Tir Conaill Harps Arson Attack

Stupid ignorant fools...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 26/02/2010 10:58:58    573728

I agree with Dell, why did the Sports Minister over here not make a statement on this. Disappointed that Mandela hasn't commented thus far, maybe he's not as great as people make out

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 26/02/2010 11:04:40    573732

Liamwalkinstown

573655 For those of you who still believe we have a "special relationship" with the Jocks
read this

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=113133

Give me England over Scotland ANYDAY

Sad idiots.

Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 26/02/2010 11:40:21    573773

I think this is wandering away from the point. Most of our members are scots. We also have many who are happy with a dual identity Scots born Irish and we have those who see themselves as 100% irish even though they were born here (Glasgow) . A lot of scots don't understand this dual identity thing which results in the ROI players getting abuse playing soccer here. With the exception of the followers of two clubs (you know who they are) that is the reason they get the abuse not out of any deep seated hatred of Ireland.
Having siad that there is in this city a hard core loyalist/racist/sectarian element and incidents like what happened to our bus do happen. But don't blame it on the Scots as a race.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 26/02/2010 12:03:35    573812

I worked in various cities in England (Manchester, Luton, Leeds) during the terible days of the'80s and never once did I get any hassle or problems about being Irish with all the stuff that was going on. I was in Edinburgh for a weekend and got verbally threatened twice - lads in a bar just heard my accent and immediately became aggressive. I never went back to Scotland - I certainly dont think that all Scots are like this, but it sticks wiyh me and I actually like to see England stuff Scotland in rugby/ soccer....whatever.

jos33 (Dublin) - Posts: 243 - 26/02/2010 12:27:14    573863

Liamwalkinstown

573655 For those of you who still believe we have a "special relationship" with the Jocks
read this

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=113133

Give me England over Scotland ANYDAY
------------------------
Likewise Liamo, theres no contest, the English still retain a degree of civility that sets them apart from their neighbours in the north. I remember once just after Scotland lost to Peru in the 1978 world cup and shouting "up Peru" at a passing army landrover containing a contingent of the Blackwatch, the damned thing screeched to a halt and the ******** got out and would happily have done us over if me and me mates hadn't legged it across some fields.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/02/2010 13:48:35    573972

Floops

573679 patrique

Dellboypolecat

Just shows some poeple cannot change there ways by attacking gaa clubs and never seen a statement from the sports minister in the north on this as yet but not holding my breath.

This may come as a surprise and I know you southerners know little about N.Ireland, but Glasgow is in SCOTLAND.

Absolutely nothing to do with N.Ireland.

This may come as a surprise to you too but Tyrone is in N.Ireland which is where the poster you replied to is from....

Well done Floops. Might shut Patrique up. I hate most of the scottish. Always have. I would talk to a English man any
day before a scots man. They are hatefull little ********.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 26/02/2010 14:31:03    574035

re. to LiamWalkinstown

Why are you offended by this eh ?,them fella's are either 1 of 2 people

1. From West Glasgow and go to Ibrox and sing ''God Save the Queen'' or ''Rule Brittannia'' every second weekend.Even though there 100% Scottish !!!!
2. There from East Glasgow and the sing ''Soldier Song'' or Let The People Sing'' every second weekend and claim to be Irish even though there 100% Scottish !!!

I'll admit,Ireland are taking everyone who claim's to be Irish these day's but,if your good enough and embrace our culture and play your heart out then I say give them the green jersey !!!!!

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 26/02/2010 14:39:20    574049

And another thing.Why are you going on to their supporter's website ?,are you looking to be offended ?????

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 26/02/2010 14:42:33    574052

Sorry to rain on your parade rebeltrev & floops, but DPC is actually based in Co Meath, although a Tyrone man proud and true.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 26/02/2010 14:48:49    574069

The ignorance on here is shocking. Talk about stereotypes and generalisations. Some fool talking about being from west glasgow and going to Ibrox and singing God Save the Queen. Ibrox isn't even in west glasgow. He then enlightens us(in laughably poor grammar) that the east end of glasgow is populated entirely by people claiming to be irish. I can assure you nothing could be further from the truth. The majority of celtic fans are scottish and don't claim to be irish but they still support us in football usually but not always after scotland. Most of these people have parents or grandparents who came from ireland. Why would you have an issue with them celebrating the traditions and history of their family? Are we now exclusionary elitist racists?

slashersboy (Longford) - Posts: 1 - 26/02/2010 15:20:03    574122

Brendtheredhand -
But their point still stands. P's narrow-minded little generalisation was aimed at a comment he thought came from someone from the south. It didn't. It came from a Tyrone man. Though given P took the time to cut and paste the entire post, including the county of origin of the poster, I'm not sure how that little gem escaped him. Perhaps he was in too much of a rush to publicise his opinion to let small things like facts get in his way...

