Have you ever shed a tear after a big game?

I have to admit it.... I let a couple of tears go in 2002 when we became Leinster Champions again after a very testing 7yr wait.

I couldnt help myself... it was such a great game to boot and I got caught up in it all...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 11/03/2010 17:19:09    585554

After we lost to Dublin in 1995, I was sure this was going to be the one, alas no! And again in 2003, when Peter the great lifted Sam I dont think there was a dry eye in the house.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/03/2010 17:54:12    585636

O3 i shed one but more in 05 after cormac died in 04 great speach by dooher and interview by harte .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 11/03/2010 17:58:21    585647

After a corn na nog match once, I think we had to win to qualifiy from the group but we were beaten by a last minute goal and i cried a bit

weered92 (Derry) - Posts: 296 - 11/03/2010 17:58:28    585648

I was gonna start a thread like this yeaterday...

I shed a tear after the Waterford game in 07 and after the 3rd game against Tipp. what a year.... Two emotion filled games

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 11/03/2010 17:59:09    585650

I cry after matches on a regular basis, only championship though. I'm not a crier, only when it's to do with GAA. In 2007 I cried when we beat Tyrone. I cried for a week when Limerick beat us in 2008. I cried when Galway beat us in 2001 (I was only 6 and everyone else seemed so upset). I cried again this year when we beat Mayo.

I'm a strange person really... Not many 14 year old girls around who only cry at sporting events.

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 11/03/2010 17:59:48    585651

Brendtheredhand,

I shed a few tears in 2003 myself when a 20 stone Tyrone supporter jumped on my foot trying to get onto the pitch !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 11/03/2010 18:05:24    585658

Losing to Cork in the 1991 minor semi final
Charlie Redmonds penalty miss in 92

for different reasons

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 11/03/2010 18:25:37    585689

When arsenal lost the champions league final and when zidane was sent off in the world cup final. Im still not over that one

zidane (Galway) - Posts: 272 - 11/03/2010 18:48:23    585710

Only once. Losing to Tyrone in 08 championship. I just didn't see it coming.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 11/03/2010 18:57:52    585728

After my club won the county final in 08

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 11/03/2010 19:08:44    585741

after my own clubs junior A hurling west tipp divisional final the whole parish was crying after one of the players mothers had died about 6 days before.she went to every game and she had 3 sons,a nephuw playing and a nephuw training the team so it was terrible sad.i also shed a tear after the all ireland in 09

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 11/03/2010 19:33:33    585769

Bigman - an emotional post there. Have to say though that your spelling of the word nephew really made me cry!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 11/03/2010 20:05:03    585810

No not yet.

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 11/03/2010 20:11:47    585831

A few times.
Won an u-16 championship in 1998 a junior in 2004. Got quite emotional on both occasions. Won several leagues but never shed a tear after them.
When Leitrim won the Connacht champ in 1994.
Also when Sligo Rovers won the cup in 1994.

I cried for different reasons after the UEFA cup final of 2003 and after the FAI cup final last year and when Ireland lost on penalties to Spain in 2002.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 11/03/2010 20:44:25    585893

Only once. Losing to Tyrone in 08 championship. I just didn't see it coming.

----------

in fairness i think that one hurt more then the kerry defeat last year , i remember getting to croker early , standing on the hill at about 3 o clock , with the floodlights on , i remember dublin couldnt catch a ball in the warm up and thought , good god this game will either be very scrappy full of mistakes , or it will be an amazin game of ball from both counties in terrible weather , i remember thinking too that i may never ever experience a championship game under lights that throws in at 4 .. i was absolutely soaked , we got absolutely butchered , fair play to tyrone but the fact we bottled it so bad really hurt , it was the first time i experienced such humiliation , i remember leavin croker that day and the sun came out and i just thought whoever is up there is havin a right feckin laugh at me right now ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 11/03/2010 20:48:21    585899

Cavan_Slasher

585658 Brendtheredhand,

I shed a few tears in 2003 myself when a 20 stone Tyrone supporter jumped on my foot trying to get onto the pitch !!
----------------------------
Not guilty Slasher!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 11/03/2010 20:48:59    585901

a county u 14 final in 08..lost after extra time in the replay.the 2009 all ireland final,the game against cork in the qualifiers in thurles a few years bak,and the day my own club went bak up senior in 2007:)

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 11/03/2010 20:55:36    585914

Tipp v clare all-ireland final 1997 that one hurt bad!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 11/03/2010 21:22:13    585958

Dellboypolecat

O3 i shed one but more in 05 after cormac died in 04 great speach by dooher and interview by harte .

You were not alone. Dell.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 11/03/2010 21:25:16    585968