish and continue to contradict yourself. you specifically stated you were against tyrones blanket defence. yet you praise chelsea's blanket defence (because you obviously hate good effective football by a spanish team and want to brown nose the english team AGAIN). obviously you wernt talking about the general level of cheating and trying to get players sent of, as chelsea (who you were supporting) specialise at this. drogba has nearly mastered it, and anelka actually got a barca defender sent of for diving. caught out contadicting yourself again.

one could also argue why doesnt rooney carry england. where was he in the last world cup when it counted. doing nothing and kicking players in the privates because he had a little hissy fit due to him being rubbish.

maybe argentina do (or dont) have better defensive options than barca, but they are not being exploited due to maradonnas rubbish managment. you say you have knowledge on the game of football, yet your here talking about a "good" argentinian defence. they are one of the loosest around of all the top teams. the team is all over the place. its a mess. 100 players in and out, no team chemistry, no defence, players out of position. its nearly an impossible football environment to play in. england are super organised, yet rooneys still average at international level. we cant really judge messi on the international stage until the world cup is over. he wasnt given a chance in the last one and when he came on he scored and caused havoc against serbia. he was also one of the key men in the olympic winning team, and also the u20 world cup winning side.

any time messi was out of the squad the barca central midfield struggled. one good example was against relegation team xerex. they couldnt score and were blunt in attack. then messi came on and changed the whole thing. xavi and iniesta also started in the last euros for spain and created nothing for large segments of the game. hence fabrgas had to come on to turn it on several occassions

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 30/03/2010 17:57:21    604387

speedy12
County: Fermanagh

602535 32_4_1, i dont know where you get off half the time on your ABU rants, we seen it when united played milan and again when they drew bayern. everbody knows messi is good but you make him out to be god and anybody who play for united or even in england rubbish! ronaldo is widely acknowledged by people all over the world as one of the best players on the planet (thats why madird paid 80 million for him) and you try to argue he's not. you argue the spanish league is superior yet you havent replied on the real exit thread where i pointed out in my opinion why its not (based on your theory that spanish teams doing better in the eufa cup shows it to be a better league. as i said on another thread, most defences in spain arent good (poor teams in spain play more open football) and barcelona and real madrid and so far ahead of the rest its a joke. because of their dominance players like messi and ronaldo have more chnaces and should be banging in goals. the reason i rate ronaldo above messi and rooney is that he has done it in both leagues and although messi is ahead of him in the spanish league this is ronaldos first season in it. rooney v messi is hard to call because i watch all united games so all im saying is i think messi but i may have the rose coloured glasses on because messi isnt always as brilliant as high lights suggest (hence why he cant carry argintina) messi is playing in a side that many say is the greatest club side ever so he's not short of help. rooney has help too of course but his form in internationals over the last 12- 18 months only stats i can gte handy are 4 goals in 12 for messi 6 in 8 for rooney.. thats a bit of an essay but had to get it off my chest

there is nothing there to suggest spain have weaker defences in the league in general compared to english team.

i didnt reply because i went over it several times on an earlier thread where you didnt reply. and its not just the uefa cup. the weaker spanish sides have often got to the latter stages of the champions league. villareal, celta vigo, valencia, d. la coruna.

its an advantage playing in england especially if your english as the british hype machine kicks into action.

one of the greatest club sides ever?? how much did they cost to assmeble compared to united. remember when they hammered united last year. they were without £60 million pound striker ibrahimovic and rooney played. the teams in which messi and rooney play in is not excuse, as rooney has always been in a squad costing several times more. yet united fans have always used this as an exuse saying ronaldo and rooney were at a disadvantage. its not excuse at all. uniteds team is more expensive, so if anyones at a disadvantage its messi.

and world cup qualifiers in a rubbish group mean nothing. its all about doing it in the world cup finals where the true greats do it. we'll see where rooney will be then

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 30/03/2010 18:12:45    604417

speedy12
County: Fermanagh

tevez was so impressing in training and matches for united fergie never bothered trying to sign him untill the last minute. he's good when he gets to be the main man and he was never going to be uniteds main man. 100 grand a week and he wont learn english

HE WON'T LEARN ENGLISH???????????????????????

Hopefully this is just nonsense and not Norman Tebbit with a racist post.

learn English. When you can score over twenty something goals playing for a bad lot you don't need to learn English.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 30/03/2010 19:30:39    604529

sorry i didnt realise ypu pick whch internationals count, can we count euros? rooney was quite good in them a few years ago, spanish defences aren't as good and the cost of assembling teams is a differnet topic and barca have done well in that respect. all hail spain what a league 2 teams 18 points or so clear of the rest.

speedy12 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 592 - 30/03/2010 19:46:35    604556

Patrique, are u actually in jail with nothing to do but post on this site 24/7?

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 30/03/2010 19:53:47    604576

Right so ur now telling me what I think? I pointed out what I dont like about tyrone and you tell me no, in fact it is this? Are you for real? Players get away with fouling the guy in possession when a blanket defence is used. They get surrounded, and then nudged and tugged at in the cover of the group. The refs miss it because it is very difficult to see in real time. This in my opinion is a thought out tactic.
And no anelka didnt dive, abidal's legs tangled with his. link
Yes drogba dives, but then name a soccer player who doesnt. All footballers dive, time-waste etc

Nobody is saying that rooney is that good, that he 'never loses the ball', or any of the other ridiculous notions that you have spouted on here. Im merely pointing out that what you are saying about messi doesnt add up and to be honest is bordering farcical, and that back on the real world it is generally accepted that rooney offers more to a football team...

