Kildare Game

Well lads will many of you make the trip to Newbridge?? Whats your predictions??
I think it will be a close game, we had a bit of a mixed bag so far, losing heavily to Down and hammering Tipp.
This weekend sees John Doyle return so I presume he will start and its a welcome return.
I think Donegal could be dark horses for Ulster this year, McFadden and Murphy are 2 super players and our full back line is dodgy enough so we will have to improve massively in that area to cope with those lads.

Some good GAA pubs in Newbridge if ye are going for pints are McDonnells (also known as Neesons), it is situated past the football grounds across from Michael Murphys furniture shop, Coffeys is just across from the ground and there is always a good atmosphere there. For a bit of dinner Swifts is the place to go, its directly across from the ground.

I will go for a Kildare win by 2 points....Enjoy the game and have a safe journey.

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 03/03/2010 12:01:56    577819

Good man willie! I hope to make the journey all right. What's parking like around the area? I've never been to a game there before so it'll all be new to me.

I think home advantage will swing this one for Kildare. We are going all right but we would have been expected to win our first 2 games no matter what so I don't know if we've learned much about where the team is.

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 03/03/2010 13:11:55    577895

RM Drive, parking is a bit of a disaster to be honest, especially if there is a big crowd. There is a shopping centre in Newbridge called whitewater. As you come into Newbridge you will come to traffic lights on the bridge, take a left there, go up that road and you go through 2 more sets of lights, keep going until the 3rd set and go into the right, which is the shopping centre, think you would be better off parking there, its a short stroll from there. Hope thats not too complicated.

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 03/03/2010 14:33:19    577994

Out biggest problem is winning enough ball to Feed Mcfadden & Murphy, our Midfield plays well for about 15 minutes and then disappears for the rest of the game. And this is where the problem is in all big matches over the past 6 years. There has been so many Combinations tried at this stage over the past two years, i can see this changeing any time soon, hopefully i am wrong.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 03/03/2010 16:37:19    578168

Maybe we should play leo and big jim in there keper and that will solve the midfield.........

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1698 - 03/03/2010 18:29:39    578333

when yer at it stick harran in there as well

tidytownman (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 03/03/2010 19:41:58    578410

Thanks for that willie. Looking forward to it!

RMDrive (Donegal) - Posts: 2202 - 03/03/2010 19:54:15    578432

should be a good game as someone who has kildare parentage id definitely be up for kildare so hope they do it with jd back to get the scores . Supposedly smiths back as well so confidence in the camp will be high , i expect a kildare win also look out for adrian hanlon if he plays well and murphy and mcfadden play well it could be a long afternoon for mcgrillan and co

stekhli (Dublin) - Posts: 3121 - 03/03/2010 20:08:13    578474

No problem RM, any other information give me a shout.

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 04/03/2010 09:06:50    578693

charlie ryans is da spot for few drinks and the crack across from da pitch and dermot earleys all star is on show der..

kildarelad45 (Kildare) - Posts: 39 - 05/03/2010 14:37:03    580034

1: Michael Boyle Michael O Baoill An Tearmann

2:James Keaney Seamas O Cianaigh Bun Dobhráin

3: Neil Mc Gee Neil Mac Aodh Gaoth Dobhair

4: Karl Lacey Carl de Léis Na Ceithre Máistirí

5: Anthony Thompson Antain Mac Thomais Naomh Conaill

6: Frank Mc Glynn Proinseas Mag Fhloinn Gleann Fhinne

7: Kevin Cassidy Caoimhín Ó Caséide Gaoth Dobhair

8: Neil Gallagher Neil Ó Gallachóir Gleann tSiuilí

9: Barry Monaghan Barra Ó Manacháin Na Ceithre Maistirí

10: Fergal Mc Nulty Fergal Mac a'Ultaigh An Urnaigh

11: David Walsh Daithí Breathnach Naomh Bríd

12: Stephen Griffen Stiofáin Ó Griofáin Naomh Náille

13: Colm Mc Fadden Colm Mac Phaidín Naomh Michael

14: Michael Murphy Mích ael Ó Murchú Gleann tSiuilí

15: Conall Dunne Conáil Ó Duinn Naomh Adhamhnáin

16: Paul Durcan Pól Ó Durcáin Na Ceithre Máistirí

17: Michael Maguire Míchael Mac Uidhir Naomh Columba

18: Owen Waide Eoin Ó Aodha Naomh Conaill

19: Barry Dunnion Barra Ó Dhuinnín Na Ceithre Maistirí

20: Paddy Mc Daid Padraig Mac Daibhéid An Tearmann

21: Leo Mc Loone Leo Mac Luain Naomh Conaill

22: Gareth Concarr Gearóid Ó Con Cathra Ard a' Ratha

23: Adrian Hanlon Adrian ó hAnluain An Clocháin Liath

24: Edward Kelly Eamonn Ó Ceallaigh Iorras

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9898 - 05/03/2010 15:56:39    580145

