Rhodejim he is not the best forward the county of Westmeath has ever had, if Ger Heavin was 25 i'd have him again before Glennon, or Spike Fagan, or Dessie Dolan for that matter, Glennon is a gready player in my opinion who as Darragh said often runs down blind alleys and doesn't always pass the ball to players in better positions than himself. He only scores a couple of points a game, he's far from prolific on that front, why are you defending him so much?? Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 835 - 24/02/2010 15:50:03 572011 Link 0 |
duke special your the one having a laugh here. your talking major ***** have you not been to a tyrrellspass match in the last 6 or 7 years is it? rhodejim i completely agree with you he's definitely one of the best forwards in the country. i dread playing tyrrellspass for the scorching i know dennis and his brother will do to our backline, they are very talented. i tink until we know the facts of the situation, everyone shud hold theirs tongue. bunbuck (Westmeath) - Posts: 6 - 24/02/2010 16:17:52 572053 Link 0 |
well pukespecial said "You are stating scoring averages, sorry but nobody gives a damn about those stats, the stats that count are results" Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 24/02/2010 16:50:39 572103 Link 0 |
Well Bun and Rhondy, both of ye should be tied together and doused with cold water to wake ye up. DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 24/02/2010 18:33:10 572289 Link 0 |
RhodeDIN is right. For an offally man he knows an awful lot about westeath STATS!? hithardman (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 24/02/2010 19:34:42 572366 Link 0 |
And to add to Mr rhodes comment........getting the service?...what in the name of god is THE SERVICE?? hithardman (Westmeath) - Posts: 25 - 24/02/2010 20:04:18 572407 Link 0 |
He is the class foward of the county for the last 5 years but if he dos'ent want to play then fair enought. Like Dessie, he owes nothing to Westmeath fans and it looks like he cant see a future with this setup. He has simply lost the hunger and hates the training and I wish him well. He has a few years left in him but I cant see him going to Offaly or anywhere else as he would be a distraction to any other panel who dos'ent understand him. maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 24/02/2010 21:10:45 572517 Link 0 |
He is behaving like a spoilt brat in my opinion. Better off without him! freddy15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 139 - 24/02/2010 21:49:17 572598 Link 0 |
bunbuck EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 25/02/2010 09:28:14 572646 Link 0 |
There is no doubt that Denis is a super talent and one of the better forwards to have played for Westmeath in the 30 years that I have been going to games. For some reason Denis is not liked within the county. Maybe it's because he is deemed to be a bit flash or something. But it does not take away the fact that he is a class act. Dessie15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 217 - 25/02/2010 09:35:54 572650 Link 0 |
maroon2gold players like John Cooney, Spike Fagan, Dermot Brady, David Mitchell played for Westmeth when there was "no future with the setup" as you put it, you didn't see them throw in the towl. He's brought far too much unwanted attention to the setup in the last 2 or 3 years with these tantrums. Do you see Niall McNamee behave like that for Offaly who have been poor for the last few seasons, or Donie Kingston or Ross MUnnelly throwing in the towl for Laois who have been going bad for the last couple of seasons also?? If Glennon can't take the rough with the smooth then he should stay at home. I'd prefer to see him on the field but if we have to endure this behavior every season then maybe its time for the management to stop chasing him. Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 835 - 25/02/2010 09:49:34 572659 Link 0 |
marron2gold. I have never seen so much bull in one message in all my life. Firstly never compare Denis Glennon to Dessie Dolan, they are league's apart in terms of ability, class and commitment. Dessie has given his life to westmeath, he's 30 years old ( i think ) and although thats not old for an inter county player he has had lots of injuries over the last few years which have taken there toll. Plus he obviously feels agreived with the way his father was treated which is admirable in a way. What was Denis done ? only cause disruption and discontent within every county panel he has been on.Secondly, " oh poor denis hates the training " well god love him, what sort of statement is that ? cantona7 (Westmeath) - Posts: 133 - 25/02/2010 10:16:48 572677 Link 0 |
PukeSpecial Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 25/02/2010 10:18:40 572678 Link 0 |
RhodeDim, I have to apologies, you are an obvious wind up merchant and I fell for it, hook line and sinker. DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 25/02/2010 12:40:44 572823 Link 0 |
Lets move on with the question who are the players who did not fill expectations.I for one would not even put Denis Glennon as one of these.Good footballer but it ends there.Had good men around him who made him look good. Inthepark (Westmeath) - Posts: 74 - 25/02/2010 15:11:30 573026 Link 0 |
Why all the anger towards Denis Glennon?. The man is an amature sportsman who has given much to his county. He is not under contract and is free to walk away when he wants. He has thrilled us many times with his speed and skill and has given up years of time to do so. He has been our best foward in most of the games for the past 5 years and I for one wish him well if he wishes to finish up. I have been to all championship games in that time except the defeat to Meath last year, all home league games and at least 30% of away games. He owes Westmeath supporters nothing. maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 25/02/2010 16:46:47 573139 Link 0 |
he's definitely our best forward after dessie in the history of westmeath football. the likes of heavin, wilson, flanagan all up there to but the ability and pace he has makes him stand out. pity his problem is from the shoulders up where it matters most! TigerWoods90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 156 - 25/02/2010 16:47:11 573140 Link 0 |
He's definetly not one of the best forwards after Dessie. Get a grip DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 25/02/2010 16:54:23 573157 Link 0 |
maroon2gold. To answer your question: i have no anger what so ever towards denis glennon, i was just stating that i could not disagree with you more in terms of your comparison with denis to dessie. Again in your post you say denis has been our best forward in the last five years, thats nonsense. You say " denis owes westmeath nothing ", i agree he doesn't, but Westmeath ceratainly owes him nothing. cantona7 (Westmeath) - Posts: 133 - 25/02/2010 18:00:01 573235 Link 0 |
get a grip? he seemingly has begrudgers maybe because of the flash boots and socks around his knees but he's a brilliant footballer. im from the south so i have no reason to be biased but since he came on the scene he's been our best forward by a long shot. even when were gettin hammered he's getting the scores so maybe people should get behind him instead of against him. if you can name me any better forwards excluding dessie well fairplay to you TigerWoods90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 156 - 25/02/2010 18:01:15 573240 Link 0 |