i said it after most games so far ... if i had of been offered that result prior to the game id of bitten your hand of , delighted with the lads , a better performance then last week too .. positives can be taken out of it , i think ste cluxton looked very assured between the sticks (there was a moment after the monaghan goal that he took a kick out that went straight to a monaghan player but apart from that nearly all his kick outs stuck to a dublin player) , The full back and half back lines where ok , i was happy enough with them , there where some times when they looked shaky but i wouldnt be overly concerned , the forwards where a little better and we created an awful lot in this game , much more then previous games , maybe we need to be a little bit more clinical in goal scoring posistions but once them chances dont come back to haunt you , im over the moon with our league campaign so far , we are absolutely certain to avoid relegation now and that was the aim , if we win one more game we are likely to be in the final too providin other results go our way , and that will be a big boost , IF we get there waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 11:27:18 587484 Link 0 |
Would be refreshing to see Dublin make the final, probably going to be against Cork one might suspect. Dublin seems to have done fantastic work with its defence and new batch of players. Maybe some good will have come from that heavy defeat to Kerry in the championship last year. If it had of been a narrow loss, less new blood would have been pursued this season. John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 14/03/2010 12:40:34 587535 Link 0 |
Another performance to be pleased with brogan clocking up more scores who would of tought we would have 4games 4 wins an a chance to play in the final fair play to them on their performance so far an hope they keep it up ... DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 14/03/2010 12:52:12 587539 Link 0 |
johnboss , i said it to a mate of mine after the kerry game that , it might just be the best thing to happen dublin GAA in a long time , because it wasnt just a one year thing as this happened in 08 against yourselfs , and for it to happen again just proved that we needed a complete reform and thats happening now , im not saying the team we have now will compete for all irelands , but in maybe 3 or 4 years if we keep building , we may just start competing again , only time will tell , a complete rejig is what was needed and thanks be to god pat gilroy has the balls to do it .. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 12:58:40 587544 Link 0 |
Yes, i have to hold my hands up at this stage. I was quick to suggest Dublin were in false sense as of where they were at, but one has to take notice now, they have been tested physically too and passed with flying colours. You would think they will give the championship a right lash now. This years quest for sam in my opinion will see a different pattern develop, Cork i know have been knocking on the door and would be most peoples fancy at this stage(despite last ni, let me down for an accum), but Dublin, Mayo, Meath and maybe Galway will be in with a real shout if they believe and take their chance. 51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/03/2010 13:17:08 587557 Link 0 |
waynoI, Dublin cannot really afford to lose more than one game, but really winning one will guarantee a league final place, and losing all of them would not rule Dublin out given that there are a good number of teams on 2 points who are going to take points from the other league challangers. Dublin have not been bad this past few years and have the core of a good side which was a bit brittle in defence. This new injection along with Gilroy decides is the pick of the best of the rest gives hope that the wait might not be that long. The confidence that comes with a NFL title would be substantial, although if as I suspect that Cork makes the final, that would be quite a battle. Even if a final was lost though it would represent progress maing a national final in comparison to the last few seasons when Dublin had no tangible evidence of improvement. John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 14/03/2010 13:19:26 587561 Link 0 |
john without a shadow of a doubt , couldnt agree more regarding the substantial confidence it would give , my main worry would be that IF dublin made a league final , not only would it add to the confidence of the team but the hype around the city would go up a notch and dublin dont need that right now , our aim was to simply avoid relegation , nothing more especially with the new blood coming through now , we have exceptionally over achieved so far , id be disappointed if we dont get to a league final now even though we have over achieved , it would be nice to say we got there , 4 wins have been enough for some teams in the past i hope its enough for dublin .. our defending has been considerably better of late , the full back line in particular have come up against some big fellas like donaghy o shea rory woods and tomas freeman to name but a few and i cant remember them being really battered .. i really hope tyrone dont get relegated , cant see it though i can see it being derry and monaghan , no disrespect to those two waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 13:47:21 587576 Link 0 |
51longago , dublin are in a serious stage of transition now , you wont see them challenging for sam this year , you wont see meath challenging either in my opinion (no disrespect to the royals) , i think it will be the same three teams fighting it out to be in the final , kerry cork and tyrone , while people should stand up and take note of dublins recent form , they should not forget that this is the league , many teams will improve significantly between now and the summer when the serious stuff kicks in , its good to see dublin do well (unless your an anyone but dublin) , but lets not forget that its only march and each win its just a minor step on a very long tedious journey waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 13:54:39 587578 Link 0 |
Spot on wayno. NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 14/03/2010 14:03:55 587584 Link 0 |
meath are useless at this stage and i wouldnt be confident of beatin laois if we even get past offaly. donaldo (Meath) - Posts: 352 - 14/03/2010 16:03:48 587647 Link 0 |
meath are useless at this stage and i wouldnt be confident of beatin laois if we even get past offaly. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 16:15:10 587656 Link 0 |
I get the vibe, ye are trying to keep it low key, not blow it out of proportion, it seems it's a bit of a tactic in response to previous years where hype was the downfall and while thats all good and well, it would not be good to get too negative on your chances for the summer. 51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/03/2010 16:21:33 587662 Link 0 |
I get the vibe, ye are trying to keep it low key, not blow it out of proportion, it seems it's a bit of a tactic in response to previous years where hype was the downfall and while thats all good and well, it would not be good to get too negative on your chances for the summer. waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 16:40:59 587679 Link 0 |
I am just talking in general here, i personally don't have any love for Dublin. 51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 14/03/2010 18:53:53 587789 Link 0 |
Jeez living somewhere where you don't like the people must be very stressful for ye 51!?:). I, adore the dubs and am loving our consistency this year so far and if this is as good as it gets for us this year, it's more than I could have wished for after the Kerry game last year. Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/03/2010 19:34:30 587830 Link 0 |
cant say im a huge lover of mayo but i fully respect them and their fans if they have the right attitude waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 20:37:35 587932 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 14/03/2010 20:51:13 587955 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 14/03/2010 20:54:07 587958 Link 0 |
Tom what did you make of the game last night ? waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13659 - 14/03/2010 20:55:29 587961 Link 0 |
Haven't seen it in any reports in the papers but does anyone know how bad Paul Griffins injury was. NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 15/03/2010 09:09:35 588085 Link 0 |