Dissidents blamed for Newry car bomb

paddyogall

The IRA did not sanction that murder and may the man rest in peace as i do respect the dead.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/02/2010 21:38:39    572573

Dellboypolecat

572525 nocky
County: Wexford

24/02/2010 20:54:37
Dellboypolecat

ruanua

Fuel smuggling
Brothel Keeping
Illegal Alchohol
Counterfit CD's
Extortion
bank Robbery
Murder of Gardai

Nocky i seriously think they robbed no banks . And where they where not convicted of murdering the gardai i thought INLA members where jailed for that could be wrong the rest has not been proven . ................GREAT POST DELL YOUR WISDOM IS BEYOND YOUR YEARS

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 24/02/2010 21:39:41    572574

24/02/2010 21:32:41
derryman
County: Derry

572559 ruanua
Did'nt make it to University myself but I was a keen fan of Both Rumpole and Cracker

Well I Did -------------------4 times when my weans graduated

Nah being serious - fair play to you - my own wanes are a couple of decades away from graduating so might think about it then.
But have found that a bit of bluffing and being able to dodge the snowballs is more help.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 24/02/2010 21:42:34    572578

Dellboypolecat

Dutch Doherty????

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/02/2010 21:43:43    572581

Somebody on here is delusional.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/02/2010 21:50:41    572600

I haven't read all the comments on this thread but would hope that these misguided individuals cease to carry out further attacks before someone is killed. We don't need another Omagh.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 24/02/2010 21:55:47    572611

Mugsy

I could not agree more we have been there and done that. Please God let the political institutions work

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 24/02/2010 21:59:48    572620

mugsys_barber

I haven't read all the comments on this thread but would hope that these misguided individuals cease to carry out further attacks before someone is killed. We don't need another Omagh.

We sure dont so time for these boys to stop these attacks noe because it is not wanted . Peace we want

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 24/02/2010 21:59:50    572621

Cavan_Slasher

572554 Omaghredhand,

While i agree with some of your post i cannot fathom how a law graduate can agree with the manner some of these people policed their areas !! Please address the following :-

1. Why have these same people not punished the people who murdered Paul Quinn or even informed the authorities who they were.?
2. Why was none of the members of their own families given beatings for criminal behaviour during the troubles ?
3. Why were the murderers of Robert McCartney not dealt with by the Republican organisation they belonged to or handed over to the police ?
4. What was done about Gerry Adams brother who is alleged to have abused his daughter ?

IThe biggest drawback to policing in the North was the mistrust of the R.U.C. and U.D.R. during the troubles because of their pro Unionist stance and their collusion with Loyalist death squads. It is going to be hard but we have to change this from the inside by encouraging young Catholics to join. You will never have a perfect police force anywhere but it should be as good as possible and can only be so if the public take part in an active and healthy way the way Sinn Fein are now doing in many areas. We have to move on !!

Slasher, I think that you have not read my post thoroughly. Nowhere did I suggest that I agreed with vigilantism or with the fact that PIRA policed "their own" areas. I merely presented a view as given to me by family members who lived in areas under this stewardship. If you re-read the post you will find that I actually agree with Rua's viewpoint, a fact I think he himself missed. What I intimated is that I can comprehend why some people agree with community justice as opposed to criminal justice. I don't think that I am in a position to address your questions as I am not and have not been party to the thinking of PIRA, however I will attempt to provide some response. In relation to Paul Quinn's murder, I could only make the assumption that there is a high probability that members of PIRA or their families were involved in some way and that refusal to co-operate is through a sense of misplaced loyalty or a matter of political expediency. In relation to Question2 I am aware of individuals who did receive punishment beatings and were not only family members of PIRA but actually were members. I would refer you to the answer to question 1 for the answer to question 3. Question 4 is again not something I have in depth knowledge of, however, I do recall Gerry Adams intimating in national press that the police and social services were both informed of the allegations against Liam Adams. Again I want to reiterate that this is not a defence of vigilante behaviour, merely an insight as to why it is perceived to be effective. This type of topic is highly divisive although quite good for debating purposes. The question is, do you people have sufficient faith in the criminal justice system? If the answer is yes then vigilante behaviour will not succeed. However, if the answer is no then it will thrive as people's human requirement for revenge/justice/punishment will supercede their human emotions of pity, understanding and forgiveness. Finally, I don't believe that it is relevant whether or not you are republican, loyalist, socialist or whatever. It breaks down to societal viewpoints and principles and the effectiveness or otherwise of the system.

