St Gall's v Kilmurry in the AIB club final

its graet that a cavan man will be in croke park on all-ireland club championship finals day. Well done to Micheal McDermott.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5522 - 28/02/2010 22:02:15    575596

lessbull

575265 Originally, divisional sides were allowed to compete. East Kerry won the 1st All-Ireland in 1970/71. Not sure when it became restricted to clubs. Anyone know?

I'm think divisional sides weren't allowed to compete after that. Feckin' East Kerry ruined it for the rest of us :)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 01/03/2010 08:32:10    575600

Ah well, I think it´s better strictly as a club competition. At least now, we have the intermediate and junior club championships too, so all clubs have a chance reaching Croke Park.

lessbull (Kerry) - Posts: 177 - 01/03/2010 15:09:59    576004

Agreed lessbull.

The excitement in Castlegregory was something else following their recent Junior AI win & I'm sure it will be the same in Quilty or the Falls Road after the senior final whichever team wins.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 01/03/2010 17:15:41    576187

Exactly right Dingle1. St.Galls is not my clud , but I wouldnt miss the final in Croke park. Im actually goin to the match with a Tyrone man and an Armagh man such is the interest. We're takin our young fellas along to make a day of it. Should be mighty craic.

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 01/03/2010 17:29:44    576205

nor my club!

gaelantrim (Antrim) - Posts: 1616 - 01/03/2010 17:32:29    576212

Great to see this pairing without a doubt. But why are Antrim so bad at county level even though they have supplied a lot of club all ireland finalists

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 03/03/2010 15:01:25    578038

'Great to see this pairing without a doubt. But why are Antrim so bad at county level even though they have supplied a lot of club all ireland finalists'

I dunno maybe somebody from kildare will enlighten us!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 03/03/2010 15:34:09    578091

03/03/2010 15:01:25
daytona11

Great to see this pairing without a doubt. But why are Antrim so bad at county level even though they have supplied a lot of club all ireland finalists

That is the reason. They pretend to believe the mantra "the Club is the bedrock of the GAA" and actively discourage the better players from representing the county.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 03/03/2010 16:31:47    578161

Gone the Galls

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 03/03/2010 18:01:17    578281

I'm going to call this one now & stick my neck out.

Kilmurry-Ibrikane to win Clare's first ever senior football championship trophy.

KIB 1 - 09
St. Gall's 0 - 10

Sorry Patrique but ye Antrim lads will have to come again next year.

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 05/03/2010 19:42:48    580377

Remember Eire Og of Carlow? Beast of a team!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 05/03/2010 20:05:16    580395

St Gall's were among the favourites at the start, having lost in the final a few years ago, and then come up against Cross when they had another excellent chance.

However Kilmurray beat Portlaoise who were well among the favourites, and as I keep saying, nothing easy at this level.

But I do fancy the Gall's if they hit the heights.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 05/03/2010 20:54:46    580432

Still fancy Cargin to win Antrim next year. They were the only team to seriously challenge the Galls this year

stranmillis29 (Antrim) - Posts: 788 - 06/03/2010 12:52:05    580611

stranmillis29

Still fancy Cargin to win Antrim next year. They were the only team to seriously challenge the Galls this year

Every possibility especially if the Gall's win the all Ireland.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 06/03/2010 13:03:43    580619

Just heard on Radio that C.J.Mc Gourty is OUT of the All Ireland Club final due to injury, 11 days to go and the MIND GAMES are emanating from the Antrim Camp. I for one do not believe it, and would expect him to line out on 17th in his usual mouthy, in your face fashion, and trying to intimidate all and sundry, inc the Ref.

sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 06/03/2010 18:38:12    580836

Kilmurry in the All Ireland Final & Clare senior footballers unbeaten in the league & top of the table.

Can it get any better I ask?

dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 07/03/2010 19:56:11    581419