Division Three for the year ahead?

From reading here there seems to be a bit of "history" between Na Rossa and St Nauls. What is the history of this? (Silly asking that on here i suppose as I am bound to get an unbiased (!) answer lol).

donegael (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 08/10/2010 16:02:10    792833

no harm in the nauls wot u on bout donegal

knackerboy (Donegal) - Posts: 92 - 09/10/2010 21:05:55    793412

Were you referring to me Knackerboy? I never said anything bad about nauls. I wouldnt run down any club as i know how difficult it to run every club. Ans St Nauls have a great history, as do Na Rossa. Great keepin the game goin in a small rural parish.

donegael (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 14/10/2010 16:24:54    796631

Congrats to Glen on promotion, Well deserved

portobelly (Donegal) - Posts: 108 - 25/10/2010 13:12:59    803065

Bundoran guaranteed promotion playoff now against naomh mhuire. Will be a tight one as these end of season games normally are decided by who wants it more. Big game between Carn and Na rossa this weekend.can see na rossa beating them though

donegalforsam (Donegal) - Posts: 126 - 26/10/2010 17:31:12    803828

Its hard to believe that a promotion play off between Naomh Mhuire and Bundoran to decide the big prize of Div 2 football is going to be played the second week in November. Teams in this division went 8 weeks in the sunny summer without a game. In the past this would have been put down to "County games"...but since we went out quickly this year....this shows that the fixtures folk are simply unable to do their job.

Naomh Mhuire have a really young fast and fit team comprising of 4 county minors and a host of u-21s. Having them play an important game in the muddy fields in November is poor when there is no logical excuse for it. This play off should have been wrapped up in September...October at the latest. Naomh Mhuire will play full of fire and probably wont use this as an issue....as will Bundoran who have had a long season winning the Intermediate championship along the way. Both these teams deserve better and while soccer has taken a hammering in Donegal...the one great lesson we can take from the Donegal soccer league is when a fixture list is released...its adhered to and players know when they are playing months in advance....why is this the case??

Good luck to both teams in the play off and hopefully football decides who goes up....not a lump of mud in a goalmouth!!

atlanticgael (Donegal) - Posts: 207 - 26/10/2010 17:49:21    803843

Saying we have to spend another season in Div 3, I'll say good luck to Bundoran and Naomh Mhuire in the play off. Definately the two best teams after Glen. Sad to see Griffen and Walsh spend another season in Div 3. I feel Bundorans superior point taking ability will win the day even though NM have a very mean defense. BTW why cant the game be played Oct 31 or Nov 7?

seantheman (Donegal) - Posts: 74 - 26/10/2010 19:29:50    803924

The St Nauls slump must raise a lot of questions for their club. I think they lost 5 games on the trot and 6 of the final 7.

donegael (Donegal) - Posts: 188 - 26/10/2010 19:56:24    803944

Well it seems that glen did indeed have enough auld fellas to keep them in the div!
They finally wrapped up the league on sun but should have done it a few weeks earlier
It should be good craic watching them, kilcar and killybegs knocking sparks out of each other next year

thegallant (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 28/10/2010 12:26:43    804927

Bundoran v N Mhuire and Na Rossa V Milford; so whos up and whos down lads??

poiu (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 01/11/2010 09:11:21    806941

Bundoran Up - Milford Down

If Bundoran do not go up there will be big matches in the South next yr in this league with St Nauls, Ballyshannon, Naomh Brid & Bundoran

PatMolloy (Donegal) - Posts: 55 - 01/11/2010 13:17:40    807081

I think that the big field in letterkenny will suit bundoran a wee bit more and na rossa will be far to physical for milford

thegallant (Donegal) - Posts: 37 - 03/11/2010 12:29:23    808616

Knackerboy go quiet since na rossa hi relegation play off??? But fancy dem to beat Milford all da same!! Cloughneely shud have too much for mc cools also!!! So wots da stoy next Year is it only top 6 in div 2 who r in senior championship??? If so intermediate champ shud be strong next year with like of ballyshannon,fanad,glen,nauls,naomh mhuire,naomh brid,buncrana etc....

Spiderman (Donegal) - Posts: 248 - 05/11/2010 18:03:16    810471

Bundoran 0-12 Naomh Mhuire 0-8. Won on the day deservedly by Bundoran. Strong fit and eager team and fair play to them. Naomh Mhuire have been really good this year especially at home where they are prcatically unbeatable....a bit cruel that they are again in Div 3 but thats football.
The biggest issue is not so much the game and Bundorans promotion but the change of venue to Ardara from O'Donnell Park. The game was changed on Friday night late and moved to Ardara.

With the greatest of respect to Ardara ...it is not a winter pitch nor is it a county standard ground.....everyone accepts that.It is in fact the Ardara second ground as their new field undergoes treatment. The grass was at least 4-6" long and the surface had absolutely no bounce. It was therefore not suitable for any kind of football and especially not for an important promotion play off to Div 2 for two clubs who have been training since last January. With MacCumhaill park free on the day...the game could have been moved there....but why was it moved from Letterkenny in the fisrt place...no one seems to have been given an explanation for that.

So here we have two county grounds where millions have been spent...funded by the clubs through their supporters......and a Div 2 promotion prize is played in 6 inches of grass on a muddy surface in November with supporters from both sides shivering alongside a road with no cover. The County board should stop bluffing their way towards a centre of excellence in Convoy if they can't organise a fixture and a venue without creating a total farce this weekend....Bundoran and Naomh Mhuire both deserved better and the GAA supporters in the county should see that this is wrong and does little to advance promotion of our games.

atlanticgael (Donegal) - Posts: 207 - 07/11/2010 15:56:36    811249

dont see a big problem with ardara, better bein told friday rather than this morning! from what im lead to believe mac cumhaill park wasn't playable after two games yesterday and st eunans didnt think they wouldnt be able to hold two games given the weather.

dgl4 (Donegal) - Posts: 1 - 07/11/2010 17:31:09    811318

so milford stayed up!!

poiu (Donegal) - Posts: 71 - 08/11/2010 10:50:31    811744

I agree with the above Bundoran and Niamh Muire deserved better treatment asking them to play on a pitch that was not properly prepared the grass was to long and there was bounce in the ground. But then you have to ask do the people in power really care the way they treat the teams or there supporters, I dont think they give a dam as long as they get the gate money. On a personal note I thought the ref had a poor game.

DL92 (Donegal) - Posts: 35 - 08/11/2010 14:50:27    812001