Dissidents blamed for Newry car bomb

Is it strange or just me. But when someone is killed by whatever means in Dublin Or Limerick (and to be honest that is very often) it is put down to Gangsters, drug pushers ,Turf wars, or whatever and accepted by and large as a sympton of a sick society. But when an occasional person is shot in Derry Or Belfast it has to be some class of a republican and we Nationalists in the north are all portrayed as somehow aiding and abetting this barbarous act. I am not sure what this tells me. Murder is more acceptable in the Republic of Ireland OR The Press has a different agenda for the wee six

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 25/02/2010 19:46:42    573377

paddy, At least we are now having a serious conversation as distinct from the wind ups of the past. I can totally understand your difficulty in understanding where I and some of the other posters are coming from. I have freely admitted that to a large extent we are all victims of the circumstances of our birth. You are what you are largely because of the place and family you were born into and the early events that shaped your life. I was in Ardoyne last week-end. a place that has suffered more then most, What was the main thing happening there last week-end? Fund-raising for Haiti, £14,000 raised in local community effort. How many Communities around Ireland can match that. The people of Ardoyne stand full square behind Sinn Fein and were fully supportive of the Provo's during their campaign. They are not animals or sub-humans, they are generous decent people, no better or no worse then any Community anywhere in the country. You somehow seem to think that you are morally superior to them. Its easy to moralise to them and their supporters because you have not suffered like these people have suffered. Aren't you the lucky one.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/02/2010 19:48:07    573380

Ulsterman
You and I have crossed swords on occasion but in this instance you are so right. The truth will never be written because both governments have so much to hide. I know from first hand experience on 2 occassions that what was broadcast and printed was a total misrepesentation to the point that it was absolute lies. Manufactured to further the ends of the british and unionist state.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 25/02/2010 19:58:17    573391

Corcelt.

Thank you i have often wondered what some people suffered from and you have pointed it out for me. It is MORAL SUPERIORITY. Never judge a man until you have walked one mile in his shoes. (Confucius I Think)

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 25/02/2010 20:02:20    573402

Derryman - i have to totally agree that murder is more acceptable in the south.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 25/02/2010 20:19:41    573441

25/02/2010 18:15:09
Dellboypolecat

corkcelt

Very good post there and your right Nationalist Community had been treated badly by the security forces and the british goverment someone had to stop this.

Do you know ANYTHING about Irish history, or even Ireland.

Drivel like this should not be allowed to see the light of day.

I bet you believed Paisley when he told the mob that the Pope had landed on the Falls road and was about to attack the Shankhill.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/02/2010 20:51:40    573480

This person shot today i believe he was well known by the gardai and police maybe this is not a dissident shooting .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2010 20:53:57    573485

Dellboypolecat

This person shot today i believe he was well known by the gardai and police maybe this is not a dissident shootin

Oh that's it.

Deserved it then. End of. Martin McGuinness must be as stupid as you for thinking it was the Dissidents.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 25/02/2010 21:18:48    573535

patrique.
as sad as this young man has lost his life . its digusting but patrique do we knoe who was responsible.
as of now we do not know.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 25/02/2010 21:32:01    573554

We do Ta32, the group responsible admitted the killing. No doubt many on here see the killing of an innocent father as another step on the road to a United Ireland

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 26/02/2010 10:54:50    573720

25/02/2010 21:18:48
patrique

573535 Dellboypolecat

This person shot today i believe he was well known by the gardai and police maybe this is not a dissident shootin

Oh that's it.

Deserved it then. End of. Martin McGuinness must be as stupid as you for thinking it was the Dissidents.
________

He actually suggested that people with information should contact the police so you are right he should probably be committed

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 26/02/2010 11:24:11    573750

Pomeroy That is an absolutely disgraceful thing to say. I have not seen one post from any poster supporting the dissidents. If that is the level on which you wish to debate then count me out, please ignore my posts and I will do the same with yours.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 26/02/2010 11:32:22    573761

I'm confused CorkCelt, this is a group containing many members of the PIRA who you regard as heroes. Are they no longers heroes in your eyes then? The PIRA carried out many attacks like the one that happened in Derry and yet you support them. Can you tell me how it's disgusting for one group to kill innocent people and yet seemingly okay for another to do so?

