Denis Glennon

I really think at this stage Denis Glennon should not be taken or asked back to the westmeath panel,and in my opinion westmeath football survived before him and i'm sure will survive after him. He has been a great player, and i won't take that from him, but he needs to sort himself out.

NotGG (Westmeath) - Posts: 47 - 23/02/2010 11:00:51    570512

It seems to be an annual thing at this stage.

EndaMN (Westmeath) - Posts: 187 - 23/02/2010 11:24:57    570530

whats his problem this time

Darragh (Westmeath) - Posts: 333 - 23/02/2010 11:37:29    570551

I'd hate to think of anyone begging him to come back-this kind of thing makes him think he's a superstar when in reality his lack of consistency at a high level would make him struggle to get in any of the top 8 county's panels never mind teams.
He can be brilliant but at county level at championship he's been poor for a few years now. I'm sick of seeing him injured the whole time too.
I say let him off and trust some of the younger lads on the panel. In reality they are probably going to be relegated this year but maybe we can build up some bit of a settled team come championship time and give a crack at winning a few games in leinster and possibly qualifiers after that.
Any thoughts?

elmatador (Westmeath) - Posts: 89 - 23/02/2010 11:53:47    570565

deja vu alright. last year it was expense's wasn't it? probably feels he's the only one performing this year. imo though, he has to be asked back and given anything to play.NotGG said westmeath football survived before him? it might have survived but it never won anything. Dennis would get on any team in the country and i for one would love to see him come back this side of the border!

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 23/02/2010 11:56:08    570569

Rhodejim: At this satge your very welcome to him, theres alot of young lads coming through and hopefully they'll be managed alot better than Denis, hopefully these lads coming through will realise you can't run off when you don't get your own way. I'll be the first to say Denis is a great played but you can't hold a county or your team to ransom, it takes 15players to win a game not one!

NotGG (Westmeath) - Posts: 47 - 23/02/2010 12:29:31    570614

The country is full of great footballers, the reason most dont make it at county level is 'Attitude'. There is no doubting Denis' ability but his attitude is his own worst enemy. Imagine having his ability with Michael Ennis' attitude, the result is a much better player all round. the funny thing about all this is that its not a huge surprise to anyone, its an annual event. Westmeath survived before him and will continue to survive after him. Its more his loss than Westmeaths, sadly.

DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 23/02/2010 13:35:47    570672

Maybe its a blessing in disguise, Westmeath get hammered against Meath, Hackett resigns and then maybe the county board will appoint a FOOTBALL manager instead of a running coach??

interested1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 23/02/2010 16:11:59    570918

interested1 vi must agree about hackett in my opinion he hasnt a clue it takes a special type of manager to handle the likes of glennen and the younger lads coming up and hackett just aint it just look at wat he did in previous countys

faithful4ever (Offaly) - Posts: 209 - 23/02/2010 17:31:25    571061

He'll be back in a month.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 23/02/2010 20:07:31    571269

Rhodejim "Dennis would get on any team in the country and i for one would love to see him come back this side of the border! " I'd have to disagree on your point that he'd make any county team, he can show great bursts of pace at times but the last 3 or 4 seasons he has been mediocre at best, i could not see him ever getting a look in on a Kerry, Tyrone or a Dublin team. He's a very frustrating player to watch sometimes and often takes too much out of the ball, fumbling and spilling it. Don't get me wrong he is one of our better players and i'd rather see him in than out but he's no longer one of the bright young stars in the country and he never lived up to the promise of his first season in 04

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 835 - 23/02/2010 21:32:37    571424

"He's a very frustrating player to watch sometimes and often takes too much out of the ball, fumbling and spilling it." - Question- who's he going to give it to? rarely in the last 4 years has anyone stepped up to help him out. now there was a lad against dublin in the league final,(what was his name) but the dubs were putting so much emphasis on dennis that he got free a few times.
dennis is as good as anything out there and with the proper ball coming in he would clean up. lets be totaly fair here, the westmeath midfield at the moment isnt up to much. duffy will never be a good midfielder and most of the backs are poor passers.
dennis has pace but its his turn that unlocks most defences. he's as good as the kerry captain darren osullivan in fact even better.
imo dennis is the best forward westmeath have ever had.
(im not trying to get remarks in its just the way i see it, its not like he'd clean up playing for offaly either)

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 24/02/2010 10:07:50    571585

RhodeJim - sure, Glennon has pace and skill but it takes a lot more to be considered to be a great player. Commitment, teamwork, heart and a bit of pride in himself and his county are also attributes which make a great player. I'm afraid he doesnt tick all those boxes and i'll leave to people to make their own determination as to which ones he ticks. He is like the boy who cried wolf and at the moment the villagers aint listening anymore!!

