Cardinal Brady......Should he go?

Derry_ledd
County: Derry
Only Half??

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 10:47:34    589421

He should go. The shepherds abused their flock. No place for child abusers or people who cover up for them !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/03/2010 10:59:51    589440

If the Catholic church was abolished what would ye boys up the North argue about then??

denzel (None) - Posts: 452 - 16/03/2010 11:25:48    589486

denzel

589486 If the Catholic church was abolished what would ye boys up the North argue about then??

That is without doubt the most stupid, unintelligent post I have ever seen on here, and that is quite an achievement.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 16/03/2010 11:41:49    589517

denzel

589486 If the Catholic church was abolished what would ye boys up the North argue about then??

Probably argue with you denzel.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 16/03/2010 11:45:12    589521

Most on here know my religous views and in particulsr my views on the catholic church, so it will come as no surprise when I say that not alone should he resign but he should be jauled for aiding an abuser.
However could someone try and answer this:

Although I have no beliefs I can remember most of the religous teaching we were thought at school and in church.
Now I can recall mortal sins punishable by spending eternity being burned by the fires of hell. Now while I do not believe in heaven and hell, a man of faith like Brady must be absolutely convinced in their existence.
So therefore, should the man not be absolutely terrified of spending eternity burning in the fires of hell, for aiding Brendan Smyth in commiting these mortal sins.

Now, I know that catholics are taught that if someone confesses and is genuinely sorry then ''god'' will forgive them, however Cardinal Brady has made no attempt to apologise so is obviously not sorry.
Could someone who has faith or knows more about the church's teachings on sins and forgiveness please try to answer this

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 16/03/2010 12:04:45    589549

Liamwalkinstown

I no longer wish to be regarded as "Catholic"
Christian, Yes
Catholic, No

The Catholic Church is the most corrupt, self serving haven for criminals on Gods earth
They are a cancer on Irish society and should be disbanded

I disagree. The corrupt banks and bankers whom many of ye continue to do business with on a daily basis hold that title imo.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 16/03/2010 12:18:57    589567

Of course he should, why should he or anyone else be above the law?

For me, this just further illustrates that the entity of 'the church' doesnt exist, but rather the people who are running the church. They are just like the bankers or the government officials who get too much control of their respective fields and corrupt it to suit themselves. What is that old saying; absolute power corrupts absolutely.

The people i feel sorry for (besides the children involved of course) are the honest people who have spent their lives following the church. Where do they turn now? When you think about it, couldnt the church be guilty of the same accusations that are being placed against christina gallagher?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/03/2010 14:04:54    589710

squidword
County: Louth

589567 Liamwalkinstown

I no longer wish to be regarded as "Catholic"
Christian, Yes
Catholic, No

The Catholic Church is the most corrupt, self serving haven for criminals on Gods earth
They are a cancer on Irish society and should be disbanded

I disagree. The corrupt banks and bankers whom many of ye continue to do business with on a daily basis hold that title imo.

Good point Squidword. I think they are neck and neck myself.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 16/03/2010 16:02:16    589816

fair point squid!!!!!! But at least the banker didn't tell you you would go to hell if you told, they just told you you would go broke!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 16/03/2010 16:19:12    589829

If i was a memeber of that organisation i'd be ashamed, Thank science i'm an Athiest.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 16/03/2010 16:26:20    589838

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

589517 denzel

They'd still have Celtic and Rangers.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 16:57:34    589876

Liamwalkinstown

589829 fair point squid!!!!!! But at least the banker didn't tell you you would go to hell if you told, they just told you you would go broke!

As bad as the bank lads are they didnt systematically allow child abusers a free run.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 16/03/2010 16:59:12    589880

Denzel,

Should your name not be Trigger ?

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/03/2010 17:04:40    589883

Should he resign? Yes.
Will he resign? no.

He simply cannot because itt looks like (I'm not so up to date on the scandal breaking in Germany) the pope has been implicated in something simillar in Munich. So if a cardinal falls for this where would that leave Benedict XVI? The Vatican will tell Cardinal Brady to sit tight I think.

The only hope I have for the Roman Catholic Church is that it's current hierarchy falls and it is left for genuinely spiritual men and women to rebuild.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 16/03/2010 17:05:08    589887

I have to say I'm getting completely disillusioned with the church.
I'm one of very few of my friends who attends church on a fairly regular basis, every two or three Sundays etc.
My family would be mass goers but far from bible-bashers , and religion was never rammed down my throat.
Ive always wanted to keep my little bit of religion going, got married in church a few years ago & intend to get my kids christened when the time comes.
In light of this recent scandal I don't know what to make of it all anymore.
The whole church is rotten to the core, its sickening to think thats what happened & that it was dealt with in such a cold manner.
This carry on was common practice. The Catholic Church ran this country and were above the law.
I believe he should resign no question.

sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 16/03/2010 17:33:50    589928

I listened to Monsignor Corry on Radio Ulsters's Talkback programme today defending Cardinal Brady..........and got angrier and angrier at him. He said that the Church had NO moral obligation to report abusers to the police and that was the responsibility of the parents........or wait for it........the children themselves. You couldn't make this stuff up, the man was so detached from reality that he just didn't get it. He couldn't, or wouldn't, accept that the children's interests and welfare were the most important thing here. Corry seemed more concerned at Canon Law the Church's & Brady's reputation and role in this. There were 100's of Catholics ringing in disgusted and furious and at him. The arrogant heirarchy will eventually destroy the Catholic Church because if they haven't got it by now they never will. The Catholic Church in Ireland is rotten and is so blinded by it's own sense of self importance and self interest that it cannot see the wood for the trees.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 16/03/2010 18:00:42    589957

diffo has to go

donkeykong (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 16/03/2010 18:19:53    589973

15/03/2010 21:35:38
Ulsterman

I always found the Church heirarchy a shower of arrogant, snobby, stuck up so and so's who looked down on most of their flock. I was once sent home by the headmaster of my grammar school because I wore white socks in school; that same man became a bishop

"Sniff" sent me home as well, aned I was a teacher in the place at the time!!!!

A serious man, as was the dean.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 16/03/2010 20:06:04    590083

denzel

---------------------
What is the correct end to break an egg!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 16/03/2010 20:14:52    590101