Of course they are better defensively, Demichelis, Heinze, Burdisso, Samuel, Zanetti, Garay, Cambiasso, Mascherano etc, there is no comparison. They are all top class players so it stands to reason that yes they do have a good defence...

Maradonna's management? What has that got to do with anything? Surely a guy who doesnt ever lose the ball can play on the moon and still win games at a canter?

any time messi was out of the squad the barca central midfield struggled. one good example was against relegation team xerex. they couldnt score and were blunt in attack. then messi came on and changed the whole thing. xavi and iniesta also started in the last euros for spain and created nothing for large segments of the game. hence fabrgas had to come on to turn it on several occassions

What about the time against chelsea when messi was playing and they barca couldnt open a can of beans? I can assure you that there is no connection between messi not playing and barca's midfield not performing, because messi doesnt do any midfield play. The only thing he offers is making a run to create some space for the likes of xavi

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 30/03/2010 20:08:05    604605

which is exactly what happens in the chelsea blanket defence. messi got fouled all day long v chelsea. what tyrone do is within the rules also. just because the bottlers mayo cant handle doesnt mean theres anything wrong with it. hypocrite

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kJLw8uA27o0

there, its clear to see his left foot getting tangled on his right foot. chelsea are notorious for being one of the footballs biggest culprits in diving. maybe it wasnt a dive but the cheats got a barca player sent off for nothing

rooney offers more is generally accepted by who? you. o'shea offers more than both. is he better?. the other side of messis game is under-rated.

it wasnt so long ago you were here saying how bad argentina were, and comparing their rubbish defence to a better brazil one. and since when does having a good team on paper translate into actually playing well, or getting results. 100 players in and out tells its own story. you know as well as anyone argentina are a mess, so again argueing fo the sake of it.

and the chelsea game? i might be mistaken but didnt messi get the assist? make of it what you will, he still got it. and made a fool of the chelsea defenders at times

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 31/03/2010 12:41:35    605056

one other thing. johnny giles whos an expert also stated messi never really on the right anymore. so it reinforces the point thats ive always said messi drifts everywhere. so he obviously is around central mid alot and does have a lot of influence there. xavi and iniesta dictate the tempo more, but recently messi has been the player supplying the killer balls and also scoring a lot.

were you not also saying last year ronaldo was far better than any playmaker etc as he scores far more goals and thats all that really counts. so by your own logic what about messi, if you say he's not even the best in barca. your just full of double standards, contradictions and hypocrisy

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 31/03/2010 20:00:00    605801

Didn't see much to excite me tonight regarding Messi and Arsenal were shocking at the back. What happened to the great dribbles............ Goals............... Nothing.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 31/03/2010 21:41:52    605933

oh wow manc irish. one bad game. all his good work up until now should be disregarded. ye thats right, he cant dribble (ragarded as one of the best ever), nor can he score (25 in 25)

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 31/03/2010 21:51:06    605954

32_4_1

Ive never seen this 'messi' fella play before until tonight. Reading all this about him being best player in the world? I had money on him to score at any time but obviously to no avail. And 'the best player in the world's impressive goal scoring record continues against english teams. 1 goal. Yes!! boy. Can i shake your hand 32_4_1. Scores a hat-trick against the mighty zaragoza was it? 32. You dont understand how much i love you...

patrique

Yes spanish league defenders are better than the 'scrap' that plays in england. I understand after tonights result. Some knowledgable men on here

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 31/03/2010 21:55:29    605966

RAM85
County: Westmeath

I mean look at Barcelona's defence. Puyol and Pique. And old man and a nice young fella who could
not get his place at United.

If this thread is about the stupidiest manager I agree.

Fergie.

Now Pat. Is their no "spec savers" near you? It's written in your employers english at the top of the page what the thread is about.
Hope this helps. Love etc.
Ram. xx

RAM85 (Westmeath) - Posts: 978 - 01/04/2010 08:15:29    605991

well if you've never seen him play before then you cant have an opinion. what about the assist in the chelsea game which resulted in winning the tie or his man of the match performance v united in 08 where he played them by himself. when people say messi couldnt play in england its due to every team playing against him with a blanket defence. arsenal dont do that so its an irrelevant arguement. the space was there for messi to cause havoc. he just didnt play well, hence he got subbed.

your the big ronaldo fan right. so why sarcastically dismiss zaragoza. who was ronaldo scoring all his goals against? the football powerhouses stoke and bolton? even if they were rubbish nearly all the great players have played in spain. name the last one to score two hat tricks in a row in the league

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 01/04/2010 15:22:34    606505

32_.... messi was man of the match in 08 against united eh...? well they got ZERO goals in either leg and if im not wrong Scholes got MOTM in both legs... i love your makey-uppie facts

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 01/04/2010 17:39:20    606714

oh right so its all about goals. surely then forlan was better than ronaldo last year, eh. messi was basically playing united by himself. a fluke beat them. barca were in the middle of a run where they hadnt scored in 9 games yet completely dominated the game

and on you top 5 stikers. if you consider messi as a striker why is he 5th when he has superior game-goal ratio's every year than the players you mentioned

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4165 - 01/04/2010 17:44:59    606722

Brolly
County: Monaghan

Patrique, are u actually in jail with nothing to do but post on this site 24/7?

On the posts it usually gives a time and date.

Note that 99% of my posts are between 18.00 and 22:00 hours.

that is a a time span of 4 hours in a 24 hour day, which represents one sixth of a day or 16%.

So the answer is no.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/04/2010 18:12:41    606761