Meridian (Westmeath) - Posts: 677 - 24/02/2010 11:51:31    571685

RhodeJim-Dermot Bannon was the player in the league final, dunno where hes at now

interested1 (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 24/02/2010 11:59:28    571700

OK lets not get ahead of ourselves saying he is the best forward we have ever had. True the lad has pace and a turn that most defenders will find hard to handle but he does run down blind alleys and ignore free players to take on a shot himself. Regardless of anything else it gives another player a chance they might not have had if he was playing

Darragh (Westmeath) - Posts: 333 - 24/02/2010 12:00:01    571703

The type of problem player like Glennon is always a test for the manager. There is no good a manager just being a football expert. He has also to be an expert on management of players as human beings. Glennon has been such a problematic player for a long time and for different managers. So I'm not too sure that we can blame Hackett. (To judge the manager we'd have to know the exact ciircumstances of the latest walkout). Denis is a very important player for Westmeath at the moment. But to come back again, his attiitude and inconsistency on the field has to change. And I'm not too sure that will happen, unfortunately.

nevergivein (Roscommon) - Posts: 115 - 24/02/2010 12:25:59    571734

Quote from RhodeJim..."dennis has pace but its his turn that unlocks most defences. he's as good as the kerry captain darren osullivan in fact even better.
imo dennis is the best forward westmeath have ever had."

You're having a laugh....he wouldnt make the top 3 best Tpass forwards(Flan,Stan,JCorcoran)....
Seriously, he is fast becoming the biggest under achiever in this county. As was said, hasnt improved as a player since hitting the scenes.

But yes, its your opinion....tho you and Dennis are the only ones who agree on it.

DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 24/02/2010 12:32:24    571742

i predict a 2 page spread on the sunday indo de day of westmeath's 1st round championship with glennon looking into the distance talkin about how much he shud be an all star!

myrealname (Westmeath) - Posts: 12 - 24/02/2010 12:37:01    571751

DukeSpecial

You're having a laugh....he wouldnt make the top 3 best Tpass forwards(Flan,Stan,JCorcoran)....

Thats some statement, everyone knows he's been the best club player in westmeath for the last couple of years. or maybe im missing something?
we'v all heard rumours about him being this and that but that doesnt take away from his performances ON the field. i actually dont know why im defending a westmeath player but i do think ye are being very hard on a fellow who (if my calculations are correct) has scored 9 points from two games in which westmeath were well beaten in both games. again i could be wrong but i think ye have only scored 17points...that leaves the rest of the team scoring 8 points.
kinda logical to think ye would want to be keeping him on board?

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 24/02/2010 14:20:19    571873

Listen RhodeDin, yes you are missing something, probably the most important thing....

Everyone knows he hasnt been the best club player in the past couple of years(Des,Flan), but everyone knows he has the potential to be, if it wasnt for his attitude. Thats the biggest pity about all of this, wasting talent and potential.
You are stating scoring averages, sorry but nobody gives a damn about those stats, the stats that count are results. Wesmeath have lost both games in the league so far. Thats the point here. No one gives a flying duck who scored what.
Finally, its got nothing to do with 'keeping him on board', playing for your county is a huge honour, as a player you do what has to be done to get the best out of you for the good of the team. He should be leading this team but instead is driving a wedge of disrespect between the rest of the panel.
Whatever chance this team has, its best bet is a panel who respect each other and would die on the pitch for each other, Dennis dosent fit into this Im afraid.

good talking

DukeSpecial (Galway) - Posts: 21 - 24/02/2010 15:23:45    571966