Jonathan Sexton.... Not for me

I tought Ireland were suberb yesterday and gave everything but in my opinion the fly half was the weak link until he was taken off. Although he defended well his inability to utilise our outside back with defence splitting passes is a worry, like BOD's name was hardly mentioned yesterday. Sexton's kicking also left alot to be desired missing a whopping 80% if his kicks. I tought Ireland looked a more cohesive unit with O'Gara at the helm, personified by his wonderful kick to the corner which led to the winning try. Im all for Kidneys policy of giving the young form player his chance but id also like to see the experience in the team in the most vital position

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 28/02/2010 18:38:40    575294

might be better off doing it the other way round, starting off with ROG and bringing on Sexton at some point. I still rate Sexton highly and believe that he is the future for Ireland in the fly half role.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/02/2010 19:21:17    575338

Sexton is only a young lad and one for the future not fair knocking him after one bad game to be fair.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 19:28:27    575349

missing 80% of his kicks......2 on the edge of the pitch and one from his own half.

He made two of the tries and had a very solid game with some great garryowens.

Yes for me.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 28/02/2010 19:30:40    575353

Sexton was voted Ireland's best player by the EXPERTS, no offence Mikey.

He is now miles ahead of ROG.

He missed a kick in poor conditions from his own half so we say he is useless.

The greatest kicker EVER had the samme success rate.

Some people......

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/02/2010 19:31:02    575354

Dellboypolecat

575349 Sexton is only a young lad and one for the future not fair knocking him after one bad game to be fair.

how do you work that out what did he do wrong

GerryMc (Mayo) - Posts: 218 - 28/02/2010 19:32:27    575356

I agree with both of ye. I just think O'Gara is the better player for our team at the moment. No doubt Sexton is a great talent with great potential and he could be very useful to have coming off the bench. I also thing Ian Humphries is a wonderful 10 and to be honest id put him on a par with sexton

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 28/02/2010 19:35:44    575364

patrique

575354 Sexton was voted Ireland's best player by the EXPERTS, no offence Mikey.

He is now miles ahead of ROG.

1.Patrique the ""Experts"" are not always correct and 2. i totally disagree that he is miles ahead of ROG, people say Sexton is a better open field player than ROG (it wouldnt be hard) but IMO he dosent express himself in an attacking way alot. ROG is by far a better passer, kicker out of hand and place kicker

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 28/02/2010 19:49:34    575381

England destroyed Ireland up front yesterday, and enjoyed total forward dominance in the scrums and mauls and rucks.

Now playing behind a pack going backwards has exposed O'Gara many times over the years.

Yesterday, Sexton set up two tries from 2 of Irelands 3 attacks behind a pack that was nowhere.

What percentage is that?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/02/2010 20:56:42    575483

Was winding up with an angry post but i see lads have already wrote in with common sense.To say Sexton is a bad goal kicker after yesterdays game is absurd,most of the kicks were from the touch line and one from his own half.And as for saying that the backs werent brought into the game,3 tries away in Twickenham speaks for itself.And as the lads have wrote already,Sexton set up 2 of the tries.Not just his pass to Earls either,but he made savage distance with the kick for the lineout to gain that position,right down the sideline into the corner.
I would agree that O'Gara is slightly better kicking out of the hand,but apart from that it is obvious that Sexton poses way more of an attacking threat,and is obviously better defensively.Add to that Sexton is improving the whole time,even the game yesterday will have improved him.
I would not put down O'Gara,even though I prefer Sexton.O'Gara has been a tremendous servant for Ireland.

lyoto.machida (Meath) - Posts: 343 - 28/02/2010 21:34:00    575539

miketyson
County: Limerick

of course he's not for you. he's a leinster man and ROG is one of yours. ye wouldnt be clannish down there or anything

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 01/03/2010 09:51:54    575644

lads sexton could be the best thing to happen ROG. ROG had it to easy over the last few years with not much competition for the position so maybe the world cup could be ROG's indian summer because of the competition for his place. sexton will be some player but he does have to get big game time under his belt NOW because its no good when ROG is gone. you need him ready to take over straight away. sexton is not the finished articale yet but is definity a rough diamond.

hurl away

Hurl08 (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 01/03/2010 10:45:11    575682

My pal's child who's 3 year's old could tackle ROG and get by him no bother.

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 01/03/2010 11:44:54    575730

Very harsh critcism of sexton.

He was a little shaky at times, but none of the kicks he missed were easy, especially in them conditions.

The kick for bowes try was sublime and the kick into the corner for the second was even better.

I have never played rugby so find it difficult to analyse it, 99 tackles and 1 missed by Ireland is brilliant. Would the rugby heads among yous expect that this owuld have been much different with O'Gara on? Genuine question.

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 01/03/2010 11:55:31    575744

01/03/2010 11:44:54
Duffy89
County: Wexford

My pal's child who's 3 year's old could tackle ROG and get by him no bother.

Is your mate's kid also a brilliant kicker of a rubgy ball out of hand and from the ground, and a top passer? If he is you could have unearthed the next Dan Carter Duffy...

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 01/03/2010 11:56:23    575747

Ian Humphries is a great player. Can carry a ball at the opposition and great kicker(from hand and placed).
Dogged b******, iron willed and with a beard like that, who wouldnt be scared of him?

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 01/03/2010 12:15:32    575772

This is a nonsense thread really so il keep it brief, Sexton is a far better player than O'gara from open play and O'gara is a better kicker of the ball. Bottom line is though = O'Gara is the past, Sexton is the future so not playing him can only be a backwards step from the world cup.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 01/03/2010 13:01:20    575843

I am a member of Team ROG so I will try to be as fair as possible on this.I think Sexton did ok overall,It was the correct decision to start him.He was involved in 2/3 tries,the kick for Bowes 1st try was sublime.As for the kicking,well as pointed out,they were difficult kicks in less than favourable conditions.
Ronan O'Gara came on and it is fair to say,within reason, that we would not have won without him.His kick to touch when we were under extreme pressure was the ROG we have come to expect over the years.I have no problem with people saying they would rather Sexton,but to rubbish O'Gara just to big up Sexton is childish and petty in the extreme.
He cant tackle?
Yes he can.
Is he the best tackler in world rugby?
Not on your Nelly.It is of course a minor flaw.
Is Sexton the best tackler in world rugby?
No.
You have to ask yourself which is more important,The better kicker with bags of experience and the silverware to back it up or the better tackler? I know what's more important.The experience of Saturday will stand to Sexton and In my opinion he will be the no.10 for the WC,but O'Gara is far from finished.
It was great to see him rammed the words of criticism back down the throat of that pompous Kevin Myers.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 01/03/2010 14:39:41    575961

My god todays display suggests Sexton is a LONG LONG way from being an international outhalf. Kicked terribly and was non existant around the park. Ireland are in danger of turning into France with Sexton at 10, O'Leary is now becoming the decision maker which is a saving grace cause Sextons decision making is a disaster, he kicks at the wrong time and passes WAY too much.... The question we need to ask is Who makes Ireland a better team playing at 10? the answer is Ronan O'Gara. FACT

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 13/03/2010 16:39:36    587239

Did ANYONE ever see O'Gara have a bad game?

Did anyone ever see O'gara have a good game?

The French number 10 has been one of the stars of the championship, totally destroyed Ireland and ..........?

Sexton missed a few kicks today, but at present he ois the future. O'Gara, a good servant, but his day has gone.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/03/2010 19:48:20    587335