Fermanagh Hurlers

here Cluaininabu i think its hilarious that ur dishing out advice on hurling development seeing as you come from one of the counties that are actually worse at hurling than fermanagh. we really will be in trouble if we start taking development advice from a leitrim fella!!

Storky (Fermanagh) - Posts: 102 - 28/03/2010 21:41:13    601792

I was at yesterdays hurling match and I have to wonder do the men on the line actually know anything about managing a team?
A man sent off after ten minutes and what is the managements response? Take off two players! Surely when both lads were winning anything coming their way and laying it off, they should have stayed until their legs were done and then bring on the fresh legs in the second half? Then they had to bring one of them back on due to injuries and players tired!! Things haven't changed and will never change until an entire backroom team and manager from outside the county comes in - internal divisions at county level are not good enough and any management team that thinks it is shouldn't be there along the line.
The game itself was good - Fermanagh hurled well but the few goals conceded when the man went off killed them. Ryan Bogue was amazing - his best game for Fermanagh in a long time! Keep it up Bogue!!

howshecuttin08 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 207 - 29/03/2010 12:17:07    602069

Some awful decisions from the line yesterday. This match was there to be won. What were the management thinking about.

hairyhorse (Fermanagh) - Posts: 94 - 29/03/2010 15:27:57    602544

howshecuttin08 - To be fair your not far wrong with the thought of the management, however there learning their trade. Its a pity yes that they couldn't have tried coaching club teams first and then move into county management if they were getting proven results with a club team.

The team that started, well there were a couple of players who shouldn't have been on and obviously a couple of players who should have been on. The subs he made early on are good players and give something different to the boys who were taken off, but maybe that happened too soon??

Fermnanagh should have won, 3 sloppy mistakes for the goals, and what was the keeper at for two of them??

The man of the match by far was John Duffy, was excellent throughout!

Oh well, time for the championship, will be interesting to see how we get on v Monaghan, i think with a bit of belief and some tactical awareness, the boys could take Monaghan. Yes it can be won on the line, but the players need to put the shoulder to the wheel also!!

Ferm4Sam (Fermanagh) - Posts: 162 - 30/03/2010 13:08:52    603805

Ferm4Sam, I didn't get to see Fermanagh v Longford but your comments suggest some people shouldn't have been on and others should have. Can you elaborate on this and were many or any missing due to injury. Further, was the goalie on Sunday the normal starting goalie? Doesn't sound like him to slip up?

local (Fermanagh) - Posts: 154 - 30/03/2010 21:19:48    604701

I think that fermanagh hurled well but need to toughen up a little and what was the sending of 4 fermanagh have alot of players injured with dec mcgarry matt teauge and mark slevin not full fit we could've got promoted if they were fit

lisbellaw123 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 26 - 31/03/2010 13:14:34    605130

local - Im not sure on the injury front, only looked like M Teague not available as he was near me in the stand. It was great to see Slevin back from injury, and looked confident on the ball when he came on, massive boost for a poor backline. The goalkeeper hasnt been good all year, puckouts poor, and conceeding 12 goals in the league, need i say more!!!

Also good that fella shannon from Derrylin. I hear hes been called into the panel. About time to, great defender if you can get him fit. Very tenacious and a good defender!!

Ferm4Sam (Fermanagh) - Posts: 162 - 31/03/2010 13:45:04    605187

was just reading through various different comments and to be honest they have left me pretty annoyed yous call yourself hurling men but all you want to do is run down the county team and its management is there not enough anti hurling people in Fermanagh doing that! Rory O Donnell has been a great servant to Fermanagh hurling for the past 15 years r more his playing days are behind him and he's now went into management fair play to him he has a great passion for the game its a pitty there isn't more in the county like him. It seems like some of you are part of the panel maybe yous are annoyed with the management cause yous arent in the first 15 and that could be the reason why yous are slatin your own team mates or could it be because they dont share the same club name! Yous seem to be hittin at paul mc goldrick alot we all know hes the best in the county from dead ball an we all know he isnt going to score 8 points from play in a game but he has still been scorin from play I seen him score 0-1 against monaghan and 1-1 against cavan heard he got 0-2 against south down and seen him get 0-2 against longford thats 1-6 more then the big lad on the other wing but yet I see no mention of that. Are yous sayin shea curran wouldnt get on the lisbellaw team ahead of colm rice are francie mcbrien b4 andy breslin are kevin mohan instead of peter timoney are paul mc goldrick instead of david slevin have a bit of wit! I think the full back line and the number 1 have been poor this year but hopefully things will improve before the summer an I wish rory and the team all the best for the championship and we cant afford for any players to pick up any injuries in club games and the big names that missed the league should be back 2, but from what I hear there is boys on the panel playin rugby and thats how young teague got injured an that was the day before the monaghan game and after the lisbellaw management callin of their game to give rory a chance them lads should stick to their own buts thats what rory is up against he needs all the support he can get! what have yous got to offer fermanagh hurling?

