James O Brien returns to Limerick hurling panel

james o brien deserves huge credit he put limerick hurling first and at the end of the day the most important thing is limerick hurling, i for one as a limerick hurling fan salute his return

longtermfan (Limerick) - Posts: 120 - 04/03/2010 14:53:55    579074

"This means that the county board and justin must be humble in victory and the 2009 players must not be bitter in defeat."

No hint of triumphalism in between the lines there cove???!! I wouldn't class going down to Division 2 / Christy Ring a victory, would you?
I'm not one bit disappointed. If anything, it should ensure that Justin stays in place for at least the remainder of the year. The biggest travesty would be for Justin to be turfed out and a caretaker manager along with an inexperienced team being left to carry the can for the year.

treatyspartan (Limerick) - Posts: 212 - 04/03/2010 14:56:17    579078

mike03
County: Limerick

578921 Sammy where and when has justin and his backroom team shown a lack of dignity??

droppind shaughs and mark foley

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 04/03/2010 15:09:25    579106

treaty, i apologise if my comments come across as triumphant, that was not my intention. The last thing limerick hurling needs now is to permanently alienate anyone. the dispute is almost over, there should be no winners or losers and and no permanent scars left behind. we must avoid the cork 2002 situation which resulted in two further disputes and and the scars of which are only now being healed under denis walsh's guidance.

For this to happen means that people like yourself treaty respect the decision of players to come back to the panel. likewise if there are players who don't come back, their decisions should also be respected. it's time to move on. Limerick hurling has turned a corner, there's a very long road back, let's face it Limerick will probably not be capable of beating offaly, dublin or wexford in 2010. That's the scale of the challenge that's ahead but good foundations can be laid if the final days of the dispute are handled correctly.

cove (None) - Posts: 683 - 04/03/2010 15:19:46    579115

miketyson

Dropping Shaughs? Have you had your haed in the clouds for the last few months?

Ciotog (Limerick) - Posts: 56 - 04/03/2010 16:02:07    579159

No need to apologise cove - you're passionate about the thing anyways. I'd love to share your optimism, but i think it will take a long while to heal this rift. I genuinely don't see a few players returning as being a bad thing. If Justin is to remain on, then he needs to acknowledge his part in creating this dispute. That would be construed as extending the olive branch to the departed players. For that matter, the players have to hold their hands up as well. Only then can we all move on.

treatyspartan (Limerick) - Posts: 212 - 04/03/2010 16:20:19    579191

Freetaker i am on here about the good of the limerick team while people like you go on and on and on about Drinking culture that was there in 96 aswell and its still there in members of the 2010 panel i am a witness to that so grow up stop taking swipes at the 09 panel its seems people have personal issues with certain memebers of that team . We NEED some of those players back end of story but i tell you if you for once think this year panel is sqeeky clean think again. Talk about what happens on the field for a change . Yes last year wasnt good by any means and they must take stock of that but so does JUSTIN and this thing about some fellas playing in wexford going on the tear and missing training is rubbish .They were all present however ask the question where was JUSTIN that morning not in UL

sammy27 (Limerick) - Posts: 45 - 04/03/2010 16:33:49    579209

Sammy excellent points and well made.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 04/03/2010 16:45:41    579230

Do you know where he was Sam?

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 04/03/2010 17:30:15    579309

limerick hurling comes first always ye are like a bunch of women arguing over 09 panel and other limerick teams of the past and who is right or wrong this is now 2010 and all i say is fair play to James O Brien for changing his mind and putting limerick first he is a bigger man for it and heres hoping the rest of the players come back for the good of limerick hurling

dagans (Limerick) - Posts: 7 - 04/03/2010 18:02:51    579348

Sammy im not having a go at you but i think u r fightin a major losing battle to be lookin for justin to go, for the forseeable future he is staying and u may as well get used to it. And i dont know how u can even remotely say he wasnt right for waterford, they hadnt won a munster championship in 29 years til he took over and with him they went on to win 3 in 5 years and a national league and but for us catching them in 07 would possibly have won the all ireland

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 04/03/2010 21:09:07    579617

justin should of dropped o'brien lst november useless he is

ilovemattrae (Limerick) - Posts: 35 - 04/03/2010 21:09:25    579618

Any truth in the rumour mick mackey, jackie power and pat hartigan turned up for training tonight????

