Parnells Poaching

paddyogall

You no nothing bout my stats but your wrong there again .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 19:46:29    575376

Who have O'Mahonys poached and I don't want to keep asking the way I had to to get you to name the clubs. By the way whats the second club. You've mentioned this on several threads and you have'nt supplied any names.

dammon (Meath) - Posts: 1291 - 28/02/2010 19:48:05    575378

Dell --I am presuming that the club up the road are Simonstown.Who did they poach in say the past ten years? By that I mean players not living in Navan. As for O Mahonys perhaps this might have been a policy about 20 years back but the club in recent times are directing all their attentions towards a very productive youth system.What outsiders played for O Mahonys when they won the county final in 2008? Think you are guessing on this one or listening to misdirected stats from the country clubs.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 28/02/2010 19:55:09    575392

dammon I would be here all year naming down through the years and yous trying hard enough for young smyth as well. Simonstown would be the second club with a few outside players .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 19:59:23    575400

Auldfella

No offence nothing these clubs but did bective not lose few players to o mahonys after there youth level and bective are a small club . Simonstown had players from cork,armagh derry when i was playing for a team around there .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 20:06:54    575410

paddyyogall.
when u have put so much into g.a.a in general, were it be reffing playing, or coaching youngsters, come back and debate the threads at hand.
it is all very well attacking dell, a person who has put massive input in the g.a.a 4 years , ie. linesman.or reffing.
so do us all a favour , stop trying 2 pickle silly little arguments with someone , who clearly knows in his heart that u have no notion about how it is like 2 put his whole life into the gaelic athletic association. dell is passionate about every aspect of the game. and is doing his best as a ref.
so just get off his back.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/02/2010 20:10:55    575418

Del,
you have come onto this forum and made comments with which I gnerally agree with, but not sure about O'Mahonies and young Smyth, in his case I think it is as much that he wants to leave in order to get onto the Meath senior team more so than he is being poached by O'Mahonies.
As for the situation with Simonstown, I am not aware of the players in question from Ulster that you mentioned but a high profile Meath senior of the time transferred there about 7 years ago and there were claims made at the time that they had given incentives to join the club.
However, these instances are practically impossible to prove and indeed any outsiders Simonstown have had in their team over the last number of years have not assisted them to win anything.
The two most successful senior clubs in Meath over the last few years, Seneschalstown and Wolfe Tones had I think 2 outsiders playing between them, proof perhaps that a group af lads who grew up together can be more difficult to beat than a team with some outsiders playing.

jackhackett (Meath) - Posts: 773 - 28/02/2010 20:21:08    575432

No offence taken Dell but I feel you are off the mark.Yes O Mahonys have taken players from the Bective side of Navan parish. Due to the activities of some teachers a number of the better underage footballers in Cannistown school which is in the Bective catchment area,a la Mark Ward ended up playing with O Mahonys underage sector. They did not play with Bective.Also O Mahonys offer hurling to the kids in the town and this attraction draws players not only from Bective but also the Simonstown side of Navan towards O Mahonys.
As regards Cork, Derry and Armagh men playing for Simonstown? There was a Cork man teaching in St Olivers N.S. -very much a Simonstown school for a few years and he definitely played junior. The Derry man you might be thinking about is Dermot Gormley who ran a chemist shop in the town and has played mostly junior.While and I could be wrong on this no Armagh man has played with Simonstown in recent times.Also Meath player Evan Kelly lived in Navan at the time of his transfer some years ago.
These are Meath domestic issues and it is only a matter of time before the admin tells us to bring same to the Meath site.

Auldfella (Meath) - Posts: 472 - 28/02/2010 20:25:39    575437

Auldfella Sorry i meant i have nothing against these clubs 2 good clubs and one of them starting to do well in hurling . But my point is i would like more protection for small clubs.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 20:32:09    575447

jackhackett

If young smyth is good enough he will get on the meath team , give you a point when mickey harte took over tyrone they had 5 or 6 junior players on the team or panel as they where good enough . Now do you not believe in saving the small clubs? And your correct in saying Seneschalstown and Wolfe Tones are to top teams but o mahonys deserve to be up there with those as well to be fair.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 20:37:53    575456

dellboypolecat could be in trouble as a referee in meath with the dislike he shows towards certain clubs.

GerryMc (Mayo) - Posts: 218 - 28/02/2010 20:40:34    575459

GerryMc

575459 dellboypolecat could be in trouble as a referee in meath with the dislike he shows towards certain clubs

Show me the dislike i have shown towards any of these clubs . I stated that they where good clubs and admin this comment should not have been let through .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 20:47:14    575469

gerrymc. mayo.
show me were dell is being bias or showing dislike 4 any club in meath.
posts like this are really laughable.... dell honestly water off a ducks back.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/02/2010 20:48:37    575470

ta32

Am a outsider which makes it easy for me to ref as every game i do i will do it fair because that is all players want fair play . Anyone to say i hate certain clubs are wrong and no nothing about me but mayo man brought it up what would you expect.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 20:53:45    575478

dell no1 your a referee

no2 you should not make comments about clubs in meath that you might have to referee some day

no3 this is not the first thread you have given comments against certain clubs

no4 ill leave it to meath posters to agree or not agree

slan gerrymc

GerryMc (Mayo) - Posts: 218 - 28/02/2010 20:54:46    575480

Dellboypolecat

575469 GerryMc

575459 dellboypolecat could be in trouble as a referee in meath with the dislike he shows towards certain clubs

Show me the dislike i have shown towards any of these clubs . I stated that they where good clubs and admin this comment should not have been let through .

I'm going to Jump in here Dell, You have in the course of this thread made serious accusations (with out proof) about three clubs. One in Dublin being Parnells and two in Meath being Simonstown and Navan O'Mahoneys the incredible thing about this is that you claim to be a referee in the country of Meath. Referees are supposely meant to be nuetral and not let there personal feeling about clubs be known let alone broadccast on a forum that used ny GAA all over the Island of Ireland. There is another word to describe you accusations without proof.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 28/02/2010 20:55:05    575481

paddyogall

Like i said i would never ever be bias and this is a gaa message board and like i said you know nothing bout me so take your buddie there and go somewhere else . Also another poster named some players .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 21:00:13    575489

Why do people think that its a new problem, its been happening for years with the bigger dublin clubs. With the exception of st vincents, all the succesful dublin clubs of recent years have contained a lot of "outside" players. Kilmacud, st brigids etc . And it hasnt helped the dublin county set-up. All these "outside" players are only taking the place of native dubs, who are consigned to lower-ranked club teams..................surely not good for football in the capital ??

yellabelly (Wexford) - Posts: 1062 - 28/02/2010 21:03:53    575493

paddyogall.

were is your proof, that dell is bias....................... u have no proof.
just attacking a poster 4 the sake of it.
hot chocolate time and a bedtime story yogall.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 28/02/2010 21:05:31    575496

And i think parnells have 3 or 5 players from laois now so they must have players from other counties as well . So what happens to the young guns that are from there .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 28/02/2010 21:10:20    575501