Patrique, did you star in "Trainspotting" by any chance ?
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 18/02/2010 21:54:45
17/02/2010 20:13:08 Dellboypolecat County: Tyrone Posts: 10052
564892 Burn everyone of them and keep them out of towns , villages etc ,
--------------------------------------
Guys. don't listen to Dell. This is typical of 99% percent of his posts. He doesn't read threads, he just posts drivel based on the thread header to bulk up his post count. He never adds to a debate and never backs up his statements.
Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2466 - 19/02/2010 10:09:27
So are you saying RossieLassie that alcohol should be banned as well? Why cant people see that too much of any drug, be it alcohol, marijuana, ecstasy, nicotine, paracetamol etc will be bad for you. Why cant people see that some of us have addictive destructive personalities and will abuse anything we like be it alcohol, heroin, videogames or chocolate? In the UK government scientists were severely rebuked (i think some may have been forced to resign) for producing a league table that showed which drugs were worse than others. They werent rebuked for the league table in itself but were rebuked for what their table showed. A lot of drugs that are widely regarded as being terrible were safer on the list than the taxed drugs of alcohol and nicotine. Effectively the scientists in the UK are funded to research this stuff but their findings must tow the party line. And that is the big point here. Alcohol and nicotine are taxed and are therefore acceptable. Cannabis and class A's are not taxed and are therefore evil. People will believe anything they are told by authorities so we have this ignorant argument put forward by those who know nothing about the subject. There will always be the eejit who will drink too much, smoke too much, snort too much or inject too much. Why should the rest of us have to suffer because of those people? Bill Hicks said that anyone who takes LSD and jumps off a building thinking they can fly is an idiot. Its not the drug's fault. If you think you can fly, try flying from the ground first. According to Hicks, such people are ruining it for the rest of us and shouldnt be missed because they are helping the gene pool by killing themselves. Extreme views but they make a good point. People want head shops banned even though they know that it will be the drug dealers who will pick up the slack and continue where they left off. People will always take drugs. No law will ever stop it. So why not legalise them and get some much needed tax dollars in this bruised world economy? Ps i like the occasional joint. I have enjoyed this for 15 years. I have a highly functioning job with a good salary, no social phobias and a good social life. For every 1 person that drugs dont suit, there are 50 living normal lives and occasionally enjoying the effects that drugs can bring. Pps the only person i have ever seen taking a drug and nearly dying was one of my friends. What was it? Alcohol poisoning. Had to be pumped out and a few days in the hospital.
BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 11:58:03
But the doctor on the Joe Duffy show said drugs are bad Batigol, so it must be true. I swear that's where half the people from this country get their opinions, some people can't think for themselves at all.
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 19/02/2010 12:26:24
nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1485
People not being able to think for themselves is one thing, but the bigger problem is that they only allow their opinions to be formed by the most conservative commentators, panelists, journalists etc.
The big problem in this country is that the vast majority refuse to listen to logic.
Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 19/02/2010 12:38:06
True Nocky and it is the hypocrisy shown by the people in this country that has annoyed me into writing all i have written. People talking in hushed tones about the effects of drugs will not bat an eyelid at Jimmy down the local drinking 15 pints of guinness. If you stand back and look at it its amazing.
We have also only spoken about the disputed health effects of drugs. What about the social behaviour exhibited by those on drugs? I would much rather run into a bunch of stoned young fellas down an alleyway late at night than a crowd of drunk young fellas. Walk the streets of any town tonight and tomorrow night at 2am and see what is going on. Fighting, vandalism and public order offences will be rife. People getting sick on the streets, people urinating on the streets, people destroying taxis, girls getting advantage taken of them. All of these are the side effects of alcohol. What are the side effects of the evil marijuana? A craving for crisps and a general disinclination to talk are the two effects i get. What about the paranoia i hear the anti-drugs brigade say. Well yes some people can get paranoid from smoking too much. But i also recall my grandfather ( a massive lush) asking my mother one night if she could stay over at his place because my granny was away and he was suffering the "horrors" and was seeing things coming out of the walls. The horrors with alcohol are entirely the same effect as paranoia with marijuana. It is your bodys way of telling you your a pig and should stop consuming. Which brings us back to the point. When it comes to pastimes that are pleasurable there will always be people who do too much. Drugs that are presently illegal are no different.
BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 12:44:57
Dr.Shephard County: Leitrim Posts: 1181
566676 nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1485
People not being able to think for themselves is one thing, but the bigger problem is that they only allow their opinions to be formed by the most conservative commentators, panelists, journalists etc.
The big problem in this country is that the vast majority refuse to listen to logic.
Jaysus lads it's been a pleasure having this debate with you all... fantastic to find like minded people!
You see it's the people that have taken drugs that are in the best position to comment on these matters...
