Head Shops - burning to the ground

Dellboypolecat

Well Dell...None of the items in a head shop are illegal either.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 15:04:03    567049

567049 Dellboypolecat

I find that hard to believe because why is drug dealers trying to put them out of business so?

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 15:13:04    567064

Dell, I give up. There is no point in arguing with an idiot.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 19/02/2010 15:17:47    567072

I find that hard to believe because why is drug dealers trying to put them out of business so?
Because people are buying....LEGAL DRUGS... instead of buying...ILLEGAL DRUGS
Anyway man... lets just leave it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 15:18:13    567073

See the crux of the issue is that people like Delboy who would regard themselves as upstanding citizens are actually the ones that are perpetuating the problem. If everyone knew exactly what drugs do and the level of risk involved with certain drugs, then the problem would be well on its way to a solution. People would not regard cannabis as an evil demon and would see it in its true light. All of these attitudes are because people hear a doctor on tv telling them that x is bad so they follow along like sheep. For example i have a couple of friends that are dentists. All dentists are falling all over themselves to get onto these sensodyne ads because it is really good publicity for their practice. I asked about the issue of cuticles and how sensodyne blocks them and they all laughed at me in unison. They say all that stuff is rubbish and no dentist believes it. Until i heard that i would have totally believed that sensodyne was the way to go. In actual fact it is no different to colgate, aquafresh or any other toothpaste.
My point is that people will believe what they are told without educating themselves. And that is why the problem still exists. Teenagers are coming home from nights out completely off their heads on class A and the parents are too ignorant of drugs to spot it. My children will never take a drug until they have reached an age where their brains are fully formed and can take the subtle side effects of alcohol, marijuana etc. They will never be able to pull the wool over my eyes and they will know it. They will also be advised fully on the dangers of each drug and if, when 18, they want to do x y or z then they will do so in a fully informed manner.
By sticking our heads in the sand we will achieve nothing. So my advice to you Delboy is if you havent a clue what you are debating then please dont bother. People who are totally ignorant of drugs are not required in the fixing of this social issue.

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 15:18:27    567074

Del do you actually know whats going on here? Your last post suggests you are far more off the mark than even i originally thought

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 15:19:59    567080

nocky
County: Wexford

Nocky easy man... easy. If you catch my drift....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 15:20:25    567083

Dell I completly agree with what you are trying to get across, These may not be illegal but you get some people who over use them and take advantage of what they can handle, soon their family falls apart because of the addiction and it could spiral on to other things. I think these shops should be banned

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 19/02/2010 15:25:07    567094

nocky

567072 Dell, I give up. There is no point in arguing with an idiot.
19/02/2010 15:18:13

567073 Well Dell...None of the items in a head shop are illegal either.
Because people are buying....LEGAL DRUGS... instead of buying...ILLEGAL DRUGS
Anyway man... lets just leave it...

Lads if Dell says there are illegal substances in Head shops then there most definetely is. Having followed him closely as he made his way to the previously mystical 10000 mark, the depth of his general knowledge and deep understanding of delicate and intricate matters have never ceased to amaze me.
So if Dell declares this as fact, then it is.
It reminds me of papal infalibilty- if the pope declares it true then it is.

Nocky, I came to that realisation on the Derry City thread. It is pointless argueing

Jimbodub, Yes it is nice to knoew that there are a few more logical thinking liberals out there

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 19/02/2010 15:25:55    567095

Nocky was there any need for that last comment am just against drugs like this because i believe it is things that should not be allowed to open and it is a bad example on kids and i always have been against these things and always will.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 15:26:07    567096

Dellboypolecat- I can c how u got 10000 posts. You havent a clue . Your trying to bring your number up.

Legan4life (Longford) - Posts: 209 - 19/02/2010 15:27:53    567101

Orlaith
County: Derry

567094 Dell I completly agree with what you are trying to get across, These may not be illegal but you get some people who over use them and take advantage of what they can handle, soon their family falls apart because of the addiction and it could spiral on to other things. I think these shops should be banned

Can both of you agree that there are other legal venues where the exact same scenario can and does occur? ie take your post and replace "shop" with "pub".

Can either of you understand the double standard over this?

Dell have you ever drank Poitin?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 19/02/2010 15:32:00    567112

Orlaith
County: Derry

Just like an off license then...?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 15:32:55    567115

Are these 'joints', you say, you smoke legal? Or the coke you snort?
This 'drug' that youse call alcohol. I dont mind people going down the local and drinking 15 pints and a ween of half wans because it is legal. In fact thats what i will probably do tomorrow.
I know that you will say that the drugs in the 'head shop' are legal, but some how, just somehow I dont know how youse can condone coke etc even if it is taken in moderation.

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 19/02/2010 15:34:58    567121

Plastic Paddy

Because we're not hypocrites...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 15:42:08    567139

Maybe I'm the idiot Dell for arguing with you in the first place. You obviously haven't read my posts or the posts of others who have offered different views to yourself, either that or you have read them and simply don't understand them.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 19/02/2010 15:42:53    567142

So, rossielassie, am I right in saying that you think all drugs should be banned, including alcohol and tobacco? You think doing this would make our country a better place to live?
No you are not right in saying that Nocky. I am in agreement with Del but you donr seem to want to let this go with me.
Alcohol abuse was and is high in this country but that wont be banned, cop on and dont be asking stupid questions. Yes it is as lethal as other drugs but your judging my opinion and now running with it, like a dog with a bone.
I do think drugs are not needed to have a good time. My OPINION
I dont see the need to justify every comment i make on this thread to you. Im not hounding you on what you say.

rossielassie (Roscommon) - Posts: 672 - 19/02/2010 15:45:35    567150

Ah yes Plastic Paddy but because something is legal does not make it any less dangerous. If you want to ban drugs due to them being dangerous then by all means do. But alcohol is more dangerous than marijuana. Scientists have shown that very recently. So lets ban alcohol too. And nicotine. Alternatively we could legalise them all, regulate them properly, put some money in the taxman's pockets, drive out the drug dealers and have an educated society where drugs are there to be done if one wants to safely and without exposure to criminals.
How can people not see this? I am loathe to insult anyone but jeez its not rocket science. And it will happen. People like Orlaith and Delboy just decide that drugs are bad and thats that but alcohol and nicotine are different and we will just ignore the thousands upon thousands of deaths in this country each year due to alcohol and cigarettes. Ye are holding the solution to this problem back with your double standards and narrow mindedness. Sorry if that offends but i have spent the afternoon posting on this subject and there really is no talking to ye.

BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 15:46:32    567155

nocky

567142 Maybe I'm the idiot Dell for arguing with you in the first place. You obviously haven't read my posts or the posts of others who have offered different views to yourself, either that or you have read them and simply don't understand them.

He obviously doesn't understand them.

10,000 posts. Never in the history of this state has a man said so much but meant so little

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 19/02/2010 15:47:49    567159

Breffni39 no never drank poiton and never will . Nocky we will leave it at that i disagree with you and you do with me and i will always be against these sort of things.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 15:52:19    567170