Lockjaw

You have good urney man to help yous not bad young player other . Good luck to him .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 05/03/2010 17:09:11    580216

Jaysus Delboy. That post made next to no sense at all. What were ya trying to say? Honestly can't make sense of it at all.

scaldy07 (Offaly) - Posts: 5 - 08/03/2010 10:06:04    581702

scaldy07 i think he's referrin to the fact that fergal mcnulty plays for the urney club which is just inside the tyrone border!

tirchonaill92 (Donegal) - Posts: 156 - 08/03/2010 13:05:52    581932

Is he from Doneyloop Donegal or Clady Tyrone I think the Urney players come from both sides of the border is that correct.

Pointer (Donegal) - Posts: 1200 - 08/03/2010 14:02:05    582001

He should actually be playing for Robert Emmets, he's from outside castlefin

allstar4 (Donegal) - Posts: 558 - 08/03/2010 17:42:31    582348

It doesn't matter what club he plays for, but he certainly shouldn't be playing for Donegal. Nowhere near good enough. I was at both the Westmeath and Kildare games that he played in and he never laid a hand on a ball.

Marty Morrissey (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 08/03/2010 20:28:14    582633

tirchonaill92
oh right. that makes a bit more sense alright. Cheers.

scaldy07 (Offaly) - Posts: 5 - 08/03/2010 20:28:27    582636

Was at the match, result doesn't tell how bad Donegal were.
Lucky to be within 8 points in the end. Kildare were by far the hungrier side, and highlighted some real weaknesses in the Donegal set-up.
Very few Donegal players put in an honest shift, some need to take a long hard look at their effort on the day. The only players to emerge with any credit were at the back, Neil McGee had one of his better days in the jersey, committed to the end. Kevin Cassidy was the only Donegal player to contest high ball throughout, and drove forward with purpose, I still believe he's probably a better bet in the centre, Frank doesn't have enough presence to carry this role. Michael Boyle made some excellent saves, and generally used ball well bar one or two loose kick-outs. After that I'm struggling for positives, even Karl Lacey had a tough outing.

Our midfield was second best throughout, tough ask for Barry Monaghan to contest high balls with Dermot Earley, he was giving away too many inches to make that a fair contest, as for the effort Big Neil put in, well the less said the better.

Our forwards on the day were as poor as I've seen from us in a long time, none showed enough purpose, and we kicked some woeful wides, particularly in the second half. Murphy was off his game inside, and looked like he was trying too hard to impress, can't fault his effort but nothing worked for him on the day. Colm Anthony on the other hand had one of his self indulgent days where he wan't everything handed to him on a plate. I would also question the tactic of constantly pumping high balls into the square, it was clear 10 mins into second half that Kildare were dropping extra defenders back to cover this, yet we persisted right to the end. McGeeney had also sussed that Conal Dunne would drop deep looking for ball, and put one their more mobile defenders on him (Garry White), result was Conal saw little action, and his man scored the goal for Kildare. None of our starting half forward line looked like they belong at this level, tough perhaps, but they need to do a lot more if they are retain their places, the worrying thing is who replaces them, Rory Kavanagh, if fit? Adrian Hanlon, maybe, although better in corner. We really don't seem to have a dominant centre-forward, any ideas?

Wrong to base all on one poor performance, but very worrying signs. A strong performance and 2 points needed against Down to put the show back on the road.

PabloD007 (Donegal) - Posts: 11 - 08/03/2010 21:08:07    582704

having been at the game yesterday, i'd have a similar view to pablo. i don't think mcfadden and murphy work that well as a two man full forward line. we need somebody in there with a bit of pace. half forward line was very poor and i've never seen lacey play so poorly.

about the only positives were cassidy, mcgee is looking pretty solid at full back and it's great to see barry dunnion back in action. hopefully we can get a good performance against down.

Alvin (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 08/03/2010 21:55:30    582781