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 25/02/2010 08:36:41    572631

Omaghredhand,

Sorry about that, i seem to have misread your initial post !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 25/02/2010 16:40:08    573122

Another man shot in Derry only this time he died. These acts need to stop.

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 25/02/2010 16:45:16    573136

paddy, re your post on Liam's thread. I have read extensively about the situation that prevailed in the North prior to the beginning of the Provisional Campaign. I have spoken at length with activists involved in same. The war was not started by the Provisionsls. the Nationalist Community was under attack and the Provisionals came out to defend their communities. During the war the Provisionals had a strict code of only attacking targets that were linked to the Security Forces. Unlike the UVF who concentrated on soft targets killing many innocent Catholics for no other reason then they were Catholics. As the war progressed there is no doubt that people on all sides became dehumanised. Atrocities were committed by all sides including the Security Forces. I most certainly cannot and would not stand over every individual act that the Provos carried out. It is indeed easy for us in the South to moralise to these people who were involved but you have to live in a man's shoes to understand why they did what they did. I spent last week-end in the company of well known activists from Belfast. One man in particular as a 4 yr old lad saw his father shot dead by the UDA. In subsequent years he saw his home vandalised on numerous occasions by the Security Forces and saw his widowed mother constantly harassed, if by accident of birth you were born in his shoes, might you not have travelled the same road as him. I reiterate what I have said before in a number of posts, I do not wish to resurrect the past and reignite old hatreds, I support the Peace Process and for me the war is well and truely over. I am appalled at the shooting in Derry today, for whatever reason it occurred and I condemn it whole-heartedly.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 25/02/2010 17:17:09    573184

corkcelt

Very good post there and your right Nationalist Community had been treated badly by the security forces and the british goverment someone had to stop this.

On the shooting today i do not believe in killing anyone in this day and age or even anytime . Punishment beatings yes killings no .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2010 18:15:09    573257

I've had two interactions with people claiming to be from the "IRA" One was in Rossport at the corrib gas terminal and the other was in Cork City handing out leaflets. Scum with a capital S is what i gathered from them. I dont undertsand the rational of Corkcelt, Breffni, Dell, Ulsterman etc and i probaly never will. So I'll leave it at that.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 25/02/2010 19:04:46    573317

paddyogall

Have you not enough common sense to know that somebody who claims to be from the IRA is most certainly not from the IRA

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 25/02/2010 19:17:52    573337

paddyogall

Maybe that is word you can call your friends accross the water not the IRA as they stuck up for the poeple in the north when they where treated badly .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2010 19:21:54    573342

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

Correct lads that shout and boast about been in the IRA are only spoofing .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 25/02/2010 19:25:07    573350

Dr.Shephard
County: Leitrim

573337 paddyogall

Have you not enough common sense to know that somebody who claims to be from the IRA is most certainly not from the IRA

I have the good sense to know that people handing out leaflets that identified Drug dealers that was due for "Punishment bestings" for not paying their cut were Republicans affiliated to a terrorist group. I also happen to know of good people working on the Gas Terminal receive "Punishment beatings" and intimidation by so called "True" irishmen with links to the said terrorist group. So Dell you still in favour of punisnhment beatings for people earning a decent living and providing for their family?

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 25/02/2010 19:26:00    573351

dr.shephard.
u are wasting your time, that man has just sawdust between the ears.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 25/02/2010 19:29:24    573355

ANYONE who thinks everything in the North is black and white is deluded. There are those within Unionism and the British Security Services who are against the Peace Process and see the Provos as unfinished business. While I am not saying they are behind ALL the current attacks in the North I would confidently say that MI5/MI6 and British Army Inteligence agencies are up to their necks in a lot of it. They play agents off agents killing some to protect others and allowing attacks to go ahead to cover senior informers. The Dublin/Monaghan bombs were carried out by Britain using it's Loyalist satellite agencies, the Irish security people knew who was responsible within months and that Britain was behind it but the Irish goverment just buried it's head as it didn't know what to do. People should keep their minds open when it comes to the North.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9825 - 25/02/2010 19:29:37    573356