Mayo"s chances against the Dubs.

579229 Dublin (NFL v Mayo): S Cluxton; P Conlon, M Fitzsimons, P McMahon; P Griffin, C O'Sullivan, G Brennan; E Fennell, R McConnell; A Hubbard, P Flynn, K Bonner; D Henry, M D MacAuley, K McManamon.

Subs: S Supple, C McCormack, N O'Connor, H Gill, K Nolan, P Casey, J Brogan, D Carrigan, D Magee, C Murphy, T Diamond, B Brogan, D Kelly, B McManamon, P Andrews.

Strong looking team... Gillers wants two points.

Am looking forward to seen what Micheal MaCauley is like at full forward, and that Cian O'Sullivan impressed me against Derry, but I can't understand why giller is persisting with Kevin Bonner.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 04/03/2010 17:04:16    579259

to the dubs worried about mayo ultra's hiding in wait down dark streets

------

and they call us the soccer fans ? ..... mayo ultras ? ha ha ha , i can't wait to see these , are they between the ages of 14-17 by any chance .

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/03/2010 17:04:47    579260

PJ

579259 jimbodub

579229 Dublin (NFL v Mayo): S Cluxton; P Conlon, M Fitzsimons, P McMahon; P Griffin, C O'Sullivan, G Brennan; E Fennell, R McConnell; A Hubbard, P Flynn, K Bonner; D Henry, M D MacAuley, K McManamon.

Subs: S Supple, C McCormack, N O'Connor, H Gill, K Nolan, P Casey, J Brogan, D Carrigan, D Magee, C Murphy, T Diamond, B Brogan, D Kelly, B McManamon, P Andrews.

Am looking forward to seen what Micheal MaCauley is like at full forward, and that Cian O'Sullivan impressed me against Derry, but I can't understand why giller is persisting with Kevin Bonner.

Absolutely man.. we have some good options at full forward at the minute.. Plenty of lads battling for places... That's what we need...!!

Bonner is obviously putting the work in at training... and with our current game plan of getting men back behind the ball maybe he feels Bonner is well suited for this strategy

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/03/2010 17:09:36    579264

waynoI

579255 Dublin have'nt beaten Mayo in Caslebar in the League since 1992, so I suppose you could say Mayo have a fair chance of winning this one.

-----

yes and before killarney wasnt it 1990 the last time we beat kerry in their back yard ? previous meetings mean nothing come sunday .. its a game of 70 minutes and thats that , mayo have as good a chance as dublin , simple as that

This is true Wayno, but I reckon the Mayo team will be a bit more prepared for this one than the Kerry team were in Killarney.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 04/03/2010 17:11:08    579266

waynoI

579260 to the dubs worried about mayo ultra's hiding in wait down dark streets

------

and they call us the soccer fans ? ..... mayo ultras ? ha ha ha , i can't wait to see these , are they between the ages of 14-17 by any chance .

Lol, and they'll all be armed with wooden spoons too. Better bring me Spinnach!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 04/03/2010 17:13:57    579272

-----

yeh me neither , especially when you have B.McMenamon on the bench and Bernard Brogan , MacAuley has been very good at full forward so far this year , he is likely to drop back as a third midfielder at times too . Cian O'Sullivan is class too but there are a few there who look promising , Kevin Mc's goal against Derry will be hard to beat for not only goal of the league but goal of the whole calendar year in my opinion , Blaine Kelly who isnt playing also looks good and Alan Hubbard looks like a good option and cornor forward

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/03/2010 17:14:31    579274

Lol, and they'll all be armed with wooden spoons too. Better bring me Spinnach

----

Would you believe i was just thinking the exact same thing ha ha

and yea i know what your saying and you could well be right but im quietly confident about this one , both teams will be high on confidence after winning their opening two games , if dublin can get off to a good start and gain a bit of momentum then i believe we can do it , this is just another minor step though , personally i think a loss might not be a bad thing , but a win and two points will be the main objective , if we win we are all but certain to avoid relegation , and that was our aim for the league prior to the league opener in Killarney especially with the experimental side .

