U21's v Dublin

i heard that peter duffy has followed dean matthews lead and left the squad, can anyone confirm this?

Gooch (Louth) - Posts: 80 - 04/03/2010 16:39:50    579218

Did you hear this from a reliable source Gooch or is it rumour. Did you hear it from a primary source or a secondary source.Have you evidence to back up your controversial statement. When you come back with evidence I will believe you but until that happens I will say Good Day Sir.

2faced (Louth) - Posts: 405 - 04/03/2010 19:35:40    579474

Yep Duffy is gone for sure.

Cant see either his or Matthews exit from the squad having any lasting negative impact on the overall u21 picture.

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 04/03/2010 19:57:01    579505

2faced it is not speculation.. the glydes manager has pulled these 2 men out of the u21 setup in similar fashion to the methods dublins manager used when preventing his players attending the AFL trials in gormanstown. i myself can only see it as an opportunity for fitzer to strenghten the senior squad by adding these 2 fine young men to his current squad... and i believe if these two men are called.. mr dave devenny might follow their lead... so all in all it is good that these men were pulled out of the u21's as it will no doubt strenghten our senior panel as mentioned above.

Gooch (Louth) - Posts: 80 - 05/03/2010 09:18:16    579728

Team & Subs for tomorrow
1 Craig Lynch
2 Podge Bannon
3 Declan Byrne
4 Michael Woods
5 Jason Clarke
6 Liam Shevlin
7 James Craven
8 Conal O Hanlon
9 James Califf
10 Derek Maguire
11 Jim McEnaney
12 Andy McDonnell
13 Kevin Rogers
14 Pepe Smith
15 Niall Conlon
Subs Craig McKenna, Peter Nixon, Butch OBrien, David Maloney, Sean McCann, Michael Rogers, Shane OHanlon, Danny OConnor & Barry OHare.
Same starting 15 and few changes in the subs. Before anyone posts about DMatthews again, he dropped himself from the panel after Wex game cos he felt he should be in starting 15. Tough on remaining 5 lads Eamon ONeill, Darren OHanlon, Peter Flynn, Ronan Holdcroft & Eanna McArdle but their still very much part of the panel. Crazy ruling from Croke Park to allow only 24 to strip.
Game at 2.30 in Dowdalshill. Lets get out and support them

Drogheda Gael (Louth) - Posts: 79 - 05/03/2010 09:39:10    579740

best of luck saturday for the lads. would be fantastic if they got a result. would really open it wide for them and a great opportunity.

Go n-eiri an tadh leo!

sneachta (None) - Posts: 414 - 05/03/2010 11:47:15    579861

Strange to see shane o hanlon, Butch o Brien in before eamonn o Neill. thats seems strange..considering eamonn outplayed the meath senior football captain micheal burke. yet he cant make d 24. ahead of some average players maguire must not like him

WEE (Louth) - Posts: 106 - 05/03/2010 11:51:59    579866

Oh n i meant to say beat of luck to them. Its the best chance of beaten dublin lets get behind them and give the county a boost by beaten dublin

WEE (Louth) - Posts: 106 - 05/03/2010 11:53:12    579868

WEE i wouldnt exactly think that he outplayed burke! i seem to recall in the replay o' neill only being interested in, as one might put it, 'fisty cuffs'. if he cut out this side of his game he would certainly be a good forward... BUT, one must remember that o'neill can also play next year, although i am in full agreement that this should not have an influence on gaining a place in this years squad.

i do agree that it looks like favouritism is having a large influence in the selection of both the senior and u21 starting 15's.

Gooch (Louth) - Posts: 80 - 05/03/2010 12:17:05    579892

GOOD LUCK TOMORROW LADS

withualltheway (Louth) - Posts: 570 - 05/03/2010 12:34:39    579915

Good Luck 2moro lads lets make it a double triumph for Louth this weekend.

