He's one of the few players of whom it can honestly be said that he has won games that the team he was playing on had no right to. That's no insult to anyone and he plays more as a part of a unit with Portumna than he has ever done in college or with Galway who are arguably too dependent on him. He is also one of the few players of my lifetime that you'd nearly go to a match just to see him. DJ was same, as was Tony Doran, and Ring had the same charisma by all accounts. Shefflin maybe doesn't have the same sort of thing going for him and has always been part of teams that could probably have survived without him which is tribute to Cats and Shamrocks rather than a deficit on his part. BUT the records speak for themselves and whether its scoring averages, All Stars, club titles or All Irelands Henry at the moment is the greatest player of his generation and possibly the most effective hurling forward of all time. hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 18/03/2010 16:12:41 591610 Link 0 |
Canning is good but shefflin is awesome!! Lofty (Monaghan) - Posts: 727 - 18/03/2010 17:08:55 591704 Link 0 |
I'm in no way doubting how good joe canning is but when your the main player on a team and everyting goes threw him he's going to look even better. It's more a mark for shefflin when your have a great all-round team and still stand out which he has with ballyhale and kilkenny. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 18/03/2010 17:10:56 591710 Link 0 |
For me the King is the best hurler that I've ever seen. The things he has done in games are actually too numerous to recall. It has been an absolute pleasure to watch him hurl and I hope to see him for another couple of years yet. We are very lucky to have been alive to see him with a camán in his hand. He is our Ring. MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13804 - 18/03/2010 17:35:02 591760 Link 0 |
Impossible to compare them really. Henry is 10 years older for a start and has been playing in the greatest hurling team of all time in recent years. Joe is still 21 and will never win as many senior All-Ireland's as Henry. That said Joe is a far better player at 21 than Henry ever was. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2393 - 18/03/2010 18:01:12 591812 Link 0 |
Shefflin is a manufactured hurler who has'nt a fraction of the ability that DJ Carey had. Tommy Walsh, Eddie Brennan, JJ Delaney, or Eoin Larkin each have far more ability than Henry. He is very consistent in fairness, but is no way the legend that people are making him out to be. Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 18/03/2010 22:02:53 592115 Link 0 |
I would go to a match just to see Canning play, i cant say the same for Shefflin. bosch (Derry) - Posts: 873 - 19/03/2010 09:10:22 592135 Link 0 |
pudderscatt!!! wait till canning is in his 30s and he shud hav plenty more achievments.. ScoobyDoo (Tipperary) - Posts: 96 - 19/03/2010 09:12:06 592136 Link 0 |
Thats a good one about Shefflin being a manufactured hurler Bowens. I thought ye knew something about the game up there in Galway. There is absolutely no comparison between Joe Canning and. Henry Shefflin. Shefflin wins this one by a country mile. Canning will probably win the best hurler to never win an All Ireland by the time he hangs up his boots though. kingdomfan (Kerry) - Posts: 393 - 19/03/2010 09:46:42 592152 Link 0 |
canning is already way ahead of shefflin. a lot of people are comparing them by comparing canning and shefflins club and countys achievmants. you cant do that. shefflin has always had better players around him. canning carrys every team he plays on. he's a freak he's that good. by the time he's finished he could possibly go down as the greatest ever. no comparision here 32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4160 - 19/03/2010 10:44:51 592208 Link 0 |
is there something in the water in Galway...first ondabutton....now Bowens and Shefflin being a manufactured hurler........good lord.....I'd love to be able to "manufacture" another 14 shefflins...sure if it was that easy every county would do it...... Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 19/03/2010 10:45:23 592209 Link 0 |
Brendan Bowens: Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 19/03/2010 10:49:08 592218 Link 0 |
Hopefully Tyrone will be able to manufacture some hurlers of Shefflin's standards! orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 19/03/2010 10:56:28 592232 Link 0 |
To all u scribes who are still on the Henry bandwagon, please read my post again, if necessary get ur friends to help. You should note that l was'nt comparing Shefflin to Canning, but was comparing him to DJ Carey and a number of his current team mates, who have far more natural ability than Henry. He has got to the level he is at now by being a good free taker, being physically strong, having a good command of the basic skills, being extremely consistent on the big day, and by being surrounded on the current Kilkenny team by some of the greatest players to ever play the game who make him look good. He did'nt make the St. Kierans teams, and was an average minor player. So get off the bandwagon, Shefflin would'nt lace DJ Careys boots, though if u want a team of steady joes he's first pick. If u want a team of natural genius, u should be rolling out the likes of DJ, Tommy Walsh, or Eoin Kelly(Tipp). Now i'm sure u'l all spend the rest of ur Friday afternoons at work in a rage! the message board will possibly even be clogged up with replies slating this reporter! BRING IT ON! Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 19/03/2010 13:02:42 592432 Link 0 |
what dose that have to do with it, he didn't make the u16 team when he was 14, i was on the u16 team at home when i was 13 hence i should count myself as better than henry. Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 19/03/2010 15:15:16 592588 Link 0 |
he had to work harder than any other player to get to fitness but i'd still prefer to have Henry than any other player playing now. So because he worked hard he's not a natural hurler. the vision he has can't be manufactured simple as.... KKid (Kilkenny) - Posts: 421 - 19/03/2010 15:22:50 592606 Link 0 |
Hurling needs a few more boys like JC... That way it may just be around in 20yrs. jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/03/2010 15:25:12 592607 Link 0 |
Lads, in all fairness ignore brendan bowens. Joker. hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 19/03/2010 18:44:54 592920 Link 0 |
Joe Canning is a brilliant hurler in his own right. Remarkable at his age that he doesn't have to prove anything. Also Joe doesn't have the quality support players that Shefflin has had all his career. Joe Canning is heavily marked every game and makes alot of the scores himself. Henry Shefflin on the other hand cannot be marked as closely or else you are leaving Brennan, Comerford and co loose. Also Shefflin gets a lot of gifted scores from his teammates. No one is denying his quality as probably the best hurler of all time but ya have to cut Joe some slack here, he doesn't have it as easy as Shefflin in comparision. Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 19/03/2010 20:03:16 593009 Link 0 |
hag and cheese conordee (Galway) - Posts: 453 - 19/03/2010 20:10:00 593021 Link 0 |