Tyrone people unhappy with the GAA disciplinary system

ta32

562951 jimbobdub.

thats right jim. it could have turned and bite your beloved dublin in the backside in 1995 and then u would have been minus 1 all-ireland.
it can work both ways.

He handled the ball on the ground man... thats a free out... just so you know.... ;)

PS if it wansnt for the back door...blah blah blah

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 14:17:00    563016

Here Dubs whats with the Tyrone bashing i thought you's would be in go form 2 out of 2 in the League flying high. I am hoping this is just a wind up because nobody in Tyrone is blaming TV on players getting suspended, what they are saying however is that using TV footage a number of days after a match to nit pick incidents in order to suspend players is wrong. As I have stated on another thread the Tyrone v Derry game 4 players 3 Tyrone 1 Derry where suspended christ you would have thought it was a complete killing match where in fact it was completely the opposite. The point I'm trying to make is that if Gaelic Football is going to be judged in this manner it will become a case that if 2 teams are playing a tough hard championship match in the height of the summer the winning team could find themselves with 3 or 4 players missing for the next game because minor incidents are being blowin out of all proportion by TV pundits, who lets face it are being paid to do in order to sensationalise a match. If the ref does'nt call it during the 70 minutes that's it. The only time I would agree to TV footage being used would be if a brawl broke out among a number of players or if a player received a serious injury through a dirty tackle or of the ball hit. In the 2 league games Tyrone have been involved in to date neither of these incidents have happened, yet Tyrone have had 3 players suspended with possably another to follow for incidents that would'nt even warrant yellow cards in a club league game. Here's hoping common sense will prevail.

TyroneUltra (Tyrone) - Posts: 307 - 16/02/2010 14:21:56    563024

Tyrone have a point, it should be the same for every County, not just teams on TV.
Then again, Tyrone do seem to have problems with discipline this past while. It's not too long ago they had a man sent off in five games in a row. Saying that, Joe was very unlucky to see red against Mayo.

redandblackgaa (Tyrone) - Posts: 251 - 16/02/2010 14:22:14    563025

PomeroyPlunkett

Hey!!!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 14:26:36    563033

I can see where Harte is coming from, trying to draw attention to the issue of consistency hwich is fair enough. However, I fully agree with the Limerick man above who says that Harte should be more concerned about the discipline of his own players. If they are not doing the crime, then they won't be getting these bans.

It's a whole-panel approach to the discipline issue which Harte should take. Part of me thinks that Harte is afraid to take the edge away from Tyrone if he asks the players to be more careful. Not that they're regularly ill-disciplined, but, like most counties, hard-hitting and playing over the limit at times can be a very thin line.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1465 - 16/02/2010 14:28:49    563037

Tyrone always moaning... but in this case!

eh i may be wrong but it seems to be only one complaining and this manager Mickey Harte, and sure he's always complaining

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 16/02/2010 14:28:56    563039

Dry your eyes mate - if you dont cheat, it dos'ent matter how many camera.

maroon2gold (Westmeath) - Posts: 551 - 16/02/2010 14:29:13    563042

omaghredhand

I was going to reply to you floops but then a strange thought came to me. How do you converse with an amoeba?

omaghredhand, you seem a little confused... an amoeba cannot talk.... on the upside it can't whinge and moan either! ;)

Floops (Dublin) - Posts: 1623 - 16/02/2010 14:33:10    563052

jimbo look at what your starting :P

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 16/02/2010 14:33:54    563054

jimbobdub.

the referee could have done wiyh a few maths lessons that day as well 1.2.3.4,15,....14.. oh wait 15... no ahh.. there it is the sixteenth man ?

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 16/02/2010 14:39:13    563068

Ladsa and lassies, Tyrone are not the only county to have had players banned because of video evidence. It happens so deal with it. Dublin/Meath had players banned a few years ago as people have said and other counties will have players banned because of indiscretions caught on camera too.

