Tir Conaill Harps Arson Attack

A good club and its very dissapointing to see, but certainly not suprising.

Glasgow, a city I know well, is unfortunatly a city with a big anti-Irish rasist problem.

I'd like to offer the gaels of Tir Conail my sympathies. You'll bounce back lads.

Yer Man (None) - Posts: 286 - 25/02/2010 17:24:43    573194

One word for this "disgusting"!!

I hope the association and fellow Gaels at home come to the aid of this club.

Clubs in the North of Ireland have had to deal with similar appalling treatment for decades, it is absolutely disgusting that in this day and age a club obviously doing a lot of good work in their local community and in developing and promoting our national games have been targeted in this way by a bunch or racist/sectarian/bigots!

"Prejudices are the chains forged by ignorance to keep men apart."

Exiled Kickham (None) - Posts: 68 - 25/02/2010 17:51:29    573222

Just shows some poeple cannot change there ways by attacking gaa clubs and never seen a statement from the sports minister in the north on this as yet but not holding my breath.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2010 18:29:35    573268

Disgraceful.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 25/02/2010 18:45:14    573301

I have been travelling to Scotland for 25 years to visit relatives and watch Celtic. It is a lovely country with many fine people but Scotland has a serious sectarian problem nearly as bad as the North. I would go as far to say it is one of the most anti-Irish and anti-Catholic countries in Europe. A few years ago the Irish government had to cancel a visit by Bertie Ahern to unveil a Famine monument because the Scottish media kicked up a fuss and protests were planned. One only has to witness the treatment that Irish footballers get in the SPL. Aiden McGeady is abused on a weekly basis while James McCarthy eventually left the country because he declared for Ireland. Artur Boruc has been demonized by the Scottish media for daring to bless himself before games while Neil Lennon was assaulted on a few occasions because he was an Irish Catholic who played for Celtic. There is MASSIVE antipathy indeed total hatred for Catholicism in Scotland which was one of the cradles of the Protestant Reformation.
Fundamental Calvinism runs very deep throughout Scotland while Catholic schools get a very hard time in the media. A few years ago it was established that people with Irish sounding names were far more likely to be arrested by the police and sentenced by the courts in Scotland. Irish people and the Irish Famine are often referred to in very derogatory and insulting terms in Scotland such as 'tattie munchers' and 'the great unwashed'. The senior Catholic leader in Scotland Cardinal Keith O'Brien has been derided in Scotland for daring to mention Scotland's anti-Irish/Catholic bigotry. There is a town in Scotland called Larkhall which is reknowned for it's anti-Catholic/Irish/Celtic bigotry and they have had to put metal guards over the traffic lights there because the green ones kept getting smashed. ASDA has also had requests to change it's green logo to blue because people objected to the colour. **Note to MODS. These are absolutely true stories in the public domain which I am NOT making up, GOOGLE Larkhall) so the attack on the GAA bus comes as NO surprise to me.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 25/02/2010 19:16:54    573335

Thanks for that Ulsterman....now where's phone 'till I cancel that wee holiday.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 25/02/2010 19:28:33    573353

does not come as a suprise 2 me either.
disgusting thats what this was.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 25/02/2010 19:32:09    573360

Dellboypolecat

Why would the sports minister for the North make a statement on an incident that happened in Scotland????????

No.15 (Down) - Posts: 193 - 25/02/2010 20:37:31    573462

No.15
County: Down

If it was a orange hall over there he would soon be out making statements.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2010 20:57:33    573491

Dellboypolecat

Just shows some poeple cannot change there ways by attacking gaa clubs and never seen a statement from the sports minister in the north on this as yet but not holding my breath.

This may come as a surprise and I know you southerners know little about N.Ireland, but Glasgow is in SCOTLAND.

Absolutely nothing to do with N.Ireland.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/02/2010 21:09:51    573516

Sickening would be my thought always get a minority of people who would steep that low as another poster said i hope other gaels help out this club out...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 25/02/2010 21:11:58    573521

sorry to hear this-bad state of affairs

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 25/02/2010 21:21:08    573538

Thanks for the thoughts of everyone. We had problems in the eraly 90s but like our friends in Ulster we thought those days were behind us. We have had a great response from the Ulster Council of the GAA who have replaced the lost equipment which ensures that the tournament tmoro goes ahead. Ironically, this event will include children from about 15 differnt cultures and even more religions.
It was a big decison for the club to go public with this but thankfully we are getting nothing but support from politicians in Scotland. Fifteen years ago it would have been a differnt story. To complain would have invited further attack.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 25/02/2010 21:41:37    573571

Little wonder I dislike the jocks, a poisonous little backwater if evr there was one. I still remember the treatment we received from scottish regiments down the years, nasty bunch they were.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 25/02/2010 22:00:07    573616

Just a sad, sad story. Provoked a shake of the head and a sigh from me.

Tongo (UK) - Posts: 1795 - 26/02/2010 08:05:31    573619

For those of you who still believe we have a "special relationship" with the Jocks
read this

http://taboard.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=113133

Give me England over Scotland ANYDAY

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 26/02/2010 09:29:48    573655

patrique

Dellboypolecat

This may come as a surprise and I know you southerners know little about N.Ireland, but Glasgow is in SCOTLAND.

Absolutely nothing to do with N.Ireland.

This may come as a surprise to you too but Tyrone is in N.Ireland which is where the poster you replied to is from....

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 26/02/2010 10:12:04    573679

Nothing will be done about it.

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 26/02/2010 10:36:24    573700

Rather sad state of affairs. I was living and playing in Yorkshire for ten years and understand how hard it is to gather up the money to buy a brand new mini bus. A mini bus can be replaced, but for the young lads who will miss the upcoming tournament, the lads who cannot train because the equipment has been destroyed and the community who also use the bus, it is a travesty. Unfortunately these types of incidents do occur occasionally, but lets rise above it (as we always do)and continue to promote the ethos of the GAA. Lets not just get bogged down by pointing accusing fingers. We all know who carry out these type of attacks, and we can only hope the culprits are caught before it happens to someone else.

So endeth the lesson....

Chester1970 (Armagh) - Posts: 509 - 26/02/2010 10:39:09    573702

sick is one way to describe it - chin up lads.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11690 - 26/02/2010 10:55:15    573721