Ireland v England

what a win fro ireland under such pressure - they had the guts and passion in the last quarter to see it through.
delighted for o'gara - he is still topman.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11689 - 27/02/2010 18:41:13    574816

A poorenough display.

The tackling was marvellous, which justified the selection, especially the like of Sexton as we all know O'Gara cannot tackle.

And of course we also know that Ulster lads are superior to anything else on the island, at anything.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/02/2010 18:44:54    574821

JammyDodger

574136 France,Ireland & Italy to win...get on
-------------------------
Hope you had a few quid on that jammy!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/02/2010 19:24:37    574843

At the end of the day a wins a win, It just shows how far Irish rugby has come in the last 10 years when they bag a win at Twickenham and the general post match consenus was how poor we played. Its not that long ago when a victory over England at headquarters would have been worthy of a parade down O'Connell street! I think a triple crown is on and we know they can play better than they have done to date, that would be a nice addition to the GS of last year and prove to the doubters that it wasn't a fluke.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/02/2010 19:59:15    574863

What a shame the Ireland lads didn't get to sing there national anthem.

BufordTJustice (USA) - Posts: 669 - 27/02/2010 20:07:24    574867

We have a dilemma at flyhalf. Sexton's defence is good and he's full of energy and can beat a player as well. However his place kicking needs to improve big time. O'gara on the otherhand is one of the best place kickers around. His kicking for the line is also excellent but he doesnt have the same flair as sexton. Hard to know who to go with for the rest of the tournament but for me, you cant beat the experience of rog.

Scruffy2Donut (Cavan) - Posts: 1112 - 27/02/2010 20:45:45    574884

BufordTJustice
County: USA

Yes. I am sure that the team are ringing home on Blackberry's to their mansions, telling the missus to get the limo cleaned, and isn't it a shame we were not allowed to sing a load of militaristic nonsense like England were.

get a life. Rise off your knees man, England are no better than us as a nation. Stop feeling inferior.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/02/2010 21:07:29    574895

Thank God for Tommy Bowe points means prizes.

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 27/02/2010 21:08:58    574897

Great to get 1 over the old enemy and its nice to see us bounce back after the now routine mauling in Paris but theres been no surprises for me so far, this is exactly where i expected us to be at this stage of the championship ie a mauling in paris and a tough 50/50 contest in twickenham so at least my crystal ball is still working even if i can't find a job.

So from here on in id expect us to go on and win the triple crown but to be honest after winning the grand slam last year the triple crown is bit of a a consolation prize, we really should have been challenging for at least the championship this year only for us to step off the plane already beaten in Paris. Btw watch out for England in Paris because although France are a far better team, England aren't 1 bit afraid of them (unlike us) and could cause an upset, don't forget that England have won the last 4 meetings between these 2, including twice in Paris (1 game was a world cup semi-final). You have to go back to 2006 for a French victory over England so theres a tiny tiny little chance of us still winning the championship but id say odds on for France to win the slam.

Scruffy2Donut

We have a dilemma at flyhalf. Sexton's defence is good and he's full of energy and can beat a player as well. However his place kicking needs to improve big time. O'gara on the otherhand is one of the best place kickers around.

In fairness the kicks facing Sexton today were very difficult and he has proven himself to be a good place kicker in the past so id ignore those misses today. O'Gara is a better place kicker no doubt but Sexton's all round game is far better and he should really be picked ahead of O'Gara from now on in.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 27/02/2010 21:42:44    574923

brendtheredhand

574863 At the end of the day a wins a win, It just shows how far Irish rugby has come in the last 10 years when they bag a win at Twickenham and the general post match consenus was how poor we played

I think it also shows how far the English have slipped also.They are dreadful'We showed great heart and just about fell over the line.Rog saved the day once again.He is a must starter for the next day.You cant buy experience.Today will stand to Sexton,in the long run.He will be all the better for it.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 27/02/2010 21:53:15    574940

Is there a tougher more gutsier player in the 6 nations than Stephen Ferris? Immense today totally immense Man Of The Match.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 27/02/2010 21:55:03    574943

Try BOD, POC, d wallace etc. Nothing to do with him being from ulster i hope ulsterman?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/02/2010 11:17:14    574986

Indeed no master where a person comes from has no influence on me. I gave an opinion on Ferris who I believe is Ireland's best player at the minute. The reason the Lions lost the series in South Africa was because Ferris had to go home early injured.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 28/02/2010 12:17:25    575007

well done ireland

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13655 - 28/02/2010 13:13:28    575020

patrique

574895 BufordTJustice
County: USA

Yes. I am sure that the team are ringing home on Blackberry's to their mansions, telling the missus to get the limo cleaned, and isn't it a shame we were not allowed to sing a load of militaristic nonsense like England were.

get a life. Rise off your knees man, England are no better than us as a nation. Stop feeling inferior.

Are you the same fella that only a short time ago told us that patrons know better not to move in Casement Park whislt the very same "militaristic nonsense " as you refer to it was being played prior to the start of a gaelic match. ???

Somehow I think you are.

BufordTJustice (USA) - Posts: 669 - 28/02/2010 13:43:44    575034

Ulsterman

574943 Is there a tougher more gutsier player in the 6 nations than Stephen Ferris? Immense today totally immense Man Of The Match.

Probably not,if there were they would be from Ulster I suppose.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 28/02/2010 14:19:11    575048

Ulsterman

574943 Is there a tougher more gutsier player in the 6 nations than Stephen Ferris?

Brian O Driscoll. Although I am a fan of Ferris.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 28/02/2010 14:21:39    575053

Analysis.

The front row were awful, Hayes had a nightmare and Healy struggled in the scrum. Best was steady and his line out throwing was superb.

In the second row O'Callaghan and O'Connell were steady rather than outstanding.

In the back row, ferris is awesome as a tackler and worker, Heaslip did the hard work as well, and Wallace is always dependable.

O'Leary was shaky but did ok, Sexton has composure and flair, can tackle, and according to the press experts was Ireland's best player. he missed a few difficult kicks, but so did his opposite number who may be the best kicker ever.

Bowe only touched the ball twice, albeit to devastating effect, and the rest were steady.

It was a tackler's day, led by Ferris and Heaslip.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/02/2010 14:30:06    575057

I am not a rugby supporter although I do enjoy the game but I do feel that gaelic players and managers could learn a great deal from rugby in regard to respecting the referee and the rules. I was seriously impressed by the English teams response to what all the commentators, English and Irish regarded as a wrong decision by the ref.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 28/02/2010 14:41:34    575068

derryman
County: Derry

575068 I am not a rugby supporter although I do enjoy the game but I do feel that gaelic players and managers could learn a great deal from rugby in regard to respecting the referee and the rules. I was seriously impressed by the English teams response to what all the commentators, English and Irish regarded as a wrong decision by the ref
----------------------
Oh yeah I agree totally, that was never a try by Cole.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 28/02/2010 14:59:48    575079