I'll be very disappointed if they refuse cameras at their home games as I enjoy seeing Tyrone play and have the utmost of respect for them, but i think it would be an extremely petty and childish thing to do. What happens if they're coming to Parnell for example and there are cameras at the match...will they refuse to play?
What if Dublin come to Omagh and start digging off the ball? Will Harte be happy that we'll suffer no suspensions?

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13827 - 16/02/2010 14:43:19    563080

county man
County: Limerick

"Mickey Harte only seems concerned with not getting caught, not trying to stop it in the first place. "

True, but at the same time he does have a point.

"TV camera can also help lads who got red cards wrongly to be recended. "

And it can go the other way too - wasnt Ricey's suspensions doubled last year when he appealed based on video evidence ?

He can't have it both ways. As someone else said nearly all the Dublin matches have cameras at them & I don't hear hear their manager giving out.

Thats because they won both games ;-)

Flanders (Galway) - Posts: 604 - 16/02/2010 14:49:28    563089

Few points on the subject.

Firstly, a level playing field would be the ideal scenario, where all games are reviewed within say 72 hours, and any incidents brought to light are dealt with. However, that is unrealistic, as all games don't have 3-4 different camera at them. Therefore, you are left with the choice of either having no trial by television whatsoever, and let everyone off with anything that referee fails to notice, or you use it where you can, and recognise that the system, while unfair, is the best we have. I'd be inclined to go for the latter, as ultimately, if a player is banned, he probably did something to deserve it.

Secondly, I think that Mickey's rant about cameras in Healy Park is as much a rallying call to his team than anything else, after 3 abject performances in a row. The old 'us against the world' attitude is probably what he is trying to create.

Thirdly, if Mickey is actually serious about wanting cameras banned from Healy Park, then he is totally wrong, as would be the County Board if they supported such an idea. The Tyrone team does not belong to Mickey Harte, and who gets to see them play should not be at his discretion. Mickey constantly talks about promoting the game, but I fail to see how preventing people from seeing the Ulster Champions on television could be viewed as promoting it. I have a lot of time for Mickey on most subjects, but this one is well beyond what I could accept.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 16/02/2010 14:54:48    563099

two games into the season proper and already the ATB out in force , sad really all the negative talk about Tyrone and very little about how well Mayo/Dublin have started and Down/Antrim showing that Ulster is far from a two or three horse race. In the words of a famous Scottish poet (Rab C Nesbitt) 'I tell you this I will tell you this come the Start of the Championship Micky will have this team well Disciplined and Injury free .

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 16/02/2010 14:58:46    563106

waynoI

563054 jimbo look at what your starting :P

Haha.. Why... I , I dont know what you mean... ;)

Hehehehe

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 15:02:26    563118

once again, we have the usual anti-tyrone rubbish on a thread...always moaning jimbo?..dublin fans did a fair bit of that after the injustice of the trial by tv after the dublin-meath episode or do you wanna just forget that?
county man...off the ball stuff?..what off the ballstuff?..mickey harte does not want it both ways..he just wants equity..cooney and duffys remarks in this regard are pathetic...they are effectively washing their hands of an issue that needs to be addressed...rugby ensures that cameras are at all matches before they use citing rule...citing by video is not used in competitions where only a few are televised
the tyrone county board (not mickey harte)are considering how allowing tv cameras into their grounds..in a system where there is inequality this is a right and proper step to take, in order to try and overcome such inequality...after all jimbodub,one day somebody might not be there to argue for the dubs when it comes to their turn,and believe me ray silke has you lined up next..

mayotyroneman (Tyrone) - Posts: 1821 - 16/02/2010 15:11:43    563137

mayotyroneman

Jeeeze what a moaner....!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/02/2010 15:15:39    563141

I suppose the proof will be in the pudding when we see what suspensions arise from the Cork Kerry game. If the suspensions reflect those from the Tyrone Derry game then fair enough, they are whinging.

If not....

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12412 - 16/02/2010 15:16:22    563142

Thomasclarke

You never cease to impress

Fair play my friend, well said

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/02/2010 15:17:41    563148

They'll be not letting refs into their game now never mind cameras for god sake....

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 16/02/2010 15:22:24    563155