Quickest sending off in GAA History?

After the Portlaoise player was shown the red card at 33 seconds in the Portlaoise- Kilmurry game, is that the quickest red card ever?

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 21/02/2010 14:34:27    568529

was wondering that myself? it was a bad tackle and high but the ref should have given the player a chance yellow and a ticking off game is now one way traffic

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 21/02/2010 14:53:52    568538

i would have to say...possibly so

joseff (Louth) - Posts: 964 - 21/02/2010 14:55:13    568540

And theres me thinking Derry and Tyrone was bad.........;)

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 21/02/2010 15:04:05    568554

A 50-50 decision in my view between a yellow and red, perhaps with it being so early on he could have been more lenient.

The ref isn't having a great game at all but the treatment he received going it at half time was well out of order. Portlaoise manager barking like a jack russell around him was shameful.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 21/02/2010 15:08:33    568559

bein honest lads ive seen a referee get worse treatment...

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 21/02/2010 15:17:14    568565

Red card as tackles like that could break someones neck and the abuse the ref took at half time was a disgrace .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/02/2010 15:26:21    568576

I would fancy Kilmurray at this stage.They have a run on Portlaoise at this stage.Nothing going right for Portlaoise.

12Royal (Meath) - Posts: 987 - 21/02/2010 15:26:58    568578

do new rules not apply for this game no??

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 21/02/2010 15:30:38    568581

great goal

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 21/02/2010 15:32:59    568584

Fair play to ref for having the guts to issue red - definitely a crazy wreckless tackle. The same rules apply in the first minute as well as the last.
Ok, since that alot of decisions have gone against Portlaoise - but the frustration just escalates as the game goes on and then you lose focus.
Where were the stewards for half time - saw a few but jaysus it was obvious what was going to happen.
Portlaoise manager obivously trying to imtimidate the ref for second half but he should have been concentrating on getting his team in and set up for 2nd half.

BigSur (Westmeath) - Posts: 1246 - 21/02/2010 15:42:06    568591

Did portlaoise get 2 sending offs? Thats one poor ref, I know what I would do with him

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 21/02/2010 15:43:50    568595

can i just ask what is wrong with gaelic football today?? just watching the portlaoise game here and the treatment the referee got at half time and the way mc cormack got sent of. this is what you call disgraceful beahviour. forget what happened with galvin last week, this is what the gaa needs to stamp out. that behavviour is totally out of order. fair enough maybe he should have given a yellow card but that at half time was no way to treat a referee. there is a siege mentality in gaelic football today that is destroying the game.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 21/02/2010 15:43:55    568596

Just imagine if he was the ref on the big day last september.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 21/02/2010 15:50:37    568603

lowerormond
County: Tipperary

No the new rules do not come in to club level as yet .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/02/2010 15:54:32    568607

the poor lad i say that will haunt him for the rest of his life...........just a rush of blood...id say

flyer (Meath) - Posts: 815 - 21/02/2010 16:02:43    568617

There have been a few players sent off before ball thrown in - for off the ball incidents.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/02/2010 16:04:27    568619

the way portlaoise conducted themselves was a disgrace especially their manager at half time and their midfielder who got sent off late on. not the conduct that true gaa fans want to see broadcast on tv. as for the sending off, i don't recall anyone ever getting sent off as early but the rules apply from the first to the last second.

bangedupabroad (Roscommon) - Posts: 126 - 21/02/2010 16:05:46    568624

A 50-50 decision in my view between a yellow and red, perhaps with it being so early on he could have been more lenient.

--------------

what does the timing have to do with it juan ? it was a red card offence it doesnt matter wether its the first minute or last minute , the tackle is as dangerous in the first minute as it is in the last so leniancy because of the timing is a bad way to look at it , if its a red card offence its a red card simple as .

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13658 - 21/02/2010 16:08:26    568625

I got sent off before the ref even threw in the ball. I was coner back marking a player i had a run in with before and I hit him the umpire called the ref who sent me off before it started. I never lived it down after it. Never will I hit a man again unless he deserves it!!!

john_wayne1 (UK) - Posts: 233 - 21/02/2010 16:13:01    568631