I never thought I'd be defending the Norn Iron Sports Minister, but we can hardly expect a comment from him and not ask our own lad in Dublin to do the same. I have had very mixed interactions with the Scots. My experience is the further into the Highlands you go, the friendlier to the Irish they become. I had a great night on Orkney at a ceili with a bunch of Scots who considered themselves Irish, due to the extend of shared heritage. That said, I've had other friends asked to leave a B&B on Skye because the landlady didn't like the church they went to on the Sunday morning. They got back from mass to discover all their bags waiting for them on the doorstep.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3152 - 26/02/2010 15:29:26    574143

26/02/2010 15:20:03
slashersboy
County: Longford

574122 The ignorance on here is shocking. Talk about stereotypes and generalisations. Some fool talking about being from west glasgow and going to Ibrox and singing God Save the Queen. Ibrox isn't even in west glasgow. He then enlightens us(in laughably poor grammar) that the east end of glasgow is populated entirely by people claiming to be irish. I can assure you nothing could be further from the truth. The majority of celtic fans are scottish and don't claim to be irish but they still support us in football usually but not always after scotland. Most of these people have parents or grandparents who came from ireland. Why would you have an issue with them celebrating the traditions and history of their family? Are we now exclusionary elitist racists?

Who care's ?,as far as I can see Rangers supporter's are wannabe English and Celtic supporters are wannabe Irish, that's what you call sad. Then you see the same numpties giving out saying ''aye he should be playing for Scotland'' or ''sure who care's,he's only a benchwarmer''. How is that possibly racist ?,It's plain old fact. I'm sure your another numpty who glorifies the I.R.A up there are you ?, oh of course not, sure you only support Celtic because the way they play football.

And by the way,as the saying goes, if a dog is born in a barn, does that make it a horse ?

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 26/02/2010 16:01:05    574203

Floops

This may come as a surprise to you too but Tyrone is in N.Ireland which is where the poster you replied to is from....

No he isn't.

Born in the south, lives in Meath....shouldn't have jumped the gun Floops.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 26/02/2010 18:24:27    574364

rebeltrev

Well done Floops. Might shut Patrique up.

Alas rebel (what would Cork know about rebels) Trev, Floops is WRONG.

Dell is not from Tyrone.

Apology accepted.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 26/02/2010 18:27:24    574370

festinog

Brendtheredhand -
But their point still stands. P's narrow-minded little generalisation was aimed at a comment he thought came from someone from the south. It didn't. It came from a Tyrone man

NO IT DIDN'T.

DELL IS FROM THE SOUTH.

That is why I made the narrow minded generalisation, to illustrate that Dell knew nothing about the north, and also ask why he didn't call upon Southern ministers to issue a statement.

I admit the statement was narrow minded, it was in answer to yer another CRASS comment from Dell.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 26/02/2010 18:31:26    574372

26/02/2010 16:01:05
Duffy89
County: Wexford

And by the way,as the saying goes, if a dog is born in a barn, does that make it a horse ?

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 26/02/2010 18:35:10    574378

26/02/2010 18:35:10
ruanua

574378 26/02/2010 16:01:05
Duffy89
County: Wexford

Your right,I just gota bit angry with that last comment,but the rest of it is grand.

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 26/02/2010 18:45:25    574395

Floops

I was brought up in tyrone went to school in tyrone , played most of my football in tyrone just this man is wanting a reply from me which he never will ever get again . Am tyrone man through and through ignore that .......

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/02/2010 18:51:34    574407

brendtheredhand

574069 Sorry to rain on your parade rebeltrev & floops, but DPC is actually based in Co Meath, although a Tyrone man proud and true

Thank you just because i move does not mean am not a tyrone man and i will always be a tyrone man ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 26/02/2010 18:55:24    574412