joebass (Fermanagh) - Posts: 3 - 03/04/2010 18:56:48    608148

JOEBASS - Now Joe some of your comments are a bit dillusional, but yes some are good and very true. Yes i know rory has actually given over 25 years service to hurling in this county of ours. But how many managers do you know that go directly to county management and never have taken a club team, especially at senior level? The problem is, rory no doubt was the only person approached about taking the job and yes there wouldn't be many interested in taking it at all.

You dillusional comments come with players you mentioned in the team. Mohan is only a young lad and would not make the lisbellaw team, especially as timoney usually not on the first 15. Slevin is definitely a hit and miss player. Same goes for young rice, can be headless, but on his day is a good defender like curran, who is playing well at the moment. McBrien is very unfit looking and to be honest wouldn't get on ahead of breslin if it was bewteen those two for a starting place. Two different styles of hurlers. McBrien is slow, tries to run through men and loses the ball alot, breslin likes to play it forward quickly and is a good outlet for the team.

However we shouldn't be picking on players, there giving there all for the cause, whether county or club!!!

Fermanaghman10 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1 - 05/04/2010 14:06:22    608998

Joebass, your presentation skills leaves a lot to desired! However, after trawling through your post I have came up with the following response.

There is a freedom of speech act which gives everyone the right to air their opinion, which you have duly done - naming many players in the process.

Rory is a very dedicated and respected GAA person throughout the county, and I do commend his balls to take on the job. But, the county hurling set up, from where I am looking is just like a well off club, with a limited playing pool. Therefore it is very hard to entice good quality backroom people such as coaches and medical staff.

Its normal in any County for slagging between Clubs, and debates over what players should be starting.

I would have to say I have been impressed with McGoldrick and agree he is the best free taker in the County. However I could name 3/4 free takers who offer more from open play, although them may not be as reliable as McGoldrick.

Francie and Shea could possibly start on a Lisbellaw team.
The goal keeper is the best in the county by far, fair enough he has made some mistakes this year, but as a wise man once said - it beat 14 other men before it beat him!

Its a well known fact that there are some of the panel playing rugby, however this only matters now, as one player got injured. Some of the panel have taken up ice skating, on gravel, sure this will be grand until some of them get injured.

Relating back to the start of my post, everyone is free to do whatever they want and no one can stand up and tell them they cant.

Regards.

solano (None) - Posts: 501 - 05/04/2010 14:28:02    609024

Joebass all I can say is we'll see when Skea play Lisbellaw in the summer if the lads could cut it. Shea Curran is probably the pick of them he's a good player. McBrien was (as you refer to him) "the big lad on the other wing" so not sure you even know what you're on about.
McGoldrick scored 1-6 from play, lets put it into perspective his 1-1 against Cavan were on a plate for him and if you're a forward and you're not scoring against Cavan then there's something wrong with ya!
He may have scored 1-6 but what did he concede? McGoldricks man was involved in numerous scores in all the games this year. A Free taker is all well and good but they have to be able to play the game as well and McGoldrick does not mark his man, does not track back and does not offer anything from play when compared to previous free takers Ryan Bogue and John Duffy. When the game is tight (example V South Down and V Longford) it was not McGoldrick or McBrien rising to the occasion and driving at them.
The point on Rory O'D's selection as manager has been drawn out already but he has no experience of managing a club let alone a county team and perhaps thats why he made the errors V Longford after McGarrys sending off.
Generally Hurling in the county is not in a healthy state at all.

gaaalltheway (Fermanagh) - Posts: 144 - 06/04/2010 21:25:16    610316

I cannot understand what you are talking about Solano.

