Are Meath living on past glory

Plenty of good footballers in Meath. There is a Meath attitude of entitlement. A belief that they are superior. It got them to 2 all ireland semi s in 3 seasons. But in between that they were destroyed by Limerick in the qualifiers. I think The semi final appearances probably flatters them, (they had an extraordinarily easy draw last year) but they arent as bad as results like the Limerick one say. I would have them just below Kildare in the Leinster pecking order. I've always been a big admirer of Meath even though living so close to the border can be difficult to take at times.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1172 - 18/03/2010 14:52:07    591446

Plenty of good footballers in Meath. There is a Meath attitude of entitlement. A belief that they are superior. It got them to 2 all ireland semi s in 3 seasons. But in between that they were destroyed by Limerick in the qualifiers. I think The semi final appearances probably flatters them, (they had an extraordinarily easy draw last year) but they arent as bad as results like the Limerick one say. I would have them just below Kildare in the Leinster pecking order. I've always been a big admirer of Meath even though living so close to the border can be difficult to take at times.

---------------

Oh absolutely , some absolutely cracking youngsters in meath , i dont think meath fans have any attitude problems , and i dont think they believe they are superior and have some sort of god given right to do well , i dont think you can say that type of attitude got them to two semi finals , they just believed they could , nothing more nothing less , they have not always been lucky regarding decisions going their way , but that goes for many teams , i do think they over achieved last year and i believe an all ireland semi final appearence certainly flattered them , though i dont think meath football is in as bad a state as people on the meath board seem to think ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 18/03/2010 15:23:13    591512

Personally I think thats ridiculous, how can a team or supporters for that matter live off glory that they did not achieve?

Now I would just like to state that you can only play whichever team you are drawn against and is put in front of you, Meath done this right up until August 30th 2009 which is more than can be said for a lot of teams. To say it flattered them is extremely disrespectful, they earned it by beating the teams put in front of them. These are amateurs and to say that they didn't deserve where they were last year is an absolute disgrace, they had to play extra matches, put in the extra hours and then they play connacht champions Mayo and beat them, they played Limerick who are quite a good team regardless of what some 'experts' may think, so no I don't think they had too easy a draw, but hey thats the way it goes a draw is a draw and Meath got through theirs so I'm sorry but some posts on this thread anger me because it's not just the luck of the draw, twice in 3 years is no fluke its hard work on the part of the players.

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 18/03/2010 16:27:49    591632

Now I would just like to state that you can only play whichever team you are drawn against and is put in front of you, Meath done this right up until August 30th 2009 which is more than can be said for a lot of teams. To say it flattered them is extremely disrespectful I'm sorry but some posts on this thread anger me because it's not just the luck of the draw, twice in 3 years is no fluke its hard work on the part of the players.

--------

And im sorry but people will have their own opinions , people will say dublin are **** and i would disagree and say no they are talented just arent mentally strong enough under pressure , but sure if someone thinks they are **** thats their opinion , this is a national forum and people will give opinions , mine is (and if you read my post i said nothing negative about meath) but i still believe they got the luck of the draw in that they didnt exactly get kerry or galway in the qualifiers , yous did beat what was in front of yous and well done on that , but it could of been alot harder , people can think what they like ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 18/03/2010 17:08:33    591701

Meath are not living off past glories. From what I have seen watching Meath football my whole life I have never thought that we had any "entitlement" or god given right to do well. There is a belief in all good Meath teams, a belief that they are never beaten until the final whistle blows. That passion has seen them through many a tough match. They play for every ball and never lie down. Last summer a team of footballers from Meath got to an All Ireland semi-final against all the odds. They are not the best team ever to be produced by the county but they are still a very talented team of players with that belief. People may say that they got an easy route through the qualifiers, Waterford a team which is not known for its football, Westmeath a team who are in decline but are gradually trying to rebuild, Roscommon a team who had been flattened by Mayo weeks previously and Limerick who people say were the best team on the day and should have won. Meath have had a fair few descisions go against them in the past and they just got on with it. We were hardly going to tell the ref that he had made the wrong descision and put ourselves at a disadvantage. That is just how the game goes sometimes and that's life. We were then drawn against the Connacht champions who we beat. Again there we people saying that it was just luck that the ref gave more our way but if Mayo were truely that much of a superior team they should have been able to pull themselves together and go out there and beat us.

AnMhi (Meath) - Posts: 57 - 18/03/2010 17:10:57    591711

an mhi

ya if it was a few bad decisions then it wouldnt a been bad but i counted all the bad decisions up and they gave ye a 9-10 point advantage.
3 points- ball carried behind the line
3 points- meath man hopped ball twice befor scoring
3 points- should have been our sideline before yer second goal
1 point- ye scored from 45 that should be a goal kick.

yes, the ref is only human but that is too much.

PRDY (Mayo) - Posts: 141 - 18/03/2010 18:29:58    591837

And im sorry but people will have their own opinions , people will say dublin are **** and i would disagree and say no they are talented just arent mentally strong enough under pressure , but sure if someone thinks they are **** thats their opinion , this is a national forum and people will give opinions , mine is (and if you read my post i said nothing negative about meath) but i still believe they got the luck of the draw in that they didnt exactly get kerry or galway in the qualifiers , yous did beat what was in front of yous and well done on that , but it could of been alot harder , people can think what they like ..

