Denis Glennon

Lads dont feed the ego!! not a patch on the likes of flan, heavin or dessie

follower (Westmeath) - Posts: 57 - 25/02/2010 18:35:30    573283

maroon2gold
County: Westmeath

Why all the anger towards Denis Glennon?. The man is an amature sportsman who has given much to his county. He is not under contract and is free to walk away when he wants. He has thrilled us many times with his speed and skill and has given up years of time to do so. He has been our best foward in most of the games for the past 5 years and I for one wish him well if he wishes to finish up. I have been to all championship games in that time except the defeat to Meath last year, all home league games and at least 30% of away games. He owes Westmeath supporters nothing

Exactly, I can't understand all the anger and begrudgery towards Glennon reading this, its nothing but total BS.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 25/02/2010 19:21:04    573341

i've never wanted to write in so much as i want now. it angers me so much that there are people in this county so sad and are showing a lot of jealousy towards the lad, i doubt this happens so often in other counties. its a disgrace that people continue to write in about him in a negative way. it is an amateur sport and i agree with bunbuck we don't know the circumstances yet so lets not jump the gun. hes a major talent and if he goes now aswel i think were pretty much finished. if i could play football like him in my day then i know i wudn't have wasted my talent but its his choice at the end of the day so we should respect him. lets just hope he doesn't flee to another county.

just want to say one other thing, chops you've got a lot of anger in your messages, no doubt u never had the ability to play yourself football so your obviously very envious or you could be a bit like that duke special lad, ye guys are far too interested in this matter, are these a cases of personal vendettas? goodluck boys

ballnacrackyman (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 25/02/2010 20:00:15    573396

Time for denis to cop himself on and concentrate on playing football...football is a team sport and if he has a grievance it should be sorted out at management level and not running off like a spoilt brat who isnt getting his own way! Denis needs to realise that we cant be winning all the time and at this time westmeath needs all its footballers to put their shoulder to the wheel and show a bit of pride in the county jersey and get the show back on the road again!!

We need players of the callibre of flan,des dolan,john keane back in action . What westmeath lack at the moment is leaders in vital positions and those three would certainly give the team those leadership qualities!

once again denis cop on!!

Killucan010 (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 25/02/2010 21:34:38    573559

Rhodejim

Do you not think offaly have got enough westmeath men already namely aidan o halloran and more recently P.J Ward!..would you not look to your other neighbours laois and see could you pick up a few there!!!

Regarding denis being the best club player in westmeath in the last three years,in my opinion tryellspass would not have one a senior football championship without what i consider the most talented footballer in westmeath ovwer the last ten years martin flanagan!

Killucan010 (Westmeath) - Posts: 16 - 25/02/2010 21:40:17    573568

Its not jealousy lads its that we're fed up of this annual saga that Glennon creates and that management has to go and chase after him to come back. I for one feel like he carrys on like he's bigger than the team at times such as this. If we're going through a bad spell he should be man enough and mature enough now to mentor the young lads around him coming through and not just throw in the towel and run away cos the lads are not up to scratch.

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 835 - 25/02/2010 21:49:14    573591

What vendetta? I pointed out that he's not the superstar people on this forum make him out to be, or anyone else for that matter.
All I've pointed out is that he is a good footballer who, because of his attitude, is not fulfilling his potential. Hard facts that a lot of people dont like to read.
What does it matter what sort of footballers myself or Chops are? Get a grip for gods sake. Wake up. Glennon is his own worst enemy and its a shame. Amazingly you'll find that the team will continue and survive, just as it did before. There will be more bad days but then again there will be more good days too, with or without Glennon or any other who has walked away from the team.

DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 25/02/2010 21:52:13    573599

I think Roy Keane was right!

fizzygravy (USA) - Posts: 167 - 26/02/2010 09:10:53    573643

ah yeah no-one said anything about him being a superstar. hes still only young but he has done extremely well for himself considering. all i want to know is where is this rubbish coming from that he's thrown in the towel because the team is pretty much useless this year? i dont get it seen as all the papers are saying that neither him or management have commented yet. leave it out lads. what if the lad is ill or is going through a difficult time, this is some support he's been shown i think ye lads are the ones who need to take the good with the bad and stop being hypocrits.

ballnacrackyman (Westmeath) - Posts: 3 - 26/02/2010 09:28:43    573653

Killucan010

573568 Rhodejim

Do you not think offaly have got enough westmeath men already namely aidan o halloran and more recently P.J Ward!..would you not look to your other neighbours laois and see could you pick up a few there!!!

listen Kid, dont start preaching about offaly having westmeath men untill you know what your talking about. ask an adult about your hero Flan.i wont go into anymore cos i dont want to ruin this thread.
And i never said i wanted denis to transfer, i said i love to see him playing with offaly because he's a class act,obviously it wont happen.
People are saying there is no anger towards dennis in their posts... i think its just jelousy

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/02/2010 10:20:13    573687

DukeSpecial
Amazingly you'll find that the team will continue and survive, just as it did before.

you keep saying this, and i agree, it will survive. but it wont win anything, just like it didnt win anything untill denny arrived on the scene.
is this your second account as a galway man or where are you really from?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/02/2010 10:22:17    573689

Lads, will you stop rising to RhodeJim's bait. All he is trying to do is get a rise off you all and he is succeeding. Ignore his comments as he's at this for a long time.

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 677 - 26/02/2010 10:49:46    573716

DukeSpecial
Amazingly you'll find that the team will continue and survive, just as it did before.

you keep saying this, and i agree, it will survive. but it wont win anything, just like it didnt win anything untill denny arrived on the scene.
is this your second account as a galway man or where are you really from?

"just like it didnt win anything untill denny arrived "

Thats hilarious

DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 26/02/2010 10:56:43    573722

Lads, ignore RhodeJim. He has been logging onto the Westmeath site for a few years now trying to stir things up. He has a limited, make that very limited, knowledge of club football.

Dessie15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 26/02/2010 11:34:05    573764

DukeSpecial

Thats hilarious
*how so?that doesnt make sense.

26/02/2010 11:34:05
Dessie15

573764 Lads, ignore RhodeJim. He has been logging onto the Westmeath site for a few years now trying to stir things up. He has a limited, make that very limited, knowledge of club football.
What in the name of GOD would i be trying to stir??
oh right. so i think a westmeath footballer is poor and i have no knowledge of anything. then i think a westmeath footballer is good and again i know nothing....

God you have major issues with me boy. lets try this, its cold out today isnt it ?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 26/02/2010 12:10:53    573826

There's a good point being made by a couple of people that we don't know the full story and that's fair enough. I think the point being made by most people on here though is that it's a case of the boy who cryed wolf. We have seen this all before from the same player so I can completely understand why people are fed up with this happening again when all we want is for the best players in the County to pull together when they are needed most.

Darragh (Westmeath) - Posts: 335 - 26/02/2010 12:23:44    573857

The only one's who i think will benefit out of all this will be Tyrrellspass. Both Dennis and Flan could be out to prove a point and could now take serious stopping. Its a free world and the chap doesnt have to line out for westmeath and if i was him i wouldnt care what people feel about it. Just look at the abuse he can take at club level.

follower (Westmeath) - Posts: 57 - 26/02/2010 12:28:57    573866

RhodeDim....

"
Thats hilarious
*how so?that doesnt make sense. "

Its hilarious because I think you really believe the rubbish you're spouting....lol

You're funny, keep up the good WIM work

DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 26/02/2010 12:49:58    573899

I'm wth rhodejim on this one - if he's from rhode then he knows tyrrellspass football inside out and all the characters (and vice versa). Denis could very well go to offaly - the border is fairly unclear there between Ring and Croghan and an address could easily be found!

jfd (Westmeath) - Posts: 256 - 26/02/2010 13:24:14    573941

i agree it does seem to reoccur, however like it has been already stated, dennis doesn't seem to be commenting and if i remember correctly with the previous incidents he has never commented. i personally dont believe its attention seeking because if it was why hasn't he been speaking out? it must be personal so lets not judge and respect his decision. i cant comprehend why everyones making a fuss about it anyways because its not our business. i know if anything ill be disappointed if he doesnt return i think hes delight to watch always gives me a thrill.

bunbuck (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 26/02/2010 13:52:03    573977