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/03/2010 17:23:00    579291

Ha ha its gas looking at some of thse comments about crowd trouble and all.....talk about nonsense!!! The Dubs just like any county are well and truely welcomed to McHale park!!

Prediction : Mayo - 0-13
Dublin-0-12

clubstar09 (Mayo) - Posts: 463 - 04/03/2010 17:23:50    579295

Anyone know if the game is on tg4 on sunday? Might be a safer option to watch it in the house. All the talk on here of taking spinach and the like is making me a little wary i have to say. Dont forget, a few years ago the dubs fans burst on to the field while the game was still being played putting the players in real danger. Even cluxton had to tell them to cop on and get off the field til the game was over. He was clearly very embarrassed about his own supporters. It might even be time to ban dublin supporters from all away grounds. I know a number of good mayo supporters who will not be attending on sunday due to fears for their safety. That is not what the GAA is about

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 04/03/2010 17:42:55    579327

WB, i hear what you're saying? Will there be extra garda on duty at game? Maybe segragation would be the best way of dealing with potential trouble makers from the capital.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 04/03/2010 17:53:05    579334

As far as i know the army and the garda riot squad are on standby, so the 50 or so dubs supporters who bother to travel had better behave. And that especially goes for well-known hill16 regulars and known ringleaders Liamwalkinstown and jimbodub

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 04/03/2010 18:07:07    579352

whiterbannnas

579327 Anyone know if the game is on tg4 on sunday? Might be a safer option to watch it in the house. All the talk on here of taking spinach and the like is making me a little wary i have to say. Dont forget, a few years ago the dubs fans burst on to the field while the game was still being played putting the players in real danger. Even cluxton had to tell them to cop on and get off the field til the game was over. He was clearly very embarrassed about his own supporters. It might even be time to ban dublin supporters from all away grounds. I know a number of good mayo supporters who will not be attending on sunday due to fears for their safety. That is not what the GAA is about

If this is not what its about then why were Mayo supporters subjecting Cluxton to fowl and abusive language for the entire game? I was there and it was like something out of Ibrox. Mayo supporters behaved like they were at a fair day faction fight during the 18th century.

JimmyK (Dublin) - Posts: 240 - 04/03/2010 18:31:31    579382

and WaynoI who is also a reg. on Hill 16

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/03/2010 18:32:12    579385

whiterbannnas

579352 As far as i know the army and the garda riot squad are on standby, so the 50 or so dubs supporters who bother to travel had better behave. And that especially goes for well-known hill16 regulars and known ringleaders Liamwalkinstown and jimbodub

Just do what the Dubs tell you to do and you'll be safe enough.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 04/03/2010 18:36:41    579392

Ya I think two points is a reasonable target, although lookin at that line-up, i cant see where they will come from. Hubbard might kick one, but who will manage the other?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/03/2010 18:55:03    579420

Dublin 1-15
Mayo 0-13

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 04/03/2010 19:31:24    579469

Dublin 3 14
mayo 0 - 11

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 04/03/2010 19:33:39    579470

Such a load of rubbish on this thread dubs fans come to castlebar 4 the weekend and the match just like other teams fans and there s no trouble only bit of craic ,they bring lots of fans with them and like all teams fans there a 1r 2 egits like mayo when we get to dub allways 1 or 2 ,but they are welcome and good craic at a match as for the match should be good with mayo at home and dubs with out the brogans mayo should beat them but we ll see.........

dannyone (Mayo) - Posts: 176 - 04/03/2010 19:51:28    579496

spot on dannyone

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 04/03/2010 20:06:30    579514

I think it will be nearer a draw.

mayo.mick (Mayo) - Posts: 585 - 04/03/2010 20:07:36    579518