__________________________________---

My post was not directed at you to start with. I do realise people give their opinions but sometimes the spiteful ones etc should be kept to themselves. No they didn't get Kerry or Galway in the qualifiers but they dealt with what they got and fought through a tough Limerick game they beat a good Mayo side and yes they were beaten by Kerry, there is no shame in that. Ofcourse it could have been harder but who is to say we would not have beaten Galway in the qualifiers had we drawn them? Noone can. It takes guts to go out and play infront of 50,000 + spectators as they did against Mayo and Kerry harder? They could have had an oand they should be commended for defying the critics etc for getting there.

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 18/03/2010 18:35:34    591841

PRDY

591837 an mhi

ya if it was a few bad decisions then it wouldnt a been bad but i counted all the bad decisions up and they gave ye a 9-10 point advantage.

yes, the ref is only human but that is too much.

And what the ref got every decision right when it went against us is it?

itsgreenandgold (Meath) - Posts: 312 - 18/03/2010 19:04:06    591870

PRDY you and all Mayo supporter's and Liam McHale have to move on a this stage.In 96 we beat ye fair and square.In the first game you couldn't hang onto a lead,and what diference would it have made if McHale was on the pitch or not.Mayo didn't have the bottle then and they still dont have it now.Last year again you weren't up for the fight and i feel Mayo underestimated Meath big time that day.We scored 1-7 in the last 10 mins of that game and that is what won it for us.And i am sick of hearing 'Meath had a handy draw'People dont realise the the easy route Kildare had to the Lienster final and the easy route Kerry had to the all Ireland Quarter-final.Meath had tough hard games against Westmeath,Roscommon,Limerick and we beat Mayo and underperformed against Kerry.The only easy one i would count was the Waterford match.

Come on the Royals!!!!

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 18/03/2010 19:20:31    591883

PRDY

Totally agree with everyone else.. like Brian Cody roasted Marty Morrisey for his controversial statement about the way the referee reffed the hurling final.. he said sure why don't you go back and judge every single decision the referee made during the course of the match and come back and say whether he was fair or not.. some decisions go against you, some go your way, we weren't complaining because obviously we won.. Mayo had every chance of winning that game, Mortimer should have buried his effort when he got in behind Eoghan Harrington.. stop whinging and move on.. you can't change the past, Meath's win stands and thats all that matters..

RoyalClass (Meath) - Posts: 790 - 18/03/2010 20:01:15    591927

decisions go for/against every team , referees are only human they will make mistakes .. which i will accept (when they are in dublins favour) ;o)

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 19/03/2010 12:57:28    592420

Im living on my own sense of self satisfaction

Lebowski (Meath) - Posts: 363 - 19/03/2010 13:50:14    592488

lebowski , always wanted to ask ye what the craic is with your username , why lebowski ? whats the meaning or is there one ?

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 19/03/2010 15:01:29    592571

For heaven sake Meath havent reached a Leinster Final for how long......!

And yet they've reached two AI semi-Finals... without winning back to back games in Leinster in how long...

The new system is a joke!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/03/2010 15:15:28    592589

Ah yes it's the fault of the system, Meath may not have done well in Leinster since 2001 (you should remember that year Jimbo, Kerry in Thurles etc) but the system is what it is and Meath got good runs for two years of that systems 9 year history. Beating teams such as Galway, Tyrone, Limerick and Mayo on those runs is certainly no joke. Dublin have reached two All Ireland quarter finals in the last two years and have been beaten by a combined total of 27 points so which system is really a joke? I know where Meath's place is in the Leinster football pecking order, and that place is below Dublin but that does not mean that Meath's efforts in recent years should be undermined by making the system out to be a joke!!!

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3772 - 20/03/2010 11:54:53    593256

PRDY

591837 an mhi

in fairness didnt conor mortimer balst over when 1 on 1 with paddy o rourke?? that would have put 6 points in it. so again mayo blew it AND again blame the referee. move on and stop whinging. better team won.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 20/03/2010 13:21:36    593315

db9

stop whinging
-------------------------------------
You're talking to a Mayo person here....

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1466 - 20/03/2010 14:43:52    593393

Mayo had to put toilets in their team bus because every time they got within a mile of Croke Park they wet themselfs!!!!!! ;)

omahonys_man (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 20/03/2010 21:46:04    593691

theyre definetly living in the past, cant see them doin anything major soon, most counties have fans stuck in the past though

cavan for sam

rexbanner10 (Cavan) - Posts: 396 - 21/03/2010 08:44:19    593733

It's a fair comment. We had a shockin easy path to the Quarterfinals. Longford are one of the worst teams in Leinster. Sligo are no better than Leitrim or Roscommon. After those two giants of football, we had to beat hurling county Antrim to get into the last 8. It was a fierce easy route, absolutely. Even someone like Limerick or Wicklow would've got through to the last 8 with that draw

The_Real_IA (Meath) - Posts: 133 - 21/03/2010 10:17:52    593761