Divided Loyalties

wolfe tones gaa football club in drogheda play in the louth championship but their football pitch is in meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 13/03/2010 16:04:13    587228

derryman
County: Derry

587089 Does Bellaghy and Charlestown have a similar situation ?

Come on you posters from Sligo and Mayo I amwaiting

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 13/03/2010 16:51:08    587245

derryman

587245 derryman

587089 Does Bellaghy and Charlestown have a similar situation ?

Come on you posters from Sligo and Mayo I amwaiting

Charlestown and Bellaghy are joined together, Bellaghy has a few houses etc. Mayo men in spirit.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 13/03/2010 18:14:06    587292

Ballygar used to play hurling in Roscommon and football in Galway. The great Mattie McDonagh was from Ballygar and in the same year he played minor football for Galway against Roscommon and minor hurling for Roscommon against Galway.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1052 - 13/03/2010 19:20:13    587318

Ulsterman

The Lagan splits Belfast between Co. Antrim and Down with those in the East and part of South Belfast in Co. Down though the city sides play for Antrim. Newry is also split between Down and Armagh with most of it in Down though. I think the roundabout and bridge at Cloughouge are the dividing line but the Down and Armagh people will put me right there.

No Cloughoge is in Killeavy parish its in Armagh
The Clanrye River divides Armagh and Down , so Daisy Hill Hospital is in Armagh too.

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 13/03/2010 19:34:45    587324

Youghal in Cork club of the great Seanie O leary (father of Thomas) Eddie O sullivan and the current GAA president Christy Cooney is just inside the Cork border, once you cross the bridge over the blackwater you are in Waterford and can head towards either Tallow or Dungarvan both of which are a good distance from the border. I'm not sure on the club scene down there but would imagine that anyone living across the bridge around Ardmore etc could have divided loyalties.

Presume similar issue exists on the Kilkenny/Waterford border around Piltown.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 13/03/2010 20:36:27    587373

fredrickwood - since the borders were changed all those years ago, can you not see how people would have been angry and still decided to play their football in mayo

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 12123 - 13/03/2010 20:58:26    587380

I have heard that Brewster Park in Fermanagh is up to the border with Tyrone & when the ball goes over the bar it enters Tyrone.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 14/03/2010 08:51:43    587435

the Moy also straddles Tyrone/Armagh I say that a fair few of there players live on the Armagh side .

All of Moy is Tyrone, when you cross the Blackwater your in Charlemount Co Armagh!

However, some would say, Ryan Mellon is from Co Armagh, his nearest club would be Blackwatertown or Collegelands!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 14/03/2010 16:28:50    587668

Graiguecullen is as good as Carlow town but is officially in Laois. Moneygall is usually referred to as Moneygall, Co. Offaly but the GAA team is in Tipp. Ballina/Killaloe on the Tipp-Clare border is joined by a bridge that became known as the "Garvaghy Road" during the 90s, literally nothing but the Shannon and hurling dividing the two towns.

Mayo/Rossie folks is there a pub near Ballaghdreen called The Sheepwalk Inn and is it just poking fun at the Sheep stealers or is it an actual area?

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 14/03/2010 16:55:20    587688

BIG SACKS

587117 Surprised we haven't heard from malcontents on the Laois/Carlow border yet?

Apart from yourself, all seems well on the west bank.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 14/03/2010 19:49:04    587850

That area is called sheepwalk

thelongfella (Roscommon) - Posts: 66 - 15/03/2010 13:50:16    588453

yew_tree

587380 fredrickwood - since the borders were changed all those years ago, can you not see how people would have been angry and still decided to play their football in mayo

Thank god for yew tree,a Mayo man I can reason with.Yes of course I would expect them to be angry and playing their Football in Mayo is something I completely agree with.In fact I admire their attitude.Remember the Gaa was only 15 years old when in 1899 it was decided GEOGRAPHICALLY that Ballaghaderreen would be in Roscommon.They stuck to their guns and kept playing in Mayo.I am not saying they should play in Ros.I never have.I am simply saying that Ballaghaderreen is in Co.Roscommon.Nobody can deny this.51 says it is in Mayo.No it is not.They just play their football in Mayo.
As I said google Ballaghaderreen and see what county comes up.Nobody in Roscommon has an agenda with where Ballagh play their football,never have.But Ballaghaderreen is in Roscommon.It really is black and white.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 15/03/2010 13:59:20    588462

You never made a mockery of me, you're a rossie for christs sake go and hide away now come the summer once again. I hope ye get to the final so we can destroy ye in your own backyard and put another nail in the rossie coffin, that coffin must be near ready for the ground now. Up Mayo ya shower of --------- god i hate ye, Ballagh will always be Mayo, never an inch will ye get.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 15/03/2010 14:49:49    588536

dhorse
County: Laois

587850 BIG SACKS

587117 Surprised we haven't heard from malcontents on the Laois/Carlow border yet?

Yes all is calm there at the moment ....all our concentration has moved to Galmoy, the second front if you like.

chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 15/03/2010 16:36:16    588709

I worked in Tuam for 2 years & I used always travel to Mayo / Roscommon / Sligo area's.Ballaghadreen was listed on my dockets as Co.Roscommon. Up the road out of the town was Co.Sligo not more than 5 miles & the direction was Co.Mayo.Hard debate this one but I'd always refer to it as Co.Roscommon but the club play in the Mayo Championship.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 15/03/2010 16:55:36    588747

Cargin that provides a lot pf the Antrim players draws its lads from Derry and Antrim.
And I know of one lad who lives on the lough shore in county tyrone who has turned out for the antrim outfit. Although he'd be a Cargin native.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 15/03/2010 17:00:40    588758

chainsaw

588709 dhorse

587850 BIG SACKS

Yes all is calm there at the moment ....all our concentration has moved to Galmoy, the second front if you like.

Things pretty much as Normal on the Strip. Jimmy dune is back hurling for Laois, was a bit of an incursion by "gintlemin"on horseback a few weeks back but it was all blamed on the snow, no foxes hurt which was the main thing.

Not too many clubs around the country that straddle 2 counties

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 15/03/2010 18:11:31    588892