For a start ice skating on gravel?If you are not going to contribute in an honest and open fashion here, just dont bother. I have been going in and out of different threads and I see alot of people just in it to stir and to be quite frank Solano...you have a spoon. you would be better off lifting a whisk and doing something productive, or even a piping bag. Am I making this clear?

Rory may not be making all happy at the minute, but what does he think of them fellas playin rugby? Are they even any good or are they just heavy? With your inside knowledge Solano, tell me more and share your little droplets of wisdom.

joesoapy (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 07/04/2010 12:21:39    610569

joesoapyarse, I think Solano is a great contributor to threads. He may have a roundabout way of making his points but his points seem relevant nonetheless. May I ask, you said you have been in and out of quite a few threads and seen a few 'stirrers' with their spoons. Why is it, Roscommon man, that this is the first post you have made AND on a Fermanagh thread. Could it be that you are yet another serial poster witgh a number of identities? Wouldn't be a new thing around these parts.

local (Fermanagh) - Posts: 154 - 09/04/2010 16:08:32    612985

Has daniel teague been given the call onto the senior pannel this year?

HeartBreakHotel (Fermanagh) - Posts: 162 - 12/04/2010 18:15:00    615257

No no local, I have been reading posts on different threads and I thought it was my time to make a comment because the contributors on this one appear to be the most dim, so I thought I would speak up!

I think that the situation re rugby and players not fully commiting to the county set up is an issue, but how do we address it? If these lads are any good, they will continue to play both and keep the communication links open to both camps, hurling and rugby. Very much like a piping bag; openings at both ends.

If they do not decide to do this, therein lies a problem, and it resembles a sieve; movement is all one way and it disperses into nothing.

I suggest the management turns the heat up a little on these players (just like in a gas oven) and asks them to show their hands and be open and honest, like a pie before the filling is put in; open for all to see. That way the manager will know the situation; like a pie with the filling in it. The players could then go to whatever sports they wish or both. That way everyone is happy, just like when the pie comes out of the oven and is ready to be eaten and smells good.

At this stage it is key to participate fully and engage in whatever is required from the sports; just like eating the pie with a little salad or maybe even some vegetables.

If you step out of the kitchen for a brief moment and look in through the kitchen door, you will know what is happening. If you smell pie and veg, all is good, if there is an empty pie; things could look good, If you see a seive lying about, run like the hammers and if you see a piping bag; things have the potential to be great.

But if you see a rolling pin coming hurtling at the kitchen door, you are looking at something you should have never been looking at in the first place.

All clear?

joesoapy (Roscommon) - Posts: 9 - 13/04/2010 14:11:21    616039

joesoapy what on earth are you on about pies and being in the kitchen. By the sounds of it the county panel could do without thinking of pies and continue to train as a team.

As for playing more than one sport it has to be a two way communication link with players well aware of when training, matches and get together's will occur so that the players themselves can manage their own time. This is an important situation for those players working down the country or any students that bother to travel down from belfast or dublin etc.

donkeykong (Fermanagh) - Posts: 147 - 13/04/2010 15:10:33    616086

How did our hurling teams do in the Armagh League lastnite, any reports?

joesoapys_Son (Roscommon) - Posts: 6 - 14/04/2010 10:30:13    616773

unlike donkeykong,i find your pie metaphors clarified the thing for me joesoapy...the analogy worked well and you obviously have a fantastic range of similes. are you an english teacher my friend,or a chef (with a sheperd's pie special). and yes,communication is the key

Chuck_Chuck (UK) - Posts: 84 - 14/04/2010 13:00:14    616992

joesoapy, I like your inventive and intuitive way of getting your point across here. But are you suggesting that Fermanagh's oven contains and empty pie? All appears well on the surface yet deep down it lacks substance?

Furthermore, I can agree with donkeykong and say some of the team should sit back from the pies and keep on training.

Any news on the Armagh League results from last night?

local (Fermanagh) - Posts: 154 - 14/04/2010 15:26:32    617278

thought it was Gordon Ramsey commenting on Fermanagh Hurlers, with the over use of pies in his post.
He should also consider that some of the hurlers on the current county panel may have ate to many, and are still carrying their winter coats.

ShowsFair (Fermanagh) - Posts: 292 - 14/04/2010 15:35:53    617296