Best score you have seen at a Match

i agree with padar cartons goal last year. maybe not the best ever but definitely my best last season. the dubs were under extreme pressure conseding sideline after sideline near their goals then carton picked it up near his own twenty one. a few passes later and he is riffling it to the far top corner from the other 21. brilliant goal.

Baker the glen (None) - Posts: 371 - 09/04/2008 09:47:55    5112

'The real Joe Joe'.
You are an imposter!
Come clean and tell us what you have done with Joe Joe!
The Guards will be knocking on your door!
Imposter!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 09/04/2008 10:25:38    5127

Mulligan Dublin 05. Need I say more...:-)

Fred (Tyrone) - Posts: 34 - 09/04/2008 10:38:18    5134

just remembered Zac Tuohys goal in the minor final last year...wat a cracker

howshecuttin (Longford) - Posts: 376 - 09/04/2008 12:31:41    5236

"mugsy foulded the ball four seperate times before scoring- that is the only reason its famous cause it shouldnt have being allowed on 4 different levels, he fouled the ball twice as in changing hands - not allowed, and he first took 8 steps and then 9 - i loved it because who it was against but it can never be considered the best as it shouldnt have stood on so many levels- it definately would top of the novelty lists though, even if he didnt foul the ball on any of the 4 ocassions it still isnt within an asses roar of eamon o haras goal last year that is probably the best goal ever witnessed on this island it had everything pace power etc etc- mugsy shot too was straight at cluxton - any decent keeper would have stopped it, watch it again on you tube cluxton just falls back into the goal before anything happens and the ball is hit straight at him- it was a very poor shot in fairness and any decent keerer would have punished him for it"
Ball-boy

Further proof that this man does not a thing about football!!
is the you tube link to the greatest goal scored!! mulligans shot was stuck over cluxton and out of his reach!! the build play is excellent!! also he did not foul the ball he always has at least one hand on the ball at all times when changing hands! if u look up ur rule book thats legit!! O'haras goal was good but not as good as mulligans

Wicklow Wonder (Wicklow) - Posts: 108 - 09/04/2008 18:15:51    5466

Has to be Mikey Sheehy's goal against Paddy Cullen in 1978 - its as alive in the memory today as it was 30 years ago.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 09/04/2008 21:27:57    5514

spuddy....just say it...C Mc D is the best thing sice sliced bread to all you people from mayo. you think he is sent by god when a decent marker such as ricey wud giv him a roastin. Mulligans goal........u wont c better.

Academy (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 11/04/2008 19:13:02    6338

Barney Rock scored a brilliant goal against Galway in 1983 All-Ireland Final (chipped goalie after a poor kickout) - the conditions were bad at the time and this goal was the turning point in the game. Rock is rarely mentioned now - but was easily the best Dublin forward I've ever seen (Dub's sorely missing someone like him now)

MayoGael (Mayo) - Posts: 6 - 11/04/2008 19:51:48    6358

Anyone who saw Dessie Dolans score against mayo in castlebar a few years ago will agree with me that although there is probably better scores than it , it has to be up there with the top scores.Just picture it, left hand corner of the pitch on the end line,12 yards from the end line,would be the perfect kick for a left footed person,Dessie Dolan took it on his right and I dont think a left footed person would have kicked it as good.

southsider (Westmeath) - Posts: 132 - 11/04/2008 21:52:53    6398

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder and therefore i choose a point that Peter Canavan scored against Derry in the Ulster semi final of 1995. Nostalgia always helps your memories but he danced through the Derry defence before being hit by Henry Downey with a perfectly timed shoulder. Canavan was knocked down onto one knee before bouncing back up and kicking the ball over the bar with his left foot. Pure Genius

time ticking away (Tyrone) - Posts: 53 - 11/04/2008 23:01:32    6404

Kevin Cassidy against Cavan about 5years ago hit a point from the 40 on the sideline with the outside of his bad foot - majestic!

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1435 - 12/04/2008 00:28:08    6425

Was sitting in the Upper Cusack,at the Canel end 45 when Owen Muligan got out in front of Paddy Christy end went on to roast the rest o the dublin defence before dispaching the ball past cluxton.It was an amazing feeling.
Brian Sheehens free kick from almost 60 meters into the hill end, also against the dubs last year was pretty good to!

horn neck (None) - Posts: 28 - 12/04/2008 16:23:33    6546

Type this into You-Tube lads and do your heart some good: 2007 Leinster U-21 Hurling Final
Say what ye like lads, but this is the greatest hurling goal EVER!
Peadar Carton (Dublin V Offaly)....started on the near sideline by his own interception....and finished with a rasper after collecting a pass without a break in his stride!

Pure CLASS that will never be surpassed!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 15/04/2008 10:27:01    7233

Maurice Fitz against Cavan (it may have been the game played in New York) where he stopped the ball going over the endline with a backheal to a team-mate. He then looped right around to collect the return pass and float over a point

Eamon McEneaney's injury time free against Kerry in 1985. Monaghan a point down and its the last kick. Class stuff

Kevin Foleys goal against the Meath v Dubs saga of the early 90's

Tim_NicebutDim (Monaghan) - Posts: 347 - 15/04/2008 10:49:06    7249

'Academy' - spuddy....just say it...C Mc D is the best thing sice sliced bread to all you people from mayo. you think he is sent by god when a decent marker such as ricey wud giv him a roastin. Mulligans goal........u wont c better.

The topic is about the best score you have seen, not about who would roast who......... You cant deny C Mc D is a class player and has hit some wonderful scores. I agree Mugsy's goal was class, I was watching that game at home :) - we appreciate good football in Mayo! Please dont turn this into another anti-anything-Mayo thread, we have enough of those thanks to u know who...

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 15/04/2008 11:20:12    7275

declan meehans goal against kerry in the 2000 all ireland final replay...unreal pass from paul clancy made it but what a finish...
also mihael donnellans wonder point against kildare in 98.
another that springs to mind is niall finnegans point gainst sligo in the connacht championship in 98...practically on the endline in the left corner curled it over with the aid of a strong breeze....class.....

BTK (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 15/04/2008 15:03:03    7412

Has to be Jacko's goal in 1981 final v Offaly. Started from Nelligan in goal,about seven passes and finally Jacko let fly from about 25 yards. Martin Furlong didnt even see it.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 15/04/2008 15:59:09    7448

I'd put O'Haras goal in ahead of Mulligans for two simple reasons:
1. O'Hara did not foul the ball on two occasions in the build up to taking the shot and
2. Eoin Mulligan is expected to score goals against big teams, no disrespect but O'Hara isn't.

Shinners (Longford) - Posts: 496 - 15/04/2008 16:28:25    7459

Eamonn McGee's point for Donegal in last years League Final. Hit the insurance point with his wrong foot, on the run, from the 45 and tight to the side-line in Croke Park. Best ever.

donegal_insider (Donegal) - Posts: 584 - 15/04/2008 16:30:58    7462

Best Goal - Mulligans goal v Dublin
Best Point - Fitzgerald point from sideline kick
Personal Favorite - James Glancy's (Leitrim) last kick of the game goal in last years qualifier game v Donegal to bring the game to extra time. Lifted the roof off the new stand in Pairc Sean McDiarmada last summer.

Leitrim Lad (Leitrim) - Posts: 264 - 15/04/2008 17:11:34    7480