I stood to win a five figure sum if Portlaoise won the club championship and although I felt the ref did them every chance he could, it is fair to say only one team showed up to play football yesterday. Very disappointed with Portlaoise's attitude and fitness level which dropped a lot too. maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 22/02/2010 11:54:17 569276 Link 0 |
I stood to win a five figure sum on Portlaoise if they won the club championship this year and while the ref was very bias against them, their attitude and fitness level left a lot to be desired. I was surprised how heavy the pitch was but anyway only one team showed up with the right attitude and preperation yesterday and best of luck to them. maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 22/02/2010 12:04:47 569303 Link 0 |
And now my laptop is going wonky maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 22/02/2010 13:02:58 569436 Link 0 |
This was our big day, and he ruined it. db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 22/02/2010 13:45:54 569498 Link 0 |
All I can say is fair play to the referee, most referees in Gaelic games shy away from making the big call, so while it would have been very easy to issue a yellow card for what was clearly a red card offence, the referee was 100% right in sending him off. As a few other people have also pointed out here, Tadhg Kennelly should also have being sent off in the All Ireland final for his disgraceful challenge on Nicholas Murphy, and whose to say that wouldn't have changed the result had the referee sent him off. Too many players in the GAA set out to lay 'down a marker' early on in the game, generally safe in the knowledge that they will get away with it, hopefully this brave referee will change the mindset of a whole generation of players, who might now just think twice now before setting out to lay down a marker. gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 22/02/2010 15:04:31 569596 Link 0 |
martin coll for donegal v cavan-ref threw the ball in nd he elobowed his marker-must have been 5 seconds iwasthere (Donegal) - Posts: 100 - 22/02/2010 15:46:06 569677 Link 0 |
If that tackle happened in the last 5 minutes youd say, yeah definate sending off and thered be nothing said. The fact that it was so early in the game is the issue. The ref was correct to send him off and just because it was the first minute is no defence. The player was stupid. I must say though that besides this the referee was of a poor standard. He stopped and started the game and failed to play any advantage whatsoever. His was also too trigger happy with the yelloe card. Well done Kilmurray. I wont say good luck in the final because ye could be facing my own club! Joe Joe (Galway) - Posts: 253 - 22/02/2010 15:53:29 569698 Link 0 |
Word has it that DBPC sent off a player after the warm up cos he wouldn't pull up his socks. He said the player was questioning the authority of the ref and it was in the rule book. Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 22/02/2010 16:27:45 569760 Link 0 |
Referee made a big call in the first minute, but I think he was completely right. Portlaoise have only themselves to blame for the way they reacted. football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 22/02/2010 16:57:33 569802 Link 0 |
12Royal Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/02/2010 17:01:20 569809 Link 0 |
Ah my computer today i mean meath v donegal in all ireland quarter-final . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/02/2010 17:04:27 569814 Link 0 |
Club match a few years ago, we were playing against local rivals (with a bit of a reputation) and the previous game had been quite heated. Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 22/02/2010 17:06:56 569822 Link 0 |
Brave but excellent decision by the referee to red card the Portlaoise player in the first minute for what was definitely a sending off offence (was a complete clothes line job and highly dangerous). dingle1 (Clare) - Posts: 805 - 22/02/2010 17:30:37 569857 Link 0 |
Why NO outrage at the Portlaoise player pushing the referee??? Wouldn't be another example of the double standards we see in the GAA.......surely? Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9840 - 22/02/2010 17:45:54 569879 Link 0 |
First red harsh but correct. Second red was for a second yellow. First yellow for saying something to the ref so for that stupidity alone he deserved it. Can anyone tell me what % of sendings off result from an original yellow for mouthing off. Maybe Dellboy has some figures. He is a ref in Meath I understand. Good job he is not based in Tyrone or he would end up with only half the players on the pitch if he booked them all for mouthing off. Well judging from his own rantings. Sorry Dell I don't really mean it. But then again The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 22/02/2010 18:04:31 569911 Link 0 |
Lads I might be biased as I am from Laois, but I do follow the hurling more than the football. However I didnt think it was a straight red. Im actually convinced it was a yellow. People are saying it was a clothesline, I dont think so, to me he attempted to play the ball the momentum of the kilmurray man meant that the portlaoise player ended up catching him around the neck. If you look at the second sending off where the portlaoise player was issued a yellow card it was a similar tackle but because the kilmurray man wasnt at full tilt it didnt appear to be as reckless. Finally people comparing it to Kenellys tackle is just silly they are nothing alike. Hoscarano (Laois) - Posts: 56 - 22/02/2010 18:16:20 569921 Link 0 |
pearse mc kenna got sent off fro cavan v armagh after 27 secs in the 1st round of Ulster around 2005 i think milhouse (Cavan) - Posts: 469 - 22/02/2010 18:21:02 569931 Link 0 |
The real Árd Rí Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/02/2010 18:34:19 569954 Link 0 |
probably a red but possibly not 10DLSAM (Derry) - Posts: 266 - 22/02/2010 19:13:30 570035 Link 0 |
Dellboy, no flies on you boss !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 22/02/2010 19:58:51 570154 Link 0 |