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 04/03/2010 21:27:58    579656

ilovemattrae that comment is uncalled for James o Brien is not useless while i admit he is not a leading light or a contender to start i feel he is a very good alternative when used as an impact sub seen him a few times when he came on over the last couple years has been excellent workrate chipped in with a few scores etc

Kenlim (Limerick) - Posts: 864 - 04/03/2010 21:38:29    579668

keyword a few scores he's crap

ilovemattrae (Limerick) - Posts: 35 - 04/03/2010 21:49:14    579686

Where was James last night?????????? This latest PR stunt by the county board may have been the last straw. Now they have implicated John Tuohy in their attempts to put a positive spin on activities before next weeks meeting, he will have to go as well as he has lost the credability that he had.This stunt of James being back for one night with others on the way has backfired.What amazes me is that so many genuine Limerick supporters cant see the county board and Justin for what they are at, which is to stay in their positions at all cost, regardless of the damage to our team ( and its all of ours team ).
Our Secretary an PRO fail to update the website or have our results on the Monday papers each week, yet when James O Brien trained on Tuesday night they were able to have that on Wednesday morning papers, you could'nt make it up. Bertie and FF would'nt get away with it.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 05/03/2010 09:15:23    579727

Here, there's no need to be coming on here and accusing the 2010 panel of not being squeaky clean. Dont drag them into the same rubbish as some of the members of the 2009 panel have been going on with for years and years. They're a bunch of lads who have committed to playing for their county and they're happy and proud to be doing it and for a team who played together for the first time a few weeks they're getting it together. I havent seen a 24 point loss yet, have you?

citygaa (Limerick) - Posts: 13 - 05/03/2010 10:14:05    579762

treatyspartan

No need to apologise cove - you're passionate about the thing anyways. I'd love to share your optimism, but i think it will take a long while to heal this rift. I genuinely don't see a few players returning as being a bad thing. If Justin is to remain on, then he needs to acknowledge his part in creating this dispute. That would be construed as extending the olive branch to the departed players. For that matter, the players have to hold their hands up as well. Only then can we all move on.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Treaty, i think we agree on something for the first time!

cove (None) - Posts: 683 - 05/03/2010 10:18:57    579765

ilovemattrae it is not right to call any player who wore the green gersey useless you must have forgotten the great point he got against waterford in croke park 2007 when waterford were coming back at us in my opinion he has shown great bottle in returning and deserves great credit for it

dagans (Limerick) - Posts: 7 - 05/03/2010 10:29:55    579771

Clubgaa

Where was James last night?????????? This latest PR stunt by the county board may have been the last straw. Now they have implicated John Tuohy in their attempts to put a positive spin on activities before next weeks meeting, he will have to go as well as he has lost the credability that he had.This stunt of James being back for one night with others on the way has backfired.What amazes me is that so many genuine Limerick supporters cant see the county board and Justin for what they are at, which is to stay in their positions at all cost, regardless of the damage to our team ( and its all of ours team ).
Our Secretary an PRO fail to update the website or have our results on the Monday papers each week, yet when James O Brien trained on Tuesday night they were able to have that on Wednesday morning papers, you could'nt make it up. Bertie and FF would'nt get away with it.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

clubgaa will you ever cop yourself on. james o brien coming back onto the panel is hardly a stunt or spin! the only one spinning anything is you. I don't know how you can say that john touhy is somehow implicated in anything? Everyone else on this board is talking bout how Limerick hurling can move on and start healing the rifts caused over the past couple of months and you're still looking for conspiracy theories. You're some man for one man, I bet you used to love the x files! You see propaganda and spin everywhere, Dr Goebbels would be proud of you or his modern day equivalent Barack "the waffler" Obama.

cove (None) - Posts: 683 - 05/03/2010 12:15:03    579889