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 26/02/2010 11:51:36    573790

The situation that prevails today is a million miles away from the situation that prevailed in the early seventies. There was in my mind justification for a physical Force movement then there is no justification whatever for one now. I have also stated on numerous occassions that whilst I felt the Provisional Physical Force was justified, I could not and would not stand over every individual act that was committed. War dehumanises and atrocities from one side lead to counter atrocities and there is no doubt that the Provos were guilty of atrocities. I have already condemned the Derry Murder and restate my opposition to the dissidents and my commitment to the Peace Process. I also repeat that I have not seen a single poster support the dissidents. Martin McGuinness (Former Provo leader) and the local Sinn Fein MLA have already strongly condemned this atrocity, your attempt to demonise Republicans on this site by suggesting possible support for this killing is reprehensible.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 26/02/2010 12:10:35    573825

Lads, can we all agree that no matter what opinion each of us has we will not fall out or abuse each other. This is a very interesting debate and H.S. are allowing us have it and fair play to them but if abusing each other begins to ruin it they will pull the plug. I am actually enjoying the open and honest debate and it is good to hear other peoples opinions and to hear things from the other side so let us continue without the abuse !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 26/02/2010 12:33:27    573876

paddyogall

573317 I've had two interactions with people claiming to be from the "IRA" One was in Rossport at the corrib gas terminal and the other was in Cork City handing out leaflets. Scum with a capital S is what i gathered from them. I dont undertsand the rational of Corkcelt, Breffni, Dell, Ulsterman etc and i probaly never will. So I'll leave it at that.

You are still at it here. I haven't even posted in this thread. Stop playing your nasty little game.

You don't understand my rationale because there are no posts or opinions on this subjects to rationalise.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12452 - 26/02/2010 12:44:22    573893

BBC News reported last night that the deceased was suspected of being an informer, and may have led the authorities to a drugs bust in Donegal. Why would the RIRA kill such a man who was working against drug dealers?

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 26/02/2010 12:46:55    573896

CorkCelt the last murder carried out wasn't in the early 70's you know. Sorry if I'm not grasping this but again what is the difference between the RIRA killing a man in 2010 and say a murder carried out by the PIRA in 2007? That's a difference of 3 years, not the 30 years that you would like us to think. I won't mention a name but I'm sure you know who I'm talking about, it's one of numerous examples I could give. If you can simply answer that question then please go ahead

pplocal (Tyrone) - Posts: 5878 - 26/02/2010 12:51:03    573903

PomeroyPlunkett

573720 We do Ta32, the group responsible admitted the killing. No doubt many on here see the killing of an innocent father as another step on the road to a United Ireland

Apparently the deceased was a leading member of RIRA and was killed as a result of his involvement with a criminal organisation in the drugs trade. Is he still an innocent victim or did he deserve it? What is your opinion

Nocky, just goes to show that you can't believe all you see or read.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 26/02/2010 13:03:42    573917

I actually don't know what you are talking about and I have to go somewhere now and will not be on-line again until around 6pm. If you are asking me the hard questions, may I ask you one. Re the Blanket Protest and subsequent Hunger strike. During the protest prisoners were locked in their cells 24 hours a day 7 days a week apart from a half hour for Mass on Sunday. The windows in cells were broken to allow fresh air into excrement smeared cells. In the winter the prisoners literally froze. One morning every single one of their beards was frozen solid. When the screws hosed down their cells they used undiluted ammonia so that the prisoners eyes burned for days. Having endured 4 and a half yrs wrapped in only a blanket in these conditions, the hunger strikes began during which 10 men endured an excruciating cruel death. Question for Pomeroy. Do you think that the British Authorities were correct in holding the line against the prisoner's demands and allowing them to exist for 4 and a half years in these conditions.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 26/02/2010 13:11:30    573929