LovelyBall (Louth) - Posts: 352 - 05/03/2010 12:56:52    579939

Gooch & WEE
Take both your petty club blinkers off and get behind LOUTH tomorrow. Everyone thinks their own clubman is better than the next.
WEE - EONeill is very unlucky to lose out (he'd be in my 24) but the management have to make decisions. Dont run down young obrien or ohanlon to make your point. Both these lads are excellent footballers and deserve to be in the panel.
Gooch - IMO DMatthews is not better than starting FF line. He could have contributed a lot from the bench but sadly he has taken the hump and let his team-mates down. Maybe its listening to fellas like you. 2 other lads let the side down by doing similar before the wexford game and when the dust settles all 3 will realise that they were wrong. Now lets support LOUTH in big numbers tomorrow.

northroader (Louth) - Posts: 114 - 05/03/2010 13:39:33    579970

RE: DROGHEDA GAEL

myself coming from dundalk and having spoken to good friends of mine from the glyde area it is not true that dean matthews left the panel because he was not on the starting 15 but of other commitments he is a top class finisher but louth have a good squad and should put up a good show against dublin but i just dont think they have enough to overcome the dubs

cameroosh (Louth) - Posts: 72 - 05/03/2010 14:18:41    580014

northroader,

can you please tell me when i said that dean matthews is worthy of a place in the starting 15? in future can you please back up your statements by copying quotations from the previous posts you refer to. you going off on a rant is not what we need to see on here. thanks.

Gooch (Louth) - Posts: 80 - 05/03/2010 15:19:57    580088

The Dublin team has been named.

Not to be saying I told you so Sledger, but my predictions r.e. the team were pretty accurate, and you were quick enough to point out where I was going to be wrong.

All said and done I do fancy Louth for a win, come on the Wee County.

The Dublin under-21 football team to face Louth in the Leinster quarter-final this Saturday at Dowdallshill, Dundalk (2.30) includes five players who have senior intercounty experience this year.
Rory OCarroll, Dean Rock, Darragh Nelson, James McCarthy, and Seán Murray have lined out for the seniors in either NFL and/or OByrne Cup action.
The side includes four players who started in the All-Ireland U21 semi-final defeat to Cork last year - OCarroll, Johnny Cooper, Rock and Barry ORorke while Nicky Devereux was introduced as a sub in that clash.
Cooper, who last weekend won a Sigerson Cup medal with DCU, will captain the side and has been named at right half-back.
Gary Sweeney is the only member of the Leinster minor championship winning team of 2009 in the starting 15.
Saturday is the Dubs first taste of championship action in the competition while the Wee County comprehensively defeated Wexford in their first round clash.
Gerry Seaver, Ted Furman, Darragh Stapleton and Alan McCarrick were not considered for selection owing to injury.

DUBLIN (U21 FC v Louth)
1. Vincent Whelan St Maurs
2. Eoin Culligan Kilmacud Crokes
3. Rory O'Carroll Kilmacud Crokes
4. Darragh Nelson Ballyboden St Enda's
5. Johnny Cooper Na Fianna (Captain)
6. James McCarthy Ballymun Kickhams
7. Nicky Devereux Ballinteer St Johns
8. Seán Murray St Brigids
9. Mark Coughlan Kilmacud Crokes
10. Lorcan Siwale Erins Isle
11. Gavin McIntyre St Brigids
12. Gary Sweeney St Sylvesters
13. Barry O'Rorke Kilmacud Crokes
14. Dean Rock Ballymun Kickhams
15. Eoin Murray St Mary's Saggart
Subs
16. Graham Bedford Erins Isle
17. Seán McGuinness St Oliver Plunketts/Eoghan Ruadh
18. Niall Brogan Thomas Davis
19. Jonathan McDermott St Pats Palmerstown
20. Cian Mullins St Brigids
21. Craig Dias Kilmacud Crokes
22. David Quinn Na Fianna
23. Ciarán Dorney St Vincents
24. Luke Keating Cuala
25. David Quinn Lucan Sarsfields

tb2002ster (Louth) - Posts: 19 - 05/03/2010 15:38:44    580113

Dean Rock will be on Byrne!!!Lets hope Declan will show him whos boss :)

davetherave (Louth) - Posts: 77 - 05/03/2010 16:18:43    580159

Good Luck tomorrow Louth

Dundalk34 (Louth) - Posts: 148 - 05/03/2010 19:48:47    580382

Keep it going boys. We need a big week end.
Best of luck

19616609 (Louth) - Posts: 1691 - 05/03/2010 21:53:27    580503

Good luck lads today.I think yis have a great chance.some great results in challenge games as well as great result against Wexford.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 06/03/2010 13:33:35    580650

in extra time,we should have wraped it up,3 points up with 5 left and an extra man-could go any way now

pd73 (Louth) - Posts: 322 - 06/03/2010 16:11:03    580755