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 12:59:11
BatigolStatue County: Mayo Posts: 175
566686 True Nocky and it is the hypocrisy shown by the people in this country that has annoyed me into writing all i have written. People talking in hushed tones about the effects of drugs will not bat an eyelid at Jimmy down the local drinking 15 pints of guinness. If you stand back and look at it its amazing.
We have also only spoken about the disputed health effects of drugs. What about the social behaviour exhibited by those on drugs? I would much rather run into a bunch of stoned young fellas down an alleyway late at night than a crowd of drunk young fellas. Walk the streets of any town tonight and tomorrow night at 2am and see what is going on. Fighting, vandalism and public order offences will be rife. People getting sick on the streets, people urinating on the streets, people destroying taxis, girls getting advantage taken of them. All of these are the side effects of alcohol. What are the side effects of the evil marijuana? A craving for crisps and a general disinclination to talk are the two effects i get. What about the paranoia i hear the anti-drugs brigade say. Well yes some people can get paranoid from smoking too much. But i also recall my grandfather ( a massive lush) asking my mother one night if she could stay over at his place because my granny was away and he was suffering the "horrors" and was seeing things coming out of the walls. The horrors with alcohol are entirely the same effect as paranoia with marijuana. It is your bodys way of telling you your a pig and should stop consuming. Which brings us back to the point. When it comes to pastimes that are pleasurable there will always be people who do too much. Drugs that are presently illegal are no different.
Well said man...
I've been at illegal raves... the cops show up.. have a quiet word with the organisers (Lads we'll give you until 8am) The Guards head off... show up at 8.15am... "Ok folks that's it for one night"... Everyone gives a cheer... shakes hands with the Guards... end of.
Everyone heads off... No problem... No trouble.... no arrests.... why? Because everyone is off their heads.
Now if everyone was locked and the Guards showed up.... then we'd have a far different scenario playing out....!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 13:05:45
Loughduff Lad County: Cavan Posts: 229
And the only argument you have is my post count how childish. If anyone believes these places are not selling illegal drugs well there daft because that is what goes on in these places and what about or youth ?
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 13:18:24
Dell, what would burning down all the head shops achieve, in your opinion. I'm curious to know where you're coming from with this suggestion.
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 19/02/2010 13:35:22
nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1488
If you keep burning them down they will not keep opening and like i said i believe there is illegal drugs in these places.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 13:47:29
So where will people go for their highs then Dell?
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 19/02/2010 13:52:58
Delboy the issue at hand isnt about the illegal substances that you allege are being sold in these establishments. The issue is about the legal substances being sold in these establishments. And you think handing the baton back to illegal drug dealers is the way to go with a bit of arson thrown in for good measure? I would much prefer to smoke good weed from a shop than the weed that some dealers sell - mixed up with ground glass to add weight to the bag etc. But hey elboy you strike me as a person who has seen it all, done it all and formed some really insightful educated opinions on the matter so i guess we should listen to you.
Cheers Jimbob, what you have said is completely correct. The people on here saying drugs are terrible etc obviously dont know the social aspects to these drugs and how people on them behave. Hence the "he was mad on dope" comments i hear from time to time. Anyone who has ever partaken in such activity knows that such an endeavour is completely impossible.
BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 13:59:14
Dellboypolecat County: Tyrone Posts: 10062
Ludicrous stuff Dell... That's up there with the most ridiculous rubbish ever posted on the site!
I mean are you serious....! How feckin right wing are you man…. What's next feckin books!
These shops are breaking no law… the only crime in these circumstances is arson… and I hope these people are caught and locked up for endangering lives.
People lived over that shop on North Frederick Street for heaven sake…! Would you ever wise up…. Or shut up!
jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 19/02/2010 14:00:27
nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1490
566867 So where will people go for their highs then Dell ?
You do not need drugs to get highs and if it is the only thing poeple get highs out of they must not have much of a life.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 14:02:10
BatigolStatue County: Mayo Posts: 176
It is illegal if you get it off drug dealers or these shops still illegal and these things should not be allowed open and drug dealers should all be locked up . For the record never took a drug in my life and never will as am not that stupid.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 14:10:30
World listen up! Delboy has a solution to the drug problem - lock up the dealers! How in the name of jehovah did we all not think of that. Some of the finest minds in the world have for generations puzzled over deciding a policy that would best solve the problem. And Delboy from Tyrone has come up with the solution. How did we not see it? It really is true when they say that the simplest solution is always the best. Lock the drug dealers up. Close the shops. No drugs in the world. Simple!
BatigolStatue (Mayo) - Posts: 211 - 19/02/2010 14:39:40
DELL, HAVE YOU EVER DRANK (ALCOHOL). THAT IS A DRUG.
nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 19/02/2010 14:42:15
Poitin is also an illegal drug but I'm sure some the anti-drug types on here have tried it.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12311 - 19/02/2010 14:56:00
nocky County: Wexford Posts: 1496
Drink is not illegal only for the underage but am sure you know that.